UFO project: Unmanned cargo aircraft soon to be a reality?

The German Aerospace Center (DLR) has investigated ways to integrate unmanned cargo aircraft in conventional air traffic – with surprising results.

Large cargo carriers with no pilot on board could very soon be a reality. In the “Unmanned Freight Operations” project – or “UFO” project for short – the DLR developed special support systems for air traffic controllers and pilots on the ground to use to navigate unmanned freighters through the ever-increasing volume of traffic in the sky. According to the DLR, the three possible deployment scenarios for unmanned freight flights are the transportation of plant cargo between two factories with a Cessna-size aircraft, long-distance transport with a freighter the size of a Boeing 777, and relief aid transport with a fleet of ‘cargo drones’. The latter would work in much the same way as manned missions: Mostly operated by NATO or UNO, the unmanned cargo aircraft would travel fixed routes in a separate air corridor. The advantage? Depending on the size of the aid flotilla, the mission could be operated remotely by just one pilot.

Full control: Pilots could soon be controlling cargo aircraft from ground stations, with screens displaying the flight direction and engine parameters, maps, flight paths, and the surrounding air traffic.

Unmanned long-haul freight flights, however, would need to be integrated in regular flight operations, since compartmentalizing the airspace would restrict conventional air traffic too strongly in the event of an increase in the number of unmanned cargo carriers. Specially trained air traffic controllers could, though, support unmanned cargo carriers not just through short sectors but across longer hauls that cross many airspaces. The DLR also believes that plant cargo transport could be smoothly integrated into conventional air traffic at a lower altitude.

Innovative control and monitoring system developed

For the deployment of pilots on the ground, the researchers tested a new control and monitoring system. This system delivers a wealth of information: altitude, speed, direction, state of the engine and fuel systems, data on air traffic, the ground, weather, and much more. This information, in turn, enables the pilot to monitor the flight route quickly and accurately and to correct any deviations. For air traffic controllers the DLR has upgraded existing support systems to include status displays for the relevant unmanned aircraft’s systems, as well as its speed and flight direction.

The upgraded air traffic controller support system includes an arrival sequence for aircraft at an airport: Each plane is displayed along with its altitude, course, and aircraft type.

Unmanned freighters facilitate longer flights

“The project has shown that unmanned freight flights are generally feasible from a technical and organizational point of view,” says UFO project manager Dr. Annette Temme. Freight drones would bring a whole host of advantages. Currently, often four or more pilots are needed on long-distance flights, with each pilot taking over the controls at regular intervals. With unmanned freight flights, however, just one pilot is needed to operate the flying devices, and they can simply hand over the controls to a colleague at the end of their shift. This facilitates longer flights and a balanced distribution of work. Cockpits and generally also pressurized cabins are no longer required on board – this frees up additional freight space and cuts production and fuel costs, since the aircraft is lighter.

Dr. Temme anticipates unmanned freight flights will be in operation within the next 10 to 15 years. In the meantime, there are still some questions that need answering, such as how to ensure the rapid communication of large data volumes and how the responsibilities that previously lay with the pilot are to be defined. In addition, no registration processes are as yet in place for unmanned aircraft, and there remain too a number of legal and technical obstacles to overcome regarding the operation of unmanned aircraft in airspace and at airports.

Text by Gesine Oltmanns
Photos: DLR

Projekt UFO: Sind unbemannte Frachtflugzeuge schon bald Realität?

Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) hat untersucht, wie unbemannte Frachtflugzeuge in den konventionellen Flugverkehr eingebunden werden können – mit erstaunlichen Ergebnissen.

