SOMA: Innovative silicone hand enables robots to delicately handle objects

The human hand has evolved into a highly precise instrument over millions of years of evolution. It is capable of skillfully polishing glassware, pressing stamps to affix them using a fist, dexterously reaching through narrow gaps, or typing rapidly on a computer keyboard. In all situations, the surrounding factors are always taken into consideration: fragile surfaces, confined spaces, different shapes, moving elements, and so on. For humans, this finesse in using our hands is just part of our nature. Rough robot grippers are still light-years away from achieving such sensitivity. But that’s all about to change.
In collaboration with European partners from business and industry, researchers from the Technische Universität Berlin (Technical University of Berlin – TU) are developing gentle hands for robots. Funded by the European Union, the project is being conducted under the name “SOMA” – short for “Soft Manipulation.” This technical term denotes sensitive gripping and lifting in service robotics. Air chambers which can be inflated with compressed air when needed have been integrated into the fingers on the hand of the robot (RBO Hand 2) which are made out of rubber-like silicone. The artificial hand is therefore able to gently wrap around objects without leaving any marks or scratches. It adapts precisely to the object’s shape: effortlessly succeeding in picking up pens, fruit, or a pair of glasses.
The “RBO Hand 2” developed at TU Berlin is very similar to a real human hand.

Radically new orientation

According to the Technical University of Berlin, SOMA represents a radically new orientation, due to the fact that robotic grippers have mainly been made out of metal up until now, crushing soft objects and costing thousands of euros. In contrast, it only costs up to 400 euros to produce the new silicone hands. The SOMA hand also offers further advantages, as it uses special computer programs to make observations about its environment and can therefore be used for a wide variety of purposes. For example, it can be employed outside the warehouse for apple harvesting or in service areas.

Gentle for fresh fruit

Robots that can handle fragile objects as well as hard objects, no matter the shape, size, or material, are in demand throughout the industry. The logistics industry in particular has shown great interest. While the transport of crates in warehouses is already fully automated, fragile goods must still be sorted and packaged by human hands in order to avoid damage. The British online supermarket Ocado, one of the SOMA project partners, has already tested the newly developed robot hands on artificial fruit. The result: It was able to remove many differently shaped test fruits from a standard-sized fruit box without causing any damage. “The RBO Hand 2 is a versatile, affordable, and reliable robot solution that integrates well into our highly automated warehouse,” says Graham Deacon, who leads the robotics research team at Ocado. His team plans on carrying out further, more complex tests with the sensitive hand in the months to come. The online supermarket operates several large-scale warehouses stocked with over 48,000 items. In the hope of expediting delivery and reducing costs, Ocado is on the hunt for a robust, automated process that will carefully get groceries ready for shipment.

SOMA Partners

  • Technische Universität Berlin (Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science)
  • University of Pisa
  • Italian Institute of Technology in Genoa
  • German Aerospace Center (DLR) in Munich
  • Institute of Science and Technology Austria
  • Online supermarket Ocado in Hatfield, Great Britain
  • Disney Research in Zurich

Text by Gesine Oltmanns
Photos: TU Berlin/Raphael Deimel

SOMA: Innovative Silikonhand ermöglicht Robotern feinfühliges Greifen

Die menschliche Hand hat sich über Jahrmillionen der Evolution zu einem Präzisionswerkzeug entwickelt. Sie kann mit Fingerspitzengefühl Gläser polieren oder mit geballter Faust eine Briefmarke festdrücken, geschickt durch schmale Spalte greifen oder in Windeseile die Computer-Tastatur bedienen. Dabei wird immer die Umwelt berücksichtigt: empfindliche Oberflächen, beengter Raum, unterschiedliche Formen, bewegliche Elemente… Für den Menschen ist diese Fingerfertigkeit alltäglich. Die groben Greifer von Robotern sind von einer solchen Sensibilität noch meilenweit entfernt. Doch das soll jetzt anders werden.

Gemeinsam mit europäischen Partnern aus Wissenschaft und Industrie entwickeln Forscher der Technischen Universität (TU) Berlin zarte Hände für Roboter. Das von der EU geförderte Projekt läuft unter dem Namen SOMA, als Abkürzung für Soft Manipulation. Der Fachausdruck steht für feinfühliges Greifen und Heben in der Service-Robotik. In die Finger der Roboterhand (RBO Hand 2) aus weichem, gummiähnlichem Silikon sind Luftkammern eingearbeitet, die nach Bedarf mit Druckluft aufgeblasen werden. Dadurch schmiegt sich die künstliche Hand beim Greifen sanft um das Objekt, ohne Druckstellen oder Kratzer zu hinterlassen. Sie passt sich exakt der Form des Gegenstands an: Stifte, Obst oder eine Brille aufzunehmen, gelingt mühelos.

Die an der TU Berlin entwickelte „RBO Hand 2“ ist der menschlichen Hand sehr ähnlich.

Radikale Neuausrichtung

Laut TU Berlin bedeutet SOMA eine radikale Neuausrichtung, da es bisher hauptsächlich Roboterhände aus Metall gibt, die weiche Objekte zerquetschen und tausende Euro kosten. Die Fertigungskosten der neuen Silikonhände liegen dagegen bei maximal 400 Euro. Weiterer Vorteil der SOMA-Hand: Gesteuert von speziellen Computerprogrammen bezieht sie ihre Umwelt ein und kann dadurch sehr flexibel eingesetzt werden – zum Beispiel auch außerhalb von Lagerhallen, etwa bei der Apfelernte oder in Service-Bereichen.

Sanft zu frischen Früchtchen

Roboter, die für zerbrechliche Objekte ebenso geeignet sind wie für harte Gegenstände, unabhängig von Form, Größe und Material, sind industrieweit gefragt. Besonders die Logistikbranche ist hochinteressiert. Während Kisten in Lagern schon vollautomatisch transportiert werden, müssen empfindliche Waren immer noch von Menschenhand sortiert und verpackt werden, um Beschädigungen zu vermeiden. Der britische Online-Supermarkt Ocado, einer der SOMA-Projektpartner, hat die neu entwickelte Roboterhand bereits mit künstlichen Früchten getestet. Ergebnis: Sie konnte viele, unterschiedlich geformte Testfrüchte ohne Beschädigungen aus einer genormten Obstkiste herausnehmen. „Die RBO Hand 2 ist eine vielseitige, kostengünstige und sichere Roboterlösung, die sich hervorragend in unsere hochautomatisierten Lager integrieren lässt“, sagt Graham Deacon, Leiter der Forschungsgruppe Robotik bei Ocado. In den kommenden Monaten plant sein Team weitere, komplexere Tests mit der sensiblen Hand. Der Online-Supermarkt betreibt mehrere großflächige Lagerhäuser mit über 48.000 Artikeln. Um die Lieferung zu beschleunigen und die Kosten zu senken, sucht Ocado nach einem robusten, automatisierten Verfahren, das die Lebensmittel behutsam versandfertig macht.

Die SOMA-Partner

  • Technische Universität Berlin (Fakultät Elektrotechnik und Informatik)
  • Universität Pisa
  • Italian Institute of Technology in Genua
  • Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) in München
  • Institute of Science and Technology Austria
  • Online-Supermarkt Ocado in Hatfield, Großbritannien
  • Disney Research in Zürich

Text von Gesine Oltmanns
Fotos: TU Berlin/Raphael Deimel

Share This