Ready For Take Off: The World’s Biggest Air Cargo Trade Fair

Considered the largest air cargo trade fair in the world, air cargo Europe is taking place during the leading trade fair transport logistic in Munich. Over 220 companies from more than 40 countries will be exhibiting on around 15,000 square meters from 4 to 7 June 2019. Fraport AG is also on board.

Fraport AG at transport logistic 2019:
Frankfurt Airport Services Worldwide, Halle B 1.113

The exhibitors and events at air cargo Europe cover a broad range of topics, from ever-increasing climate protection requirements to the growing importance of online trade and the shortage of specialists in the global air cargo industry. Automation, alternative drives, the Internet of Things and Artificial Intelligence (AI) offer solutions.

“The subject of artificial intelligence can only be brought down to earth by discussing concrete applications.”

Dr Joachim Ehrenthal, University of Applied Sciences and Arts, Basel

“The use of AI is the logical consequence of the progressive digitization of air freight”, explains Dr Joachim Ehrenthal from the University of Applied Sciences and Arts, Northwestern Switzerland. He is a co-organizer of the open discussion group “Artificial Intelligence: Next Level Air Cargo?” at the industry meeting. Ehrenthal would like to bring the topic of artificial intelligence “down to earth” by discussing concrete applications. AI is already used in aviation for forecasts, optical process monitoring, vehicle maintenance, packing containers and fraud detection.

Computational Intelligence processes – nature-inspired processes such as artificial neural networks and swarm intelligence – often meet the requirements for air freight. The focus is always on data and its automated use. “We have to get data to take off. This means that existing data cemeteries must be activated and transformed into operational decision-making systems,” Ehrenthal stresses.

“Up to five percent of air freight will be eliminated by 3D printing.”

Dr Harald Sieke, Head Of Department, Air Traffic Logistics, Fraunhofer IML

Dr. Harald Sieke, Head of Air Traffic Logistics at the Fraunhofer Institute for Material Flow and Logistics (IML), confirms this view: “AI will be used along the entire air freight transport chain. The most promising possibilities are booking, reservations, and setting up cargo for aircraft loading.” AI will also lead to shifts in the market, as individual players will reposition themselves and others will disappear.

A further trend is that, for years, the strong growth in online trade has led to ever smaller consignments, right down to individual items. “This trend towards small-scale delivery will increase, especially in cross-border e-commerce – a very important segment for air freight,” Sieke predicts. In addition, customers want to track shipments as seamlessly as possible. Cargo iQ, an initiative of the International Air Transport Association (IATA), therefore aims to support process control, quality monitoring and service improvement.

Emirates SkyCargo received Cargo iQ certification in March 2018. “We proactively interact with our customers on the status of their shipments,” says Nabil Sultan, Emirates Divisional Senior Vice President Cargo. “We monitor shipments around the clock in real time on the basis of defined milestones and take corrective action in the event of deviations or delays.”

“We proactively interact with our customers on the status of their shipments.”

Nabil Sultan, Emirates Divisional Senior Vice President Cargo, Dubai

The shortage of skilled workers is also accelerating the trend towards automated systems for both the handling and transport of air freight. At the same time, “up to five percent of air freight will become superfluous due to 3D printing,” says Sieke. However, if one compares this figure with the expected annual growth of air freight, then “the effects of these technologies can be regarded as negligible”. On the other hand, the Internet of Things will have a much greater influence. “In the future, consignments will find their own way through the air freight network,” he says. He believes that in five to ten years’ time, the intensive research currently being undertaken will already be evident in practice.

transport logistic, the international trade fair for logistics, mobility, IT and supply chain management, is regarded as the world’s largest trade fair for freight transport by road, rail, water and air. air cargo Europe is part of transport logistic. It is both an exhibition and a meeting place for the global air freight industry. In 2017, 60,726 visitors from 123 countries and 2,162 exhibitors from 62 countries came to the Munich Exhibition Centre. transport logistic takes place every two years.

www.transportlogistic.de
www.aircargoeurope.com

Text by Behrend Oldenburg
Photos by Messe München AG, Fraunhofer Institut, University of Basel, Emirates, pixelio

Ready for Take Off: Die größte Air-Cargo-Messe der Welt

Sie gilt als die größte Luftfrachtmesse der Welt: die air cargo Europe während der Leitmesse transport logistic in München. Mehr als 220 Unternehmen aus über 40 Ländern präsentieren sich hier vom 4. bis zum 7. Juni 2019 auf rund 15.000 Quadratmetern. Auch die Fraport AG ist mit an Bord.
Die Fraport AG auf der transport logistic 2019:
Frankfurt Airport Services Worldwide, Halle B 1.113

Das Themenspektrum der Aussteller und Veranstaltungen auf der air cargo Europe ist weit gesteckt: Es reicht von immer höheren Anforderungen an den Klimaschutz über die wachsende Bedeutung des Online-Handels bis hin zum Mangel an Fachkräften in der globalen Luftfrachtindustrie. Lösungsansätze bieten die Automatisierung, alternative Antriebe, das Internet der Dinge und die Künstliche Intelligenz (KI).

