Salty Plants for Clean Skies

Etihad Airways, the United Arab Emirates airline, has taken one decisive step closer to “green flight”. For the first time, one of the carrier’s Boeing 787 Dreamliners flew using a brand new biofuel extracted from oil-rich saltwater plants. The first flight was from the airline’s home base of Abu Dhabi to Amsterdam.
The plant is called Salicornia, and has been cultivated since March 2016 on a small pilot plantation of just two hectares by the Sustainable Bioenergy Research Consortium (SBRC), an institute of the Khalifa University of Science and Technology in Abu Dhabi. Biofuel is extracted from it, although for use in aircraft it must still be mixed with normal kerosene. One of its great advantages is that, according to Etihad Airways, no modifications to the aircraft, airport tanking systems or engines (model: GEnx-1B by General Electric) were necessary for the maiden flight.
The oilseed plant is considered very low maintenance – it grows in large saltwater tanks directly on the sandy soil of the desert, and does not need freshwater or other valuable farmland to grow. After harvesting, the oil is pressed, purified and refined. The plant’s cultivation is part of a fully ecological chain established by Khalifa University. Fish and crabs are also bred here in seawater plantations for food supplies, and their excretions act as fertilizer for the Salicornia plants. The water from the tanks is then conducted through mangrove forests where it is filtered naturally before it flows back into the sea. The project is running at the university under the name Seawater Energy and Agriculture System (SEAS).

“As the leading research facility in the region, we are committed to the production of biofuels, clean energy and sustainable technologies to reduce CO2 emissions.”

DR ARIF SULTAN AL HAMMADIE, EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT OF KHALIFA UNIVERSITY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY, ABU DHABI, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES

“This groundbreaking research marks the beginning of the use of clean fuel for the aviation industry, created via a sustainable production chain,” says Dr Arif Sultan Al Hammadie, Executive Vice President at Khalifa University. “This makes us an important contributor to a project that supports the strategic aims of the United Arab Emirates in the fields of energy and nutrition.”

Al Hammadie announced that, following the success of the maiden flight, the plantation will be expanded to 200 hectares as part of the next phase of the research, in order to increase the yield of biofuel.

For Sean Schwinn, Vice President of Strategy and Market Development at aircraft manufacturer Boeing, the Etihad flight is “a milestone that will be of substantial benefit to aviation and the world.” The new technology will help to transform coastal deserts into new, productive farmland and could support both food security and clean air.

The use of eco-friendly kerosene alternatives is, however, nothing new. As early as 2011, the German Lufthansa Group was carrying out pioneering work. As part of the “BurnFAIR – potential for alternative fuels in operational use” project, it was the first airline worldwide to test biofuels in regular operation for six months. At the time, however, only one engine was partly powered with biofuels.

By using eco-friendly fuel, the aviation industry aims to put an end to the increase in carbon dioxide emissions by 2020, and by 2050, reduce them to half of the level in 2005.

Text by Behrend Oldenburg
Photos by Boeing, Etihad Airways, Khalifa University

Salzige Pflanzen für einen sauberen Himmel

Etihad Airways, die Fluggesellschaft der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate, ist dem „grünen Fliegen“ einen entscheidenden Schritt nähergekommen: Erstmals flog eine Boeing 787 Dreamliner des Carriers mit einem völlig neuen Bio-Treibstoff, der aus einer ölreichen Salzwasserpflanze gewonnen wird. Die Premiere führte vom Heimathafen Abu Dhabi nach Amsterdam.

Salicornia heißt das Gewächs, das vom Sustainable Bioenergy Research Consortium (SBRC), einer Einrichtung der Khalifa University of Science and Technology in Abu Dhabi, seit März 2016 auf einer kleinen, lediglich zwei Hektar großen Pilotanlage angebaut wird. Aus ihr wird der Bio-Treibstoff gewonnen, dem jedoch noch für den Einsatz in Flugzeugen herkömmliches Kerosin beigemischt werden muss. Ein großer Vorteil: Für die Premiere waren nach Angaben von Etihad Airways keinerlei Modifikationen am Flugzeug, an den Airport-Betankungssystemen oder an den Triebwerken (Fabrikat: GEnx-1B von General Electric) nötig.

