Hyperloop, the Train of the Future: Racing through Airless Tubes at the Speed of Sound

It is more than five years since entrepreneur Elon Musk first presented his train of the future Hyperloop. Travelling at almost the speed of sound, a capsule will carry passages through airless tubes and connect metropolises together. What sounded like a pipedream then, and to some extent still does, is now slowly becoming a reality.

At the end of October, a tweet by Elon Musk attracted a lot of attention in the world of mobility: “The first tunnel is almost done,” the bustling investor tweeted. However, he was not talking about a construction for his Tesla electric vehicle group. Instead, this announcement referred to a test track for the new Hyperloop transport system from his high-tech company Hyperloop Transportation Technologies. Hyperloop is a revolutionary train, albeit not one that fits the traditional definition of a rail vehicle any longer. Vacuum pumps create an airless space inside a closed tunnel system, thus reducing drag. The electromagnetically powered capsules should then be able to hover in the tunnels, reaching almost sonic speeds – more than 1200 kilometers per hour – with extremely low energy consumption. “Our Hyperloop will have the speed of a plane, the capacity of a train and the timing of public transport,” says Musk enthusiastically.

The test tunnel in the metropolitan region of Los Angeles, with its approximately 14 million inhabitants, should open on 10 December 2018. Free test journeys are planned the following day, although they will not travel at anywhere near the envisaged top speeds. The Hyperloop will initially hover along at an almost leisurely speed of 250 to 300 kilometers per hour. The tunnel runs approximately 3.2 kilometers under the streets of Hawthorne in the greater Los Angeles region, where the headquarters of Musk’s space business SpaceX are also located.

Initial Hyperloop Tests in Europe too

The idea of the Hyperloop is not just a trend any more, it has transformed into a whole industry with several different competitors. The plans are global too: commercial Hyperloop systems are to be built in China, the United Arab Emirates, Ukraine and several European countries. Hyperloop Transportation Technologies has also made the leap to Europe. To start with, they started constructing a short 320 meter long closed Hyperloop test track in the French city of Toulouse in spring 2018. In addition, there are also plans for a further test track a thousand meters long and four meters in diameter, supported by pylons six meters high. These dimensions correspond to a real connection to be built later, although there are currently no plans for its routing as of yet. The closed Hyperloop test system will be ready for operation as early as 2018, and the long test track will then follow the year after.

With his company Hyperloop Transportation Technologies, Elon Musk is planning to build a tunnel across the west of Los Angeles and another between a subway line and the Dodger baseball stadium, amongst other things.

Also in the running for the first commercial route is Virgin Hyperloop One. The technology company founded by billionaire Richard Branson faced serious setbacks during the construction of its first Hyperloop line in Saudi Arabia, as plans have just been halted due to political reasons. It therefore remains unclear when and where the first regular Hyperloop link will be put into operation, or whether it will happen at all, since critics consider the system extremely difficult to realize. They point to many still unresolved physical problems, aside from the high construction costs. For example, there is still no technical solution for points or junctions in the system. Rescuing passengers in the case of emergencies, such as earthquakes or attacks, would also be extremely difficult because of the hermetically sealed, airless tubes.

Neither will there be any “real” windows in the passenger capsules, since there would simply be no point in having them inside the tubes. However, the developers have planned large interactive screens for the walls where virtual worlds – or even commercials – can be displayed.

Text by Behrend Oldenburg
Images: Hyperloop Transportation Technologies

Share This

Zukunftszug Hyperloop: Mit Schallgeschwindigkeit durch luftleere Röhren

Vor über fünf Jahren stellte Unternehmer Elon Musk erstmals seinen Zukunftszug Hyperloop vor. Fast mit Schallgeschwindigkeit soll eine Kapsel mit Passagieren durch eine luftleere Röhre rasen und Metropolen miteinander verbinden. Was damals wie heute noch nach Zukunftsmusik klingt, wird jetzt – im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes – langsam Realität.