„Erst mit dem Austausch über konkrete Anwendungsfälle kommt das Thema künstliche Intelligenz auf den Boden.“

Prof. Dr. Joachim Ehrenthal, University of Applied Sciences and Arts, Basel

„Die Anwendung von KI ist die logische Konsequenz der fortschreitenden Digitalisierung in der Luftfracht“, erklärt Prof. Dr. Joachim Ehrenthal von der Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz. Er ist Mitgestalter der offenen Diskussionsrunde „Artificial Intelligence: Next Level Air Cargo?“ auf dem Branchentreff. Durch den Austausch über konkrete Anwendungsfälle möchte Ehrenthal das Thema künstliche Intelligenz „auf den Boden bringen.“ KI werde in der Luftfahrt bereits jetzt für Prognosen, optische Prozessüberwachung, die Fahrzeugwartung, das Packen von Behältern oder die Betrugserkennung eingesetzt.

Oftmals passen zu den Luftfracht-Anforderungen die Verfahren der ‚Computational Intelligence‘: Darunter werden von der Natur inspirierte Verfahren verstanden, wie zum Beispiel künstliche neuronale Netze und Schwarmintelligenz. Der Fokus liegt dabei immer auf Daten und deren automatisierter Nutzung. „Wir müssen die Daten zum Fliegen bringen: Das heißt, dass bestehende Datenfriedhöfe aktiviert und in betriebliche Entscheidungssysteme verwandelt werden müssen“, betont Ehrenthal.

„Bis zu fünf Prozent der Luftfracht wird durch 3D-Druck überflüssig werden.“

Dr.-Ing. Harald Sieke, Abteilungsleiter Luftverkehrslogistik Fraunhofer IML

Dr. Harald Sieke, Abteilungsleiter Luftverkehrslogistik vom Fraunhofer-Institut für Materialfluss und Logistik (IML), bestätigt diese Sichtweise: „KI wird entlang der gesamten Luftfrachttransportkette eingesetzt werden. Die aussichtsreichsten Möglichkeiten bestehen bei Buchung, Reservierung sowie beim Frachtaufbau für die Flugzeugladung.“ Es werde durch KI auch zu Verschiebungen im Markt kommen, da sich einzelne Player neu aufstellen und andere vom Markt verschwinden werden.

Ein weiterer Trend: Der stark wachsende Onlinehandel führt seit Jahren zu immer kleinteiligeren Sendungen bis hin zu Einzelstücken. „Diese Kleinteiligkeit wird vor allem im grenzüberschreitenden E-Commerce ansteigen, ein für die Luftfracht sehr wichtiges Segment“, prognostiziert Sieke. Zudem wolle der Kunde den Transport möglichst lückenlos verfolgen. Cargo iQ, eine Initiative der International Air Transport Association (IATA), möchte deshalb zur Prozesskontrolle, Qualitätsüberwachung und Serviceverbesserung beitragen.

Emirates SkyCargo ist hier bereits seit März 2018 zertifiziert. „Wir interagieren proaktiv mit unseren Kunden über den Versandstatus“, sagt Nabil Sultan, Emirates Divisional Senior Vice President Cargo. „Wir überwachen rund um die Uhr die Transporte anhand festgelegter Meilensteine in Echtzeit und ergreifen bei Abweichungen oder Verspätungen Korrekturmaßnahmen.“

„Wir interagieren proaktiv mit unseren Kunden über den Versandstatus.“

Nabil Sultan, Emirates Divisional Senior Vice President Cargo, Dubai

Der Fachkräftemangel beschleunigt zudem den Trend zu automatisierten Systemen sowohl beim Handling als auch beim Transport von Luftfracht. Gleichzeitig werden „bis zu fünf Prozent der Luftfracht durch 3D-Druck überflüssig werden“, schätzt Luftverkehrslogistiker Sieke. Stelle man diese Zahl jedoch dem erwarteten jährlichen Wachstum der Luftfracht gegenüber, dann seien „die Effekte dieser Techniken als vernachlässigbar anzusehen“. Einen wesentlich größeren Einfluss wird hingegen das Internet der Dinge haben. „In Zukunft suchen sich die Sendungen selbst ihren Weg durch das Luftfrachtnetz“, meint der Wissenschaftler. Schon in fünf bis zehn Jahren werde die aktuell intensive Forschung dazu in der Praxis spürbar sein.
Die internationale Fachmesse für Logistik, Mobilität, IT und Supply Chain Management transport logistic gilt als die weltweit größte Messe für den Güterverkehr auf Straße, Schiene, Wasser und in der Luft. In die transport logistic ist die air cargo Europe integriert, sie ist Ausstellung und zugleich Branchentreff der globalen Luftfrachtindustrie. 2017 kamen 60.726 Besucher aus 123 Ländern und 2.162 Aussteller aus 62 Ländern auf das Münchner Messegelände. Die transport logistic findet alle zwei Jahre statt.

www.transportlogistic.de
www.aircargoeurope.com

Text von Behrend Oldenburg
Fotos von Messe München AG, Fraunhofer Institut, Universität Basel, Emirates, pixelio