Aviation innovations

for the mobility of tomorrow

Clever ideas, great benefits and easy implementation – the winners of the German Aviation Innovation Prize in 2017 scored big on these points. Worth a total of 20,000 euros, the prize should serve as a springboard to establish new products on the market. Germany’s most important representatives of aviation award the prize: the German Aerospace Industries Association (BDLI), the German Aviation Association (BDL), the digital association Bitkom, the German Aerospace Center (DLR) as well as the P3 Group, a management consultant and engineering firm. Over 50 corporations, small and medium-sized enterprises, start-ups and research facilities entered the competition. The seven expert members of the jury awarded four companies.

A “bouquet” helps save fuel

The aviation industry supplier Premium AEROTEC, based in Augsburg, impressed the jury with a structural component modeled on natural shapes: a bracket for the rear-door frame area in the Airbus A350 XWB. It is the first bionic-inspired structural component for aircrafts that has entered into series production. The bracket is 3D-printed in titanium, which makes the curved structure possible and saves material. The organic shape makes it 64 percent lighter than traditional brackets, thereby reducing kerosene consumption and CO2 emissions. Calculated over a period of 30 years, a global A350 fleet can therefore save 875 tons of carbon dioxide.

“Bouquet” – that’s what Premium AEROTEC calls the bracket, whose shape resembles a living structure. A traditional component is shown to its left.

More than just a drone

The Darmstadt-based company Wingcopter won the innovation award for its crossover between an unmanned aerial vehicle drone and fixed-wing aircraft. Wingcopter 178’s special feature is its four rotors, which can tilt 90 degrees to let it take off and land vertically anywhere. It can fly for two hours, cover a range of 100 kilometers and reach a top speed of 130 kilometers per hour – much more than traditional drones. The Wingcopter’s aerodynamic design and the tilt rotors help it remain stable in the air even in difficult weather conditions. As a result, it is the perfect helper for taking measurements or carrying out inspections and transport operations.

The Wingcopter is already used for a wide range of applications. It inspects high-voltage cables for the Dubai Electricity and Water Authority, maps out the Indonesian rainforest for the Zoological Society in London and transports medication throughout Tanzania on behalf of the German development agency giz.

Printed electrics

Aircraft manufacturer Airbus entered the competition with “printed electrics”: These printed electrical connections of conductive ink could revolutionize aircraft power supplies. Many other fields already use the method for a wide variety of electronic components, such as light-emitting diodes, sensors or display systems. A Hamburg-based Airbus team optimized it for aviation. Using an inkjet printer, silver-plated conductive ink is printed onto plastic film and then covered with a protective coating. The advantages in comparison to thick cable bundles: less weight, lower costs, more flexible cabin design. The printed conductors can be used for various cabin systems, such as lighting, air conditioning or data transmission.

Light against jetlag

A warm red while taking off at night, a cool blue before the landing: jetlite takes on jetlag with a specially developed cabin light. The Hamburg-based start-up developed an algorithm that controls cabin lighting on long-haul flights. It takes into account flight times, flight duration and direction, time zones, daylight as well as the seasons at both the point of departure and the destination. Different light scenarios regulate the release of the sleeping hormone melatonin to ensure a good night’s sleep and support the human circadian rhythm. The holistic concept also considers individual nutritional needs for inflight and airport catering. An app provides suggestions for sleep phases, lighting and nutrition before and after the flight – adapted to the individual passenger’s internal clock.

Text by Gesine Oltmanns
Photos: Hesse creates knowledge/Steffen Böttcher (article photo), Premium AEROTEC, Wingcopter

Luftfahrt-Innovationen

für die Mobilität von morgen

Schlaue Ideen, hoher Nutzen und leichte Umsetzbarkeit – damit punkteten die Sieger beim Innovationspreis der Deutschen Luftfahrt 2017. Der mit insgesamt 20.000 Euro dotierte Preis soll als Sprungbrett dienen, um neue Produkte im Markt zu etablieren. Hinter dem Preis stehen die wichtigsten Vertreter der Luftfahrt in Deutschland: der Bundesverband der Deutschen Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie (BDLI), der Bundesverband der Deutschen Luftverkehrswirtschaft (BDL), der Digitalverband Bitkom, das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) sowie der Beratungs- und Ingenieurdienstleister P3 group. Über 50 Konzerne, kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen, Start-ups und Forschungseinrichtungen hatten sich beworben. Vier Unternehmen zeichnete die siebenköpfige Experten-Jury aus.

