Mission 2050: Zero Emissions

“Negotiating and taking action” is the guiding principle behind the Climate Change Conference in Bonn. 25,000 participants, coming from all around the world, are expected to attend the event from November 6–17, 2017. It will be the biggest international conference ever to take place in Germany.

Bonn is also where the Deutsche Post DHL Group has its headquarters – this global leader in the postal service and logistics industry is also a pioneer in sustainable transport and logistics. Through its “Mission 2050: Zero Emissions” campaign, the company intends to demonstrate how logistics businesses can help protect the climate. The objective of this new strategy is to reduce all emissions relating to transport to zero by 2050. “The United Nations has taken on the courageous goal of limiting global warming to below two degrees Celsius in relation to the global temperature prior to the Industrial Revolution. This is a very ambitious undertaking – some have even described it as impossible to achieve. However, that does not mean we shouldn’t try,” explains Dr. Frank Appel, chief executive officer of the Deutsche Post DHL Group.

“The Deutsche Post DHL Group has put its full conviction and support behind the United Nations’ objective; our new initiative is our contribution to achieving it. The time for us to become a trailblazer for sustainability is now.”
Dr. Frank Appel, chief executive officer of the Deutsche Post DHL Group

20,000 StreetScooters per year

As ambitious as it may seem, the “Mission 2050” plan is intended to be a success. The company has already proven its ability to set benchmarks for environmentally friendly logistics solutions with the StreetScooter. When no automotive manufacturer was able to provide an electric vehicle suitable for making deliveries, Deutsche Post bought Street Scooter GmbH – at the time, a start-up created through RWTH Aachen University – in December 2014, and was single-handedly producing delivery vans itself in no time at all. These days, Deutsche Post already has around 3,500 electrically powered vehicles in service, and it intends to expand the fleet considerably. In the future, up to 20,000 StreetScooters are planned to roll off the assembly lines at the Aachen and Düren plants per year. With this plan, the Group intends to help make e-mobility the new standard for the logistics industry.
On the road and emissions-free: GLS Bank board member Dirk Kannacher with one of 500 new StreetScooters that can now be leased by craft businesses and local authorities, for example. “We need cutting-edge mobility concepts that emphasize the sharing economy and clean power to protect our environment. The time for this is now.”
As part of this effort, the Deutsche Post DHL Group wants to enable other companies to have CO2-free travel and transport, too. To achieve this, the company has developed a leasing concept in collaboration with GLS Bank and COMCO Leasing Group which it recently introduced in October 2017. “Together, we help customers from a wide range of industries make the switch to electromobility. This lets us become sustainably successful together and helps us promote environmentally friendly logistics,” says Jürgen Gerdes, member of the executive board for Post – eCommerce – Parcel at the Deutsche Post DHL Group and responsible for Deutsche Post’s subsidiary StreetScooter.
The Deutsche Post DHL Group has also recently started relying on “DHL Cubicycles” for CO2-free last-mile delivery. This pilot project equips freight bicycles with electrical pedal assist; it was launched on March 1, 2017, in Frankfurt am Main and in Utrecht in the Netherlands. The transport boxes can hold a volume of one cubic meter and bear up to 125 kilograms. This means they can carry more express packages than conventional freight bicycles and deliver them faster than larger vehicles can.
Transport solution for the last mile: DHL Cubicycles bicycle couriers use inner-city “microdepots.” According to Deutsche Post, each of these “city hubs” renders up to two delivery vans superfluous.

Four midpoint targets for greener logistics

Aiming for completely emissions-free logistics, the Deutsche Post DHL Group has set itself four midpoint targets to achieve by 2025. First, the company’s CO2 efficiency should be improved by 50 percent over its efficiency in 2007. Second, 70 percent of the company’s internal delivery and pickup processes should be carried out using environmentally friendly concepts such as bicycle delivery or electromobility. As a third goal, the percentage of sales involving green solutions should exceed 50 percent. The fourth objective is to certify 80 percent of the company’s current workforce of 510,000 as “GoGreen” experts through specific training measures.
Text by Benjamin Klare
Photos: DPDHL, Stephan Münnich
Share This

Mission 2050: Zero Emissions

„Verhandeln und Handeln“ lautet das Motto der Weltklimakonferenz in Bonn, bei der vom 6. bis 17. November 2017 bis zu 25.000 Teilnehmer aus aller Welt erwartet werden. Es ist die größte zwischenstaatliche Tagung, die es bislang in Deutschland gegeben hat.

Bonn, das ist auch der Hauptsitz des weltweit führenden Post- und Logistikkonzerns Deutsche Post DHL Group – einem Vorreiter in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit im Bereich Transport und Logistik. Mit seiner „Mission 2050: Zero Emissions“ will das Unternehmen zeigen, wie die Logistikwirtschaft zum Klimaschutz beitragen kann. Mit der neuen Strategie sollen alle transportbezogenen Emissionen bis 2050 auf null reduziert werden. „Die Vereinten Nationen haben sich das mutige Ziel gesetzt, die globale Erwärmung auf weniger als zwei Grad Celsius gegenüber dem vorindustriellen Wert zu begrenzen. Das ist ein sehr ehrgeiziges Vorhaben – manche bezeichnen es sogar als unerreichbar. Dies bedeutet jedoch nicht, dass wir es nicht versuchen sollten“, erklärt Dr. Frank Appel, Vorstandsvorsitzender Deutsche Post DHL Group.

