Wind Power 2.0: High-Tech 'Dragons' Breathe Electricity

Conventional wind power systems involve hundreds of tons of steel and concrete and are extremely costly and complex to build. An approach based on efficiency is not like this. And so companies all over the world are experimenting with new types of airborne wind power systems. The highlight among these are automated flying objects that generate green electricity economically at heights of several hundred meters.
One of the new players in this market is start-up company EnerKite, based near Berlin. The central element of their airborne wind power system is a wing with a span of ten meters, resembling a stunt kite. The kite, joined by a retaining cable to a generator winch, moves in figure-of-eight spirals at heights of up to 300 meters. As it moves it pulls on the cable, thereby driving the generator. The software system, sensors and two control lines control the wing. Once it reaches the maximum height, it descends automatically to 120 m and the dance begins again.

Cutting production costs in half

EnerKite harvests electricity at far greater heights than the tips of the blades of wind turbines. The benefit in this is that at heights of 300 m, the wind is stronger and more constant, enabling a higher energy yield: Airborne wind power systems can generate power for roughly 90% of the time. Company director, Alexander Bormann, reckons on 6000 hours at full load even in landlocked areas with a poor wind regime. This would enable the autonomous system to generate green electricity for four cents per kilowatt-hour – half the cost of that generated by wind turbines. Those operate for a maximum of 4000 hours per year at full load even in the best conditions.
The EnerKite demonstration unit is mounted on a former fire engine. The system functions in two phases: in phase 1 the kite rises, pulls on the cable and drives the generator winch. In phase 2 the wing is pulled down with minimal energy expenditure, and the process begins again.
The kite-builders aim to go to market in 2020, with a 100-kilowatt system capable of supplying 200 households with electricity. The entire system fits on a truck and is easy to transport. It is therefore ideal for remote regions and for humanitarian assistance in disaster areas. “Three per cent of electricity worldwide is produced using diesel generators. Our systems are just as flexible and mobile, and can easily replace them,” says Bormann. Since they do not form a structural obstacle to the takeoff or landing of aircraft, these airborne power stations can also be used to supply small airports. Enquiries have already been received from Kenya and Tanzania.

Industry giants investing in the new technology

Dutch company, Ampyx Power, is also tapping the wind resources at high altitudes. The company employs a sailplane that flies at up to 450 meters, and that takes off and lands from a platform on autopilot. As with EnerKite, electricity is produced via a generator winch. Unlike its competitor, however, Ampyx intends its system to be used in onshore and offshore windfarms by major energy corporations and by industrial operations with high energy requirements. Energy giant E.ON is already cooperating with Ampyx and investing generously in the new technology.

“We are replacing concrete and steel with the latest technology,” says the Ampyx website. Certainly, the expenditure for materials, installation and logistics is far less than for wind turbines. EnerKite claims 95% less material use and a 75% smaller CO2 footprint. Maintenance and operation are simpler and the impact on the landscape is minimal.

Google muscles in on high-altitude wind technology

Further players in this new market are X-Wind Powerplants from Berlin and the US company Makani Power. Like Ampyx, their target is large-scale customers. In the X-Wind system the kite pulls a fully automated railcar along a rail, thus generating electricity. Makani Power, which has been owned by Internet giant Google since 2013, carries the generators on board the airborne structures. These aircraft have a wingspan of 26 meters, fly at altitudes of 300 meters and generate power from eight propellers driven by the wind. A 500-metre carbon fiber cable links the aircraft to the ground and conducts the electricity downward. For takeoff and landing, the generators are converted to operation as motors.
Text by Gesine Oltmanns
Photos: Ampyx, EnerKite
Animation: EnerKite

Windenergie 2.0: Hightech-Drachen speien Strom

Herkömmliche Windkraftanlagen aus hunderten Tonnen Stahl und Beton sind extrem teuer und aufwendig aufzubauen. Effizient geht anders. Deshalb tüfteln weltweit Unternehmen an neuartigen Flugwindkraftanlagen. Der Clou sind automatisierte Flugkörper, die in hunderten Metern Höhe günstigen Ökostrom gewinnen.
Einer der neuen Player in diesem Markt ist das Start-up EnerKite aus der Nähe von Berlin. Zentrales Element seiner Flugwindkraftanlage ist ein Flügel mit zehn Metern Spannweite, der einem Lenkdrachen ähnelt. Per Halteseil mit einer Generatorwinde verbunden, schraubt sich der Drachen in achtförmigen Spiralen bis zu 300 Meter hoch. Dabei zieht er an dem Seil und treibt dadurch den Generator an. Eine Software, Sensoren und zwei Steuerseile lenken den Flügel. Ist die maximale Höhe erreicht, senkt er sich automatisch auf 120 Meter ab und der Tanz startet erneut.

