VR Makes It Possible: Explore the Aircraft Before You Board

A new web-based software from the airline Emirates gives passengers the opportunity to climb aboard even before the flight, and select and book their preferred seat in a perfectly visualized, three-dimensional cabin. The innovation was recently declared a “visionary concept” and awarded the Crystal Cabin Award – the “Oscar” of the aviation industry – and launched online a few weeks later.

“Climb aboard before you board”, promises the airline from the United Arab Emirates. In future, guests will be able to use the new Virtual Reality-Feature (VR) to move around the space inside the cabin of a Boeing 777-300ER jet or a double-deck Airbus A380 wide-body aircraft long before departure. This service is available to anyone interested, and to passengers of all cabin categories, from economy to business to first class. They can even take a look inside the luxurious on-board lounge or the spa-shower – and all without a boarding pass.

Alexander Knigge, Senior Vice President Corporate Communications, Marketing and Digital Brand, Emirates

“We are constantly working on offering our customers a high-quality digital experience, too,” says Alexander Knigge, Senior Vice President Corporate Communications, Marketing and Digital Brand at Emirates, justifying the implementation of the new VR application. “We are the first airline in the world to introduce this technology online.” The development partner was Spanish VR specialist Renacen, whose product “3D Seat Map VR” forms the basis of the Emirates solution. The IT company also received the coveted Crystal Cabin Award. Internationally, these prizes are considered the most prestigious accolades for innovation in aircraft interiors and are awarded annually in several categories at the Hamburg “Aircraft Interiors Expo” trade fair.

THE NEW VR APPLICATION BY EMIRATES ALLOWS FUTURE PASSENGERS OF THE BOEING 777 AND AIRBUS A-380 WIDE-BODY PLANES TO PAY A VISIT BEFORE BORDING. AFTER SELECTING THEIR PREFERRED SEAT IN ONE OF THREE COMFORT CATEGORIES, PASSENGERS CAN BOOK THEIR FLIGHT DIRECTLY VIA THE APPLCATION. A VIRTUAL VISIT TO THE ONBOARD LOUNGE OR SHOWER SPA GETS PASSENGERS EXCITED ABOUT THE FLIGHT.

The high-resolution 3D graphics offer users two functionalities. They can explore the exceptionally realistic representation of the cabin interior from fixed navigation points on their computer screen with the mouse, or use the application with VR glasses such as Google Cardboard. Users can move through the cabin and choose their preferred seat completely hands-free. The application is not only available online, but can also be accessed easily on all smartphones and via the Emirates app for iOS and Android.

Text by Behrend Oldenburg
Photo and renderings: Emirates

Share This

VR macht‘s möglich: Schon vor dem Einsteigen das Flugzeug erkunden

Kürzlich noch als „Visionäres Konzept“ mit dem „Oscar“ der Luftfahrzeugindustrie, dem Crystal Cabin Award, ausgezeichnet – und nur wenige Wochen später online am Start: Die Fluggesellschaft Emirates ermöglicht es ihren Passagieren mit einer neuen webbasierten Software schon vor dem Flug an Bord zu gehen, sich den Wunschsitzplatz in einer perfekt visualisierten, dreidimensionalen Kabine auszuwählen und zu buchen.

„Kommen Sie an Bord, bevor Sie an Bord kommen“, verspricht die Airline aus den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten. Mit dem neuen Virtual Reality-Feature (VR) bewegen sich die künftigen Fluggäste schon lange vor dem Abflug durch die Räume an Bord eines Boeing 777-300ER-Jets oder des zweistöckigen Airbus A380-Großraumflugzeugs. Dieser Service steht den Interessenten und Gästen aller Kabinenkategorien zur Verfügung, von der Economy über die Business bis hin zur First Class. Sogar ein Blick in die luxuriöse Bord-Lounge oder die Spa-Duschen ist möglich – und das alles ganz ohne Bordkarte.

Alexander Knigge, Senior Vice President Corporate Communications, Marketing and Digital Brand, Emirates

„Wir arbeiten permanent daran, unseren Kunden auch ein anspruchsvolles digitales Erlebnis zu ermöglichen“, begründet Alexander Knigge, Senior Vice President Corporate Communications, Marketing and Digital Brand bei Emirates, die Umsetzung der neuen VR-Anwendung. „Wir sind die erste Airline weltweit, die diese Technologie im Web eingeführt hat.“ Als Entwicklungspartner fungierte der spanische VR-Spezialist Renacen, dessen Produkt „3D Seat Map VR“ bildet die Basis für die Emirates-Lösung. Das IT-Unternehmen nahm auch den begehrten Crystal Cabin Award entgegen. Diese Awards gelten als weltweit renommierteste Auszeichnung für Innovationen im Flugzeug-Interior und werden jährlich im Rahmen der Hamburger Fachmesse „Aircraft Interiors Expo“ in mehreren Kategorien verliehen.

DIE NEUE VR-ANWENDUNG VON EMIRATES ERMÖGLICHT DEN KÜNFTIGEN PASSAGIEREN DER GROSSRAUMFLUGZEUGE BOEING 777 UND AIRBUS A-380 DEN VORAB-BESUCH AN BORD. NACH DER WAHL DES WUNSCH-SITZPLATZES IN EINER DER DREI KOMFORTKATEGORIEN KANN DER FLUG DIREKT IN DER ANWENDUNG GEBUCHT WERDEN. EIN VIRTUELLER BESUCH IN DER ONBOARD LOUNGE ODER IM SHOWER SPA STEIGERN DIE VORFREUDE AUF DEN FLUG.

Die hoch aufgelösten 3D-Grafiken bieten gleich zwei Funktionalitäten: Eine außergewöhnlich realitätsgetreue Darstellung des Kabinen-Interieurs kann von festgelegten Navigationspunkten am PC-Bildschirm mit der Maus erkunden werden. Außerdem unterstützt die Anwendung auch den Einsatz von VR-Brillen wie beispielsweise von Google Cardboard. Die Nutzer können sich damit durch die Kabine bewegen und ihren Lieblings-Sitzplatz auswählen, ohne ihre Hände benutzen zu müssen. Die Anwendung läuft nicht nur im Web, sondern problemlos auch auf allen Smartphones sowie auf der Emirates-App für iOS und Android.

Text von Behrend Oldenburg
Foto und Renderings: Emirates