Ende Oktober sorgte ein Tweet von Elon Musk für Aufmerksamkeit in der Welt der Mobilität: „The first tunnel is almost done – der erste Tunnel ist fast fertig“ twitterte der umtriebige Investor. Ihm ging es jedoch nicht etwa um ein Bauwerk für seinen Tesla-Elektrofahrzeugkonzern, sondern um die Teststrecke für das neue Verkehrssystem Hyperloop seines Hightech-Unternehmens Hyperloop Transportation Technologies. Dabei handelt es sich um einen revolutionären Zug, auf den die klassische Definition eines Schienenfahrzeuges allerdings nicht mehr zutrifft: Vakuumpumpen erzeugen in einem geschlossenen Tunnelsystem einen luftleeren Raum. Dadurch entfällt der Luftwiderstand. Elektromagnetisch angetriebene Kapseln sollen so in den Röhren im Schwebezustand annähernd Schallgeschwindigkeit, also über 1200 Stundenkilometer, erreichen können – und das bei äußerst geringem Energieverbrauch. „Unser Hyperloop wird die Geschwindigkeit eines Flugzeuges, die Kapazität eines Zuges und die Taktung öffentlicher Verkehrsmittel haben“, schwärmt Musk.
Am 10. Dezember 2018 soll der Testtunnel in der Metropolregion von Los Angeles mit ihren rund 14 Millionen Einwohnern eröffnet werden. Schon am folgenden Tag sind kostenlose Probefahrten geplant. Allerding noch längst nicht mit der anvisierten Höchstgeschwindigkeit. Der Hyperloop wird seine ersten Schwebefahrten mit fast gemächlichen 250 bis 300 Stundenkilometern aufnehmen. Der Tunnel verläuft etwa 3,2 Kilometer unter den Straßen von Hawthorne im Großraum Los Angeles, wo sich auch das Hauptquartier von Musks Weltraumunternehmens SpaceX befindet.

Erste Hyperloop-Tests auch in Europa

Aus der Idee des Hyperloop ist nicht nur eine Bewegung, sondern längst eine Industrie mit verschiedenen Wettbewerbern geworden. Und die planen global: Kommerzielle Hyperloop-Systeme sollen in China, in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten, in der Ukraine und in mehreren europäischen Ländern entstehen. Auch Hyperloop Transportation Technologies hat den Sprung nach Europa gewagt und im Frühjahr 2018 zunächst mit dem Bau einer kleinen, 320 Meter langen, geschlossenen Hyperloop-Teststrecke im französischen Toulouse begonnen. Zusätzlich soll eine weitere, tausend Meter lange, auf rund sechs Meter hohen Pylonen gelagerte Teststrecke mit einem Durchmesser von vier Metern entstehen. Diese Größe entspricht bereits einer späteren realen Verbindung, für deren Streckenführung es jedoch aktuell noch keine Pläne gibt. Das geschlossene Hyperloop-Testsystem wird bereits 2018 betriebsbereit sein, die lange Teststrecke dann im Folgejahr.
Elon Musk plant mit seinem Unternehmen Hyperloop Transportation Technologies unter anderem, einen Tunnel quer durch den Westen von Los Angeles und einen weiteren zwischen einer U-Bahn-Linie und dem Dodger-Baseballstadion zu bauen.
Mit im Rennen um die erste kommerzielle Strecke ist auch Virgin Hyperloop One. Das vom Milliardär Richard Branson gegründete Technologieunternehmen musste jedoch beim Bau einer ersten Hyperloop-Trasse in Saudi-Arabien einen herben Rückschlag hinnehmen: Das Vorhaben ist nämlich gerade erst aus politischen Gründen gestoppt worden. So bleibt offen, wann und wo die erste reguläre Hyperloop-Verbindung in Betrieb gehen wird. Wenn überhaupt, denn Kritiker sehen das System als äußerst schwierig zu realisieren an und verweisen neben den hohen Baukosten auf viele, noch ungelöste physikalische Probleme. So gäbe es beispielsweise immer noch keine technischen Lösungen, um Weichen oder Gabelungen im System zu realisieren. Auch die Rettung der Passagiere bei Notfällen, wie Erdbeben oder Anschlägen, sei wegen der hermetisch abgeschlossenen, luftleeren Röhren extrem schwierig.

„Echte“ Fenster wird es in den Passagierkapseln übrigens nicht geben, sie haben in den Röhren schlichtweg keinen Sinn. Allerdings haben die Entwickler an den Seitenwänden große interaktive Panorama-Bildschirme geplant, auf denen virtuelle Welten gezeigt werden können – oder aber auch Werbespots.

Text von Behrend Oldenburg
Abbildungen: Hyperloop Transportation Technologies
Share This