Produktionskosten sinken um die Hälfte

EnerKite erntet den Strom weit oberhalb der Flügelspitzen von Windrädern. Dabei macht es sich zunutze, dass in 300 Metern Höhe der Wind stärker und konstanter weht, was eine höhere Energieausbeute ermöglicht: Rund 90 Prozent der Zeit können die Energiedrachen Strom erzeugen. Geschäftsführer Alexander Bormann rechnet daher sogar im windschwachen Binnenland mit jährlich 6000 Volllaststunden. So könnte die autonome Anlage Ökostrom für vier Cent pro Kilowattstunde produzieren – um die Hälfte günstiger als Windräder, die selbst in Bestlage maximal 4000 Stunden im Jahr mit voller Auslastung arbeiten.
Der Funktionsdemonstrator von EnerKite ist auf einen ehemaligen Feuerwehrwagen montiert. Die Anlage funktioniert in zwei Phasen: In Phase 1 steigt der Drache auf, zieht am Seil und treibt die Generatorwinde an. In Phase 2 wird der Flügel mit minimalem Energieaufwand heruntergezogen und der Ablauf geht von vorne los.
2020 wollen die Drachenbauer an den Markt gehen: mit einer 100 Kilowatt-Anlage, die 200 Haushalte mit Strom versorgen kann. Die gesamte Technik passt auf einen Lkw und kann leicht transportiert werden. Damit ist sie ideal für abgelegene Regionen oder humanitäre Einsätze in Katastrophengebieten. „Weltweit werden drei Prozent des Stroms mit Dieselaggregaten gewonnen. Unsere Anlagen sind ebenso flexibel und mobil und könnten sie leicht ersetzen“, sagt Bormann. Da sie für Flugzeuge kein bauliches Hindernis bei Start und Landung darstellen, könnten die fliegenden Kraftwerke auch kleinere Flughäfen versorgen. Anfragen aus Kenia und Tansania gibt es schon.

Branchenriesen investieren in die neue Technologie

Auch Ampyx Power aus den Niederlanden zapft die Windressourcen in großen Höhen an. Das Unternehmen setzt auf ein Segelflugzeug, das bis 450 Meter hoch fliegt und von einer Plattform aus per Autopilot startet und landet. Wie bei EnerKite wird der Ökostrom über eine Generatorwinde produziert. Anders als der Konkurrent plant Ampyx jedoch den Einsatz in On- und Offshore-Windparks für große Energiekonzerne und Industriebetriebe mit hohem Energiebedarf. Der Energieriese E.ON kooperiert bereits mit Ampyx und investiert im großen Stil in die neue Technologie.

„Wir ersetzen Beton und Stahl durch modernste Technik“, heißt es auf der Ampyx-Website. Tatsächlich sind Material-, Montage- und Logistikaufwand gegenüber Windrädern erheblich geringer. EnerKite wirbt mit 95 Prozent weniger Materialeinsatz und einem 75 Prozent kleineren CO2-Fußabdruck. Instandhaltung und Handhabung sind einfacher, die Auswirkungen auf das Landschaftsbild minimal.

Google mischt bei Höhenwind-Technologie mit

Weitere Player in dem jungen Markt sind X-Wind Powerplants aus Berlin und das US-Unternehmen Makani Power. Wie Ampyx zielen sie auf Großabnehmer ab. X-Wind lässt seine Energiedrachen vollautomatische Triebwagen auf einer Schiene ziehen und so Strom erzeugen. Makani Power, das seit 2013 dem Internetgiganten Google gehört, nimmt die Generatoren mit an Bord seines Segelflugzeugs. Das Fluggerät hat eine Spannweite von 26 Metern, fliegt in 300 Metern Höhe und generiert die Energie mit acht Propellern, die durch den Wind angetrieben werden. Eine 500 Meter lange Kohlefaserleine verbindet das Flugzeug mit dem Boden und leitet den Strom hinunter. Zum Starten und Landen werden die Generatoren auf Motorbetrieb umgeschaltet.
Text von Gesine Oltmanns
Fotos: Ampyx, EnerKite
Animation: EnerKite
Share This