Große Frachtflieger ohne Pilot an Bord könnten schon bald Realität werden. In dem Projekt „Unmanned Freight Operations“, kurz: UFO, entwickelte das DLR spezielle Unterstützungssysteme, mit denen Fluglotsen und Piloten am Boden unbemannte Frachtflugzeuge durch das ständig steigende Verkehrsaufkommen am Himmel navigieren können. Zu den drei möglichen Einsatzszenarien für unbemannte Frachtflüge zählen laut DLR Werksgüter-Transporte zwischen zwei Fabrikstandorten mit einem Cessna-großen Fluggerät, Langstreckentransporte mit einem Frachter in der Größe einer Boeing 777 sowie Hilfsgütertransporte mit einer Flotte sogenannter Cargo-Drohnen. Letztere würden kaum anders als bemannte Missionen ablaufen: Meist von NATO oder UNO durchgeführt, wären die unbemannten Frachtflugzeuge auf festgelegten Routen in einem separaten Luftkorridor unterwegs. Vorteil: Je nach Größe der Hilfsflotte könnten sie von einem einzigen Piloten ferngesteuert werden.

Volle Kontrolle: Piloten könnten Frachtflugzeuge bereits in naher Zukunft von Bodenstationen aus steuern. Bildschirme zeigen ihnen Flugrichtung und Triebwerksparameter, Landkarten, Flugrouten und den umgebenden Luftverkehr an.

Unbemannte Frachtflüge über lange Strecken müssten jedoch in den regulären Flugbetrieb integriert werden, denn eine Separierung des Luftraums würde bei einer Zunahme von unbemannten Frachtfliegern den konventionellen Flugverkehr zu stark einschränken. Speziell geschulte Fluglotsen könnten die unbemannten Frachtflieger jedoch nicht nur über kurze Sektoren hinweg betreuen, sondern über einen längeren Streckenabschnitt sektorübergreifend begleiten. Auch der Werksgüter-Transport könnte laut DLR problemlos in einer geringeren Flughöhe in den konventionellen Luftverkehr eingebunden werden.

Innovatives Steuerungs- und Überwachungssystem entwickelt

Für den Piloteneinsatz am Boden erprobten die Forscher ein neues Steuerungs- und Überwachungssystem. Es liefert eine Fülle an Informationen: Flughöhe, Geschwindigkeit, Flugrichtung, Zustand der Triebwerk- und Treibstoff-Systeme, Daten zu Flugverkehr, Gelände, Wetter und vieles mehr. Der Pilot kann damit exakt und schnell die Flugroute überwachen und Abweichungen korrigieren. Für Fluglotsen hat das DLR bestehende Unterstützungssysteme erweitert, etwa um Anzeigen zum Status der Systeme des unbemannten Flugzeugs sowie dessen Geschwindigkeit und Flugrichtung.

Das erweiterte Lotsenunterstützungssystem mit einer Anflugsequenz von Flugzeugen auf einen Flughafen: Jedes Flugzeug ist mit Flughöhe, Richtung und Flugzeugtyp dargestellt.

Unbemannte Frachter ermöglichen längere Flugzeiten

„Das Projekt hat gezeigt, dass der unbemannte Frachtflug generell technisch und organisatorisch möglich ist“, sagt UFO-Projektleiterin Dr. Annette Temme. Fracht-Drohnen würden viele Vorteile bringen. Bisher müssen auf Langstrecken oft vier oder mehr Piloten mitreisen und sich regelmäßig abwechseln. Bei unbemannten Frachtflügen ist jeweils nur ein Pilot im Einsatz, der die Fluggeräte bedienen und nach seiner Dienstzeit einfach an einen Kollegen übergeben kann. So werden längere Flugzeiten und eine ausgewogene Arbeitsverteilung möglich. Cockpit und meist auch die Druckkabine an Bord fallen weg – das schafft zusätzlichen Frachtraum, spart Produktionskosten und Treibstoff, da das Flugzeug leichter wird.

Dr. Temme rechnet damit, dass in 10 bis 15 Jahren unbemannte Frachtflugzeuge in Betrieb gehen. Bis dahin müssen sich noch offene Fragen klären, etwa wie eine schnelle Kommunikation mit großen Datenmengen sichergestellt werden kann oder wie die Verantwortlichkeiten festgelegt werden, die vorher beim Piloten lagen. Außerdem gibt es derzeit noch keine definierten Zulassungsprozesse der unbemannten Flugzeuge, und auch dem Betrieb im Luftraum und an Flughäfen stehen noch rechtliche und technische Hindernisse im Weg.

Text von Gesine Oltmanns
Fotos: DLR

Share This