Imitating nature: Sharkskin for airplanes

The lower a plane’s frictional resistance in the air, the lower its consumption of fuel. That’s why the aviation industry has been researching how aircraft surfaces can be given an aerodynamically optimized design for several years now.

Imitating nature: Sharkskin for airplanes

The lower a plane’s frictional resistance in the air, the lower its consumption of fuel. That’s why the aviation industry has been researching how aircraft surfaces can be given an aerodynamically optimized design for several years now.
Therefore, it has taken its inspiration from nature: for example, from sharkskin, which has a particularly low flow resistance. The project “FAMOS” – which was just recently successfully wrapped up by Lufthansa Technik, aircraft manufacturer Airbus and bwm (Bremer Werk für Montagesysteme) in Hamburg – has made great progress in this area. During the project, a robot system was developed that applies sharkskin-like structures – what are called “riblets” – over a large surface on planes.

FAMOS stands for “Guidance System for Automated Application of Multifunctional Surface Structures” in German. Despite its cumbersome name, it does offer airlines a number of crucial advantages: “Our research has shown that the riblets make it possible for us to reduce airflow resistance by five to eight percent, thus allowing airline operators to save around one and a half percent in fuel,” says project manager Dr. Mathias Nolte from Lufthansa Technik. This results in a reduction of operating costs and environmental pollution. For the Lufthansa fleet alone, this innovation may result in a savings of about six million liters of kerosene per year and thereby reduce CO2 emissions to 200,000 tons.

The “FAMOS” robot cleans, removes paint and applies coats fully automatically.

The project funded by the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy builds upon previous research, in which new paints were developed and the fuel-saving coating was able to successfully endure over the long run under real flight-operation conditions. Previously, no solution existed as to how sharkskin can be cost-efficiently applied to large surfaces such as wings at a high level of quality in an industrial process. Success, however, has now been achieved. Similar to a stamp, the newly developed robot arm embosses the sharkskin onto the surface with a freshly applied special coating. The coating is then cured to harden with UV light and forms an aerodynamically optimized structure measuring 0.1 mm in height. The robotic system also takes over the previous cleaning of the aircraft surface and removes old layers of paint.

ALL AIRCRAFT TYPES CAN BE COATED WITH SHARKSKIN STRUCTURES

The coating can be used on all types of aircraft, however, “FAMOS” has set its focus on long-haul aircraft, such as the Airbus A330, A340 and A350. For the time being, the sharkskin has been applied to the upper side of the wings as well as to the upper and lower sides of the tailplane. Until the new coating technology from Airbus can be used in aircraft production or by Lufthansa Technik during maintenance, further application areas, especially on the fuselage, are to be tested.
Text by Gesine Oltmanns
Photos: ZAL/Michael Lindner
The project funded by the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy builds upon previous research, in which new paints were developed and the fuel-saving coating was able to successfully endure over the long run under real flight-operation conditions. Previously, no solution existed as to how sharkskin can be cost-efficiently applied to large surfaces such as wings at a high level of quality in an industrial process. Success, however, has now been achieved. Similar to a stamp, the newly developed robot arm embosses the sharkskin onto the surface with a freshly applied special coating. The coating is then cured to harden with UV light and forms an aerodynamically optimized structure measuring 0.1 mm in height. The robotic system also takes over the previous cleaning of the aircraft surface and removes old layers of paint.

All aircraft types can be coated with sharkskin structures

The coating can be used on all types of aircraft, however, “FAMOS” has set its focus on long-haul aircraft, such as the Airbus A330, A340 and A350. For the time being, the sharkskin has been applied to the upper side of the wings as well as to the upper and lower sides of the tailplane. Until the new coating technology from Airbus can be used in aircraft production or by Lufthansa Technik during maintenance, further application areas, especially on the fuselage, are to be tested.
The “FAMOS” robot cleans, removes paint and applies coats fully automatically.
Text by Gesine Oltmanns
Photos: ZAL/Michael Lindner

Von der Natur abgeschaut: Haifischhaut für Flugzeuge

Je geringer der Reibungswiderstand eines Flugzeugs in der Luft, desto geringer ist auch sein Treibstoffverbrauch. Deshalb erforscht die Luftfahrtindustrie schon seit Jahren, wie die Oberflächen von Flugzeugen strömungsgünstiger gestaltet werden können.

Von der Natur abgeschaut: Haifischhaut für Flugzeuge

Je geringer der Reibungswiderstand eines Flugzeugs in der Luft, desto geringer ist auch sein Treibstoffverbrauch. Deshalb erforscht die Luftfahrtindustrie schon seit Jahren, wie die Oberflächen von Flugzeugen strömungsgünstiger gestaltet werden können.