„BLUMENSTRAUSS“ HILFT TREIBSTOFF SPAREN

Der Augsburger Luftfahrtzulieferer Premium AEROTEC überzeugte die Jury mit einem Strukturbauteil, das natürlichen Formen nachempfunden ist: einen Halter für den hinteren Türrahmenbereich im Airbus A350 XWB. Er ist das erste bionisch inspirierte Strukturbauteil für Flugzeuge, das in Serie produziert wird. Der Halter wird im 3D-Druck aus Titan hergestellt. Das spart Material und ermöglicht die geschwungene Struktur. Durch die organische Form ist er 64 Prozent leichter als herkömmliche Halter und senkt dadurch Kerosinverbrauch und CO2-Ausstoß. Hochgerechnet auf 30 Jahre kann die weltweite A350-Flotte damit 875 Tonnen Kohlendioxid einsparen.

„BLUMENSTRAUSS“ – so nennt Premium AEROTEC den Halter wegen seiner Form, die lebenden Strukturen nachempfunden ist. Links daneben das herkömmliche Bauteil.

Mehr als eine Drohne

Mit einer Kombination aus Drohne und Tragflügelflugzeug holte sich die Darmstädter Firma Wingcopter den Innovationspreis. Das Besondere am Wingcopter 178 sind seine vier um 90 Grad schwenkbaren Rotoren, mit denen er überall vertikal starten und landen kann. Zugleich erreicht er Flugzeiten von zwei Stunden, eine Reichweite von 100 Kilometern und eine Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 130 Kilometern pro Stunde – deutlich mehr als herkömmliche Drohnen. Durch das aerodynamische Design und die Schwenkrotoren liegt der Wingcopter auch bei schwierigen Wetterbedingungen stabil in der Luft. Das macht ihn zum perfekten Helfer für Vermessungen, Inspektionen und Transporteinsätze.

Der Wingcopter ist schon vielfältig im Einsatz: Für die Dubai Electricity and Water Authority inspiziert er Hochspannungsleitungen, für die Zoological Society in London kartiert er den indonesischen Regenwald und in Tansania transportiert er Medikamente für die Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ).

Gedruckte Elektrik

Der Flugzeughersteller Airbus ging mit „Printed Electrics“ ins Rennen: Die gedruckten elektrischen Verbindungen aus leitfähiger Tinte könnten die Stromversorgung im Flugzeug revolutionieren. Das Verfahren wird in anderen Bereichen bereits für viele elektronische Bauelemente wie Leuchtdioden, Sensoren oder Anzeigesysteme eingesetzt. Ein Airbus-Team aus Hamburg hat es für die Luftfahrt optimiert. Dabei wird mit einem Tintenstrahldrucker eine mit Silberpartikeln versetzte, leitfähige Tinte auf Kunststofffolie gedruckt und mit einer schützenden Lackschicht überzogen. Vorteile gegenüber dicken Kabelbündeln: weniger Gewicht, geringere Kosten, flexiblere Kabinengestaltung. Die gedruckten Leiter können für verschiedene Kabinensysteme genutzt werden, wie etwa Beleuchtung, Klimaanlage oder Datenübertragung.

Licht gegen Jetlag

Rötlich-warm zu Beginn eines Nachtfluges, bläulich-kühl vor der Landung: Mit speziellem Kabinenlicht sagt jetlite dem Jetlag den Kampf an. Das Hamburger Start-up-Unternehmen hat einen Algorithmus entwickelt, der die Kabinenbeleuchtung auf Langstreckenflügen steuert. Er berücksichtigt Flugzeiten, -dauer und -richtung, Zeitzonen, Tageslicht sowie Jahreszeiten am Start- und Zielort. Verschiedene Lichtszenarien regulieren die Ausschüttung des Schlafhormons Melatonin, sorgen so für einen guten Schlaf und unterstützen den menschlichen Biorhythmus. Das ganzheitliche Konzept schließt auch individuelle Ernährungspläne für das Catering an Bord und an Flughäfen mit ein. Ergänzend dazu macht eine App Vorschläge in Bezug auf Schlafphasen, Beleuchtung und Ernährung vor und nach dem Flug – abgestimmt auf die innere Uhr des einzelnen Fluggastes.

Text von Gesine Oltmanns
Fotos: Hessen schafft Wissen/Steffen Böttcher (Artikelfoto), Premium AEROTEC, Wingcopter

Share This