German Aviation Innovation Award: Profitable ideas for the aviation sector

For the third time and under the patronage of the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology, the German Aviation Innovation Award this year once again honored outstanding projects. The ideas’ ingenuity and practical utility played a decisive role for the jury, as well as market relevance, feasibility and the effort required for introduction. “This year’s entries have been very impressive. We are sure that the winning designs will also be successful in the market” said Prof. Rolf Henke, Executive Board Member for Aeronautics at the German Aerospace Center and Chairman of the eight-strong jury of experts. More than 60 companies, start-ups and research institutions applied for the prize valued at € 20,000. At the end of April, the four winners were selected at the International Aerospace Exhibition 2018 (ILA) in Berlin in front of an audience of more than 200 guests from the fields of politics, economics, industry and research.

Counter-rotating rotors for enhanced performance

edm aerotec from Thuringia won in the “Customer Journey” category. Their ultra-light COAX 2D helicopter stands out because of its co-axial rotor types with four rotor blades on two counter-rotating levels. This allows the aircraft to fly unusually quietly and offers 30 per cent more power, as the COAX 2D uses the entire engine performance for the lift and does not require a tail rotor for stabilization. With a rotor diameter of 6.5 meters and delivering a performance of 125 hp, this two-man helicopter reaches a maximum speed of 170 kilometers per hour. Thanks to the co-axial rotors, the helicopter’s noise level is reduced by 80 per cent.

On the COAX 2D, the rotor blades are arranged on two levels and rotate counter to one another. As a result, this ultra-light helicopter flies more smoothly and quietly.

Miniature probe for turbine blade maintenance

In the “Cross Innovation” category, Rolls-Royce secured the prize in collaboration with the German company Schölly Fiberoptic and the Fraunhofer Institute for Production Systems and Design Technology. The engine manufacturer succeeded in increasing the service life of aircraft turbine blades. Engines can reach temperatures of up to 1700° C and in order to prevent the blades from melting, they are cooled using tiny air channels. If these cooling holes are blocked, the performance of the blades will be reduced. Based on experience from the field of medical endoscopy, Rolls Royce developed a miniature probe which is inserted into the engine during servicing via injection nozzles in order to clean the cooling holes of the blades. This involves a special cleaning head directing a very high-pressure jet of water (500 bar) at the blades. Up to 360 air cooling holes can therefore be cleaned at the same time, extending the service life of the blades by 20 to 30 per cent.

Fuel cells instead of auxiliary power units

Aircraft manufacturer Airbus won the “Reduction of emissions” category with their “Hydrogen to Torque Imponator”. Based on an innovative, hydrogen-operated fuel cell system which in future could replace the Auxiliary Power Unit (APU) in the tail of the aircraft. The APU supplies energy for on-board systems such as air-conditioning and electronics. Until now, these were operated using kerosene. The new drive design of Airbus operates an electrical mini power unit with the power from the fuel cell in order to take over the tasks of the APU. One airplane could therefore save up to three percent of kerosene as a result and therefore would reduce CO² emissions accordingly.

Barnaby Law, Program Director Hydrogen and Fuel Cell, Wolfgang Engel, Expert Air Systems Physical Integration, and Claus Hoffjann, Expert Integrated Fuel Cell Technology (from left), with the award-winning fuel cell demonstrator “Hydrogen to Torque (H2T) Imponator”.

The outside barely hints at the refined technology within: The “Hydrogen to Torque (H2T) Imponator” from Airbus.

From networked assembly areas to data glasses

Aviation supplier Premium Aerotec impressed the jury in the “Industry 4.0” category with its recently unveiled assembly line for aircraft doors in Varel (Lower Saxony). Humans and machinery work hand in hand with digital elements at the high-tech production facility. A state-of-the-art production control system is used to network all construction areas. Using a touch panel on the work bench, staff members can call up all data relevant to production. As a result, paper-based documentation is no longer required. Digital data glasses display the test features directly in front of the quality checkers’ eyes, produce photos of the component and save them in a digital file. Autonomous transportation vehicles as well as drilling and measuring robots support the production.

Drilling and measurement robots, autonomous transportation vehicles, networked construction areas – the new production line at Premium Aerotec is at the cutting edge of technology.

The German Aviation Innovation Award is supported by the German Aerospace Industries Association (BDLI), the German Aviation Association (BDL), the digital association Bitkom, the German Aerospace Center (DLR), the Center of Applied Aeronautical Research as well as the P3 Group, a leading management consultant and engineering firm. Find out more here about the 2017 prize winners.

Text by Gesine Oltmanns
Photos: Premium Aerotec, edm aerotec, Airbus

Innovationspreis der Deutschen Luftfahrt: Luftfahrtideen mit Gewinn

Unter der Schirmherrschaft des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie wurden in diesem Jahr zum dritten Mal herausragende Projekte mit dem Innovationspreis der Deutschen Luftfahrt ausgezeichnet. Neuartigkeit und Nützlichkeit der Ideen, aber auch Marktrelevanz, Umsetzbarkeit und Einführungsaufwand spielten für die Jury eine entscheidende Rolle. „Die diesjährigen Einreichungen sind beeindruckend. Wir sind überzeugt, dass die Siegerkonzepte auch im Markt erfolgreich sein werden“, sagte Prof. Rolf Henke, Luftfahrtvorstand des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt und Vorsitzender der achtköpfigen Experten-Jury. Mehr als 60 Unternehmen, Start-Ups und Forschungseinrichtungen bewarben sich für den mit 20.000 Euro dotierten Preis. Ende April wurden die vier Gewinner auf der Internationalen Luft- und Raumfahrtausstellung ILA 2018 in Berlin vor über 200 Gästen aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Industrie und Forschung gekürt.