Dabei lässt sie sich auch von der Natur inspirieren: zum Beispiel von Haifischhaut, denn diese weist einen besonderes geringen Strömungswiderstand auf. Einen Riesenfortschritt auf dem Gebiet bringt das Forschungsprojekt „FAMOS“, das Lufthansa Technik, der Flugzeugbauer Airbus und das Bremer Werk für Montagesysteme kürzlich in Hamburg erfolgreich abgeschlossen haben. Im Zuge des Projekts wurde ein Robotersystem entwickelt, das Haifischhautstrukturen – sogenannte Riblets – großflächig auf Flugzeuge aufträgt.

„FAMOS“ steht für „Führungssystem zur automatisierten Applikation multifunktionaler Oberflächenstrukturen“. Hinter dem sperrigen Namen verbergen sich entscheidende Vorteile für Fluglinien: „Unsere Untersuchungen haben gezeigt, dass wir mit Riblets den Reibungswiderstand der Luft um fünf bis acht Prozent reduzieren können. Dadurch würden Airline-Betreiber rund eineinhalb Prozent Treibstoff einsparen“, sagt Projektleiter Dr. Mathias Nolte von Lufthansa Technik. In der Folge sinken Betriebskosten und Umweltbelastung. Allein die Lufthansa-Flotte könnte mit der Innovation ihren Kerosinverbrauch um sechs Millionen Liter pro Jahr reduzieren und damit die CO2-Emissionen um 200.000 Tonnen senken.

Der „FAMOS“-Roboter reinigt, entlackt und beschichtet vollautomatisch.

Das vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie geförderte Projekt baut auf früheren Forschungen auf. Damals wurden neue Lacke entwickelt und eine lange Haltbarkeit der treibstoffsparenden Beschichtung unter realen Bedingungen im Flugbetrieb bestätigt. Bisher gab es jedoch keine Lösung, wie die Haifischhaut in einem industriellen Verfahren auf große Oberflächen wie die Flügel, kosteneffizient und in hoher Qualität aufgetragen werden kann. Das ist jetzt geglückt. Ähnlich einem Stempel prägt der neu entwickelte Roboterarm die Haifischhaut in frisch aufgetragenen Speziallack. Der Lack wird dann mit UV-Licht ausgehärtet und bildet die etwa 0,1 Millimeter hohe, strömungsgünstige Struktur. Das Robotersystem übernimmt auch die vorherige Reinigung der Flugzeugoberfläche und entfernt alte Lackschichten.

ALLE FLUGZEUGTYPEN KÖNNEN MIT HAIFISCHHAUTSTRUKTUREN BESCHICHTET WERDEN

Die Beschichtung ist auf allen Flugzeugtypen möglich, „FAMOS“ konzentrierte sich jedoch auf Langstreckenflugzeuge wie Airbus A330, A340 und A350. Zunächst wurde die Haifischhaut auf Flügeloberseiten sowie den Ober- und Unterseiten des Höhenleitwerks aufgebracht. Bis die neue Beschichtungstechnologie von Airbus in der Flugzeugproduktion oder von Lufthansa Technik bei der Wartung eingesetzt werden kann, sollen weitere Anwendungsflächen, vor allem am Rumpf, erprobt werden.

Text von Gesine Oltmanns
Fotos: pixabay, ZAL/Michael Lindner

Das vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie geförderte Projekt baut auf früheren Forschungen auf. Damals wurden neue Lacke entwickelt und eine lange Haltbarkeit der treibstoffsparenden Beschichtung unter realen Bedingungen im Flugbetrieb bestätigt. Bisher gab es jedoch keine Lösung, wie die Haifischhaut in einem industriellen Verfahren auf große Oberflächen wie die Flügel, kosteneffizient und in hoher Qualität aufgetragen werden kann. Das ist jetzt geglückt. Ähnlich einem Stempel prägt der neu entwickelte Roboterarm die Haifischhaut in frisch aufgetragenen Speziallack. Der Lack wird dann mit UV-Licht ausgehärtet und bildet die etwa 0,1 Millimeter hohe, strömungsgünstige Struktur. Das Robotersystem übernimmt auch die vorherige Reinigung der Flugzeugoberfläche und entfernt alte Lackschichten.

Alle Flugzeugtypen können mit Haifischhautstrukturen beschichtet werden

Die Beschichtung ist auf allen Flugzeugtypen möglich, „FAMOS“ konzentrierte sich jedoch auf Langstreckenflugzeuge wie Airbus A330, A340 und A350. Zunächst wurde die Haifischhaut auf Flügeloberseiten sowie den Ober- und Unterseiten des Höhenleitwerks aufgebracht. Bis die neue Beschichtungstechnologie von Airbus in der Flugzeugproduktion oder von Lufthansa Technik bei der Wartung eingesetzt werden kann, sollen weitere Anwendungsflächen, vor allem am Rumpf, erprobt werden.

Der „FAMOS“-Roboter reinigt, entlackt und beschichtet vollautomatisch.

Text von Gesine Oltmanns
Fotos: pixabay, ZAL/Michael Lindner

Share This