Die Ölsaat-Pflanze gilt als sehr genügsam, sie wächst in großen Salzwasserbecken direkt auf dem Sandboden der Wüste. Süßwasser oder anderes, wertvolles Ackerland werden für ihren Anbau nicht benötigt. Nach der Ernte wird das Öl ausgepresst, gereinigt und raffiniert. Die Pflanzenzucht ist Teil einer ganzen ökologischen Kette, die von der Khalifa University gebildet wurde. Die Ausscheidungen von Fischen und Krabben, die hier ebenfalls in Meerwasser-Plantagen für die Lebensmittelversorgung gezüchtet werden, dienen als Dünger für die Salicornia-Pflanzen. Das Wasser aus den Becken wird anschließend durch Mangrovenwälder geleitet, wo es auf natürliche Weise gefiltert wird, bevor es zurück ins Meer fließt. Das Projekt läuft an der Universität unter dem Namen Seawater Energy and Agriculture System, kurz SEAS.

Der Anbau der ölreichen Salicornia-Pflanze in der küstennahen Wüstenregion der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate.
"Mit diesem wegweisenden Forschungsprojekt markieren wir den Beginn der Nutzung von sauberem Treibstoff für den Luftverkehr", sagt Dr. Arif Sultan Al Hammadie, Executive Vice President der Khalifa University

„Als führende Forschungseinrichtung in der Region setzen wir uns für die Herstellung von Biokraftstoffen, saubere Energie und nachhaltige Technologien zur Verringerung der CO2-Emissionen ein.“

DR. ARIF SULTAN AL HAMMADIE, EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT DER KHALIFA UNIVERSITY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY, ABU DHABI, VEREINIGTE ARABISCHE EMIRATE

Boeing Dreamliner der Fluggesellschaft Etihad Airways auf dem Rollfeld des Flughafens Abu Dhabi (AUH)

„Mit diesem wegweisenden Forschungsprojekt markieren wir den Beginn der Nutzung von sauberem Treibstoff für den Luftverkehr, der in einer nachhaltigen Produktionskette entsteht“, berichtet Dr. Arif Sultan Al Hammadie, Executive Vice President der Khalifa University. „Damit sind wir ein wichtiger Teil des Vorhabens, das die strategischen Ziele der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate in den Bereichen Energie und Ernährung unterstützt.“

Al Hammadie kündigte an, dass nach dem erfolgreichen Erstflug die Anbaufläche im Rahmen der nächsten Forschungsphase auf über 200 Hektar vergrößert werden soll, um den Mengenertrag des Bio-Treibstoffes zu steigern.

Für Sean Schwinn, Vice President of Strategy and Market Development beim Flugzeughersteller Boeing, ist der Etihad-Flug „ein Meilenstein, von dem der Luftverkehr und die Welt erheblich profitieren können.“ Die neue Technologie werde helfen, Küstenwüsten in neues, produktives Ackerland zu verwandeln und könne damit sowohl die Ernährungssicherheit als auch einen sauberen Himmel unterstützen.

Der Einsatz umweltfreundlicher Kerosin-Alternativen ist indes nicht neu. Die deutsche Lufthansa Group leistete bereits 2011 Pionierarbeit: Im Rahmen des Projekts „BurnFAIR – Potenziale alternativer Kraftstoffe im operationellen Betrieb“ erprobte sie als weltweit erste Fluggesellschaft sechs Monate lang den Einsatz von Bio-Treibstoff im regulären Betrieb. Damals wurde jedoch nur ein Triebwerk mit einem Bio-Treibstoffanteil betrieben.

Mit Hilfe der umweltfreundlichen Kraftstoffe will die Luftfahrtbranche die Zunahme des Kohlenstoffdioxid-Ausstoßes bis zum Jahr 2020 stoppen und bis 2050 auf die Hälfte des Wertes von 2005 senken.

Text von Behrend Oldenburg
Fotos von Boeing, Etihad Airways, Khalifa University