Gegenläufige Rotoren für mehr Leistung

In der Kategorie „Customer Journey“ siegte die Firma edm aerotec aus Thüringen. Das Besondere an ihrem Ultraleicht-Hubschrauber COAX 2D ist die koaxiale Rotorvariante mit vier Rotorblättern auf zwei sich gegenläufig drehenden Ebenen. Sie ermöglicht ein ungewöhnlich ruhiges Flugverhalten und 30 Prozent mehr Power, denn der COAX 2D nutzt die gesamte Triebwerksleistung für den Auftrieb und muss keinen Heckrotor zur Stabilisierung versorgen. Mit einem Rotordurchmesser von 6,5 Metern und 125 PS erreicht der Zwei-Personen-Hubschrauber eine maximale Geschwindigkeit von 170 Stundenkilometern. Dabei entwickelt er dank der koaxialen Rotoren 80 Prozent weniger Lärm.

Beim COAX 2D sind die Rotorblätter auf zwei Ebenen angeordnet und drehen sich gegenläufig. Dadurch fliegt der Ultraleicht-Hubschrauber ruhiger und leiser.

Miniatursonde zur Wartung von Turbinenschaufeln

In der Kategorie „Cross Innovation“ sicherte sich Rolls-Royce in Zusammenarbeit mit der deutschen Schölly Fiberoptic und dem Fraunhofer Institut für Produktionsanlagen und Konstruktionstechnik den Preis. Dem Triebwerkhersteller ist es gelungen, die Lebensdauer der Turbinenschaufeln von Flugzeugen zu verlängern. In Triebwerken entstehen Temperaturen bis zu 1700° C. Damit die Schaufeln nicht schmelzen, werden sie durch winzige Kanäle mit Luft gekühlt. Sind diese Kühllöcher verstopft, verlieren die Schaufeln an Leistung. Basierend auf Erfahrungen der medizinischen Endoskopie hat Rolls-Royce eine Miniatur-Sonde entwickelt, die während der Wartung über Einspritzdüsen in den Motor eingeführt wird, um die Kühllöcher in den Schaufeln zu reinigen. Dabei richtet ein spezieller Reinigungskopf einen Wasserstrahl mit sehr hohem Druck (500 bar) auf die Schaufeln. Bis zu 360 Luftkühlungslöcher lassen sich so gleichzeitig reinigen, was die Betriebsdauer der Schaufeln um 20 bis 30 Prozent verlängert.

Brennstoffzelle statt Hilfstriebwerk

Mit dem „Hydrogen to Torque Imponator“ gewann Flugzeugbauer Airbus in der Kategorie „Emissionsreduktion“. Dahinter verbirgt sich ein neuartiges, mit Wasserstoff betriebenes Brennstoffzellen-System, das in Zukunft das Hilfstriebwerk (Auxiliary Power Unit, APU) im Heck des Flugzeugs ersetzen könnte. Die APU liefert Energie beispielsweise für Bordsysteme wie Klimaanlage und Elektrik. Bisher wird sie mit Kerosin betrieben. Die neuartige Antriebskonstruktion von Airbus treibt mit dem Strom der Brennstoffzelle ein elektrisches Minitriebwerk an, das die Aufgaben der APU übernehmen könnte. Ein Flugzeug könnte dadurch bis zu drei Prozent Kerosin einsparen und den CO2-Ausstoß entsprechend reduzieren.
Barnaby Law, Program Director Hydrogen and Fuel Cell, Wolfgang Engel, Expert Air Systems Physical Integration, und Claus Hoffjann, Expert Integrated Fuel Cell Technology (von li.), mit dem ausgezeichneten Brennstoffzellen-Demonstrator „Hydrogen to Torque (H2T) Imponator“.
Von außen ist die raffinierte Technologie kaum zu erahnen: Der „Hydrogen to Torque (H2T) Imponator“ von Airbus.

Von vernetzten Montageplätzen bis zur Datenbrille

Mit seiner kürzlich eröffneten Montagelinie für Flugzeugtürrahmen in Varel (Niedersachsen) überzeugte Luftfahrtzulieferer Premium Aerotec die Jury in der Kategorie „Industrie 4.0“. Mensch und Maschine arbeiten in der Hightech-Produktionshalle Hand in Hand mit digitalen Elementen. Unter anderem kommt ein hochmodernes Produktionsleitsystem zum Einsatz, das alle Bauplätze miteinander vernetzt. Über ein Touchpanel an der Werkbank können die Mitarbeiter sämtliche fertigungsrelevanten Daten abrufen. Papierunterlagen sind damit passé. Digitale Datenbrillen führen Qualitätsprüfern die Prüfmerkmale direkt vor Augen, erstellen Fotos vom Bauteil und speichern diese in einer digitalen Akte. Außerdem unterstützen autonome Transportfahrzeuge, Bohr- und Messroboter die Fertigung.
Bohr- und Messroboter, autonome Transportfahrzeuge, vernetzte Bauplätze – die neue Fertigungslinie bei Premium Aerotec ist auf dem neusten Stand der Technik.
Hinter dem Innovationspreis der deutschen Luftfahrt stehen der Bundesverband der Deutschen Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie (BDLI), der Bundesverband der Deutschen Luftverkehrswirtschaft (BDL), der Digitalverband Bitkom, das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), das Zentrum für Angewandte Luftfahrtforschung (ZAL) sowie der führende Anbieter von Beratungs- und Ingenieurdienstleistungen P3 group. Mehr zu den Preisträgern 2017 erfahren Sie hier.
Text von Gesine Oltmanns
Fotos: Premium Aerotec, edm aerotec, Airbus
Share This