„Deutsche Post DHL Group stellt sich voller Überzeugung hinter das Ziel der Vereinten Nationen, und mit unserer neuen Mission wollen unseren Beitrag dazu leisten, es zu erreichen. Wir müssen schon jetzt Wegbereiter der Nachhaltigkeit sein.“
Dr. Frank Appel, Vorstandsvorsitzender Deutsche Post DHL Group

20.000 neue StreetScooter pro Jahr

Mag der Plan auch ambitioniert sein, die „Mission 2050“ soll eine Erfolgsgeschichte werden. Dass das Unternehmen Maßstäbe setzen kann, wenn es um Lösungen für eine umweltschonende Logistik geht, hat es bereits mit dem StreetScooter bewiesen. Nachdem kein Automobilhersteller ein für den Zustellbetrieb geeignetes Elektrofahrzeug liefern konnte, kaufte die Deutsche Post im Dezember 2014 das damals als Street Scooter GmbH firmierende Start-up der Aachener Universität RWTH und produzierte die Lieferwagen kurzerhand in Eigenregie. Heute hat die Post bereits rund 3500 der elektrisch betriebenen Fahrzeuge im Einsatz und will die Flotte deutlich ausbauen. In den beiden Werken in Aachen und Düren sollen künftig zusammen bis zu 20.000 StreetScooter pro Jahr vom Band laufen. Damit will der Konzern der E-Mobilität als neuer Norm in der Logistikindustrie zum Durchbruch verhelfen.
Emissionsfrei unterwegs: GLS Bank-Vorstand Dirk Kannacher mit einem der 500 neuen StreetScooter, die jetzt beispielsweise von Handwerksbetrieben und Kommunen geleast werden können. „Wir benötigen zukunftsweisende Mobilitätskonzepte rund um das Sharing und saubere Antriebe zum Schutz unserer Umwelt. Die Zeit dafür ist jetzt.“
In diesem Zusammenhang will die Deutsche Post DHL Group auch anderen Unternehmen CO2-freie Fahrten und Transporte ermöglichen. Dazu entwickelte das Unternehmen gemeinsam mit der GLS Bank und der COMCO Leasinggruppe ein Leasingkonzept, das erst jüngst im Oktober 2017 vorgestellt wurde. „Gemeinsam helfen wir Kunden aus den verschiedensten Branchen, auf Elektromobilität umzusteigen. So sind wir gemeinsam nachhaltig erfolgreich und können zusätzlich die umweltschonende Logistik voranbringen“, sagt Jürgen Gerdes, Konzernvorstand Post – eCommerce – Parcel der Deutsche Post DHL Group und verantwortlich für die Post-Tochter StreetScooter.
Für die CO2-freie Zustellung auf der letzten Meile setzt die Deutsche Post DHL Group neuerdings auch auf sogenannte DHL Cubicycles. Das Pilotprojekt, bei dem Lastenfahrräder mit elektrischer Pedalunterstützung zum Einsatz kommen, startete am 1. März 2017 in Frankfurt am Main und im niederländischen Utrecht. Die Transportboxen haben ein Volumen von einem Kubikmeter und tragen ein Gewicht von bis zu 125 Kilogramm. So können mehr Express-Sendungen als auf herkömmlichen Lastenrädern befördert und schneller als mit großen Fahrzeugen zugestellt werden.
Transportlösung für die letzte Meile: Fahrradkuriere mit DHL Cubicycles nutzen innerstädtische Mikrodepots. Jeder einzelne dieser „City-Hubs“ macht nach Angaben der Post den Einsatz von bis zu zwei Lieferwagen überflüssig.

Vier Teilziele für eine grünere Logistik

Auf dem Weg zu einer komplett emissionsfreien Logistik hat sich die Deutsche Post DHL Group vier Teilziele gesetzt, die sie bis 2025 umsetzen möchte. Erstens soll die CO2-Effizienz verglichen mit dem Jahr 2007 um 50 Prozent verbessert werden, zweitens sollen konzerneigene Zustellungs- und Abholungsprozesse zu 70 Prozent mit umweltfreundlichen Konzepten wie Fahrradzustellung oder Elektromobilität erfolgen. Der Anteil des Umsatzes, der grüne Lösungen beinhaltet, soll drittens mehr als 50 Prozent betragen. Und viertens sollen 80 Prozent der derzeit insgesamt 510.000 Mitarbeiter mit spezifischen Trainingsmaßnahmen zu „GoGreen“-Experten zertifiziert werden.
Text von Benjamin Klare
Fotos: DPDHL, Stephan Münnich
Share This