“Humans and machines will interact as equal partners in the foreseeable future”

How will the airfreight airport of the future look like? Researchers at the Fraunhofer Institute for Material Flow and Logistics (IML) are trying to answer this question. Dr. Ralf-Maximilian Jungkunz, head of aviation logistics at Fraunhofer IML, presented this vision of the future airfreight airport at the Frankfurt Air Cargo Innovation Lab 2017. In an interview at www.innoFRAtor.com, the air cargo expert explains how digital transformation is fundamentally changing airfreight processes, which strategies and business models market participants can apply to prepare themselves for the future, and how people and intelligent machines will work together in the near future.
Dr. Jungkunz, the buzzword “digitization” was on everyone’s lips at the 2017 Frankfurt Air Cargo Innovation Lab. How is digital transformation affecting air cargo processes?
An ongoing digital transformation will be an enabler to completely reorganize processes in order to achieve even more cost-efficient air cargo services. Furthermore, highly networked air cargo processes enable new business models for existing market participants and new market players but will change the requirements for infrastructure and traffic routes significantly. IT concepts offer real-time access to all relevant data – and thus a fast, lean and seamless air cargo flow. In general, data will control the overall cargo process and people will focus to intervene from time to time.
Fraunhofer’s illustration of the airfreight airport of the future.
How will humans and machines work together in the future?
In the foreseeable future, intelligent systems will reduce people’s workload, allowing them to increasingly focus on controlling tasks. The focus is on collaborative human-machine cooperation in which both interact as equal partners. The blue print for applying this to the industrial sector are the dynamic communication channels and social media that people are used to in their private lives. The social networks which interconnect people across national and cultural boundaries are decentralized, intuitive to use, scalable, emotional – and will be an integral part of everyday life. This concept is now being applied to the cooperation between humans and intelligent machines in order to attain the target of a digital and networked industry.

“A new way of human-machine interaction is making it possible to combine the positive unique selling points of people, their flexibility and creativity, with the efficiency of smart machines.”

Dr. Ralf-Maximilian Jungkunz, Head of Aviation Logistics, Fraunhofer IML
What are the mayor challenges airport operators are facing in the course of digitization?
An already visible trend to move traditional value-added processes away from the airport will increasingly lead to the availability of space and growth potential for higher-value infrastructure at airports and the need to market them. The space required for classic value-added processes outside the airport as well as for decentralized freight collection and distribution points for pre- and on-carriage is increasing and may need to be integrated into the business portfolio of airport operators if they want to participate in this market in the future. All those involved in the aviation logistics chain are operating in a demanding competitive environment that requires ongoing viable investments to be prepared for the future. Digitization should enable new services and help offer well-known products at lower prices. Since making decisions to invest in digital transformation is difficult for everyone, digitization is not simply a matter of course.
Driverless shuttles for the autonomous transport of goods, IoT solutions for smart airfreight containers, tablets for controlling logistics processes: The Fraunhofer Institute for Material Flow and Logistics is doing research into promising technologies for the airfreight airport of the future and turning them into innovative applications.
What sorts of technologies is the Fraunhofer IML developing for the airfreight airport of the future?
Our institute is creating numerous innovative applications for the airfreight airport of the future, including an autonomous shuttle for transporting freight between freight forwarders and handling agents on the airport. Other examples include electronic labels and an augmented reality demonstrator that will enable handling agents to assemble airfreight pallets with little experience faster. With DyCoNet, we also developed an Internet-of-Things solution that can be integrated as an retrofit into classic airfreight containers. This system collects and sends pressure, temperature, vibration and position data along the entire transport route, providing real-time information to support the required ground-based decision-making for risk management purposes. Another research project is dedicated to blockchain applications for the secure exchange of sensitive data in highly complex cooperative networks of legally independent actors.
Hands-on testing: the Fraunhofer IML’s AR demonstrator was made available for testing on the Tech Stage at the 2017 Frankfurt Air Cargo Innovation Lab.
What kind of application examples and best practices are already available?
Intelligent small containers that independently reorder goods, drones for in-house inventory and packing pattern generators for calculating the optimal packing density for retail logistics are all already in use. Fraunhofer IML is also developing and designing the digital future of logistics at its numerous enterprise labs in close cooperation with well-known industrial customers such as DB Schenker, DACHSER, WÜRTH, Deutsche Telekom and BMW.
Interview conducted by Benjamin Klare
Photos and illustrations: Tim Wegner, Fraunhofer IML

„In absehbarer Zeit interagieren Mensch und Maschine als gleichberechtigte Partner“

Wie sieht der Luftfrachtflughafen der Zukunft aus? Dieser Frage gehen die Forscher des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Materialfluss und Logistik (IML) auf den Grund. Dr. Ralf-Maximilian Jungkunz, Abteilungsleiter Luftverkehrslogistik beim Fraunhofer IML, präsentierte das Zukunftsbild eines Luftfrachtflughafens beim Frankfurt Air Cargo Innovation Lab 2017. Im Interview auf www.innoFRAtor.com erklärt der Air Cargo-Experte, wie die fortschreitende digitale Transformation Luftfrachtprozesse grundlegend verändert, mit welchen Strategien und Geschäftsmodellen sich Marktteilnehmer für die Zukunft wappnen können und wie Menschen und Maschinen künftig zusammenarbeiten werden.
Herr Dr. Jungkunz, das Schlagwort „Digitalisierung“ war auch beim Frankfurt Air Cargo Innovation Lab 2017 in aller Munde. Wie beeinflusst die digitale Transformation Air Cargo-Prozesse?
Die fortschreitende digitale Transformation wird den Vor-, Haupt- und Nachlauf völlig neu ordnen und zu smarteren, kosteneffizienteren und hoch vernetzten Air Cargo-Prozessen führen. Hoch automatisierte Handling-Prozesse ermöglichen neue Geschäftsmodelle für die Beteiligten und verändern die Anforderungen an Infrastruktur und Verkehrswege. IT-Konzepte bieten echtzeitbasierten Zugriff auf alle relevanten Daten – und damit im Sinne eines sogenannten Seamless Air Cargo-Flows eine schnelle und schlanke Abwicklung. Allgemein steuern Daten den Gesamtprozess, Menschen müssen nur noch vereinzelt eingreifen.
Fraunhofer-Illustration des Luftfrachtflughafens der Zukunft.
Wie werden Mensch und Maschine künftig zusammenarbeiten?
In absehbarer Zukunft wird der Mensch durch intelligente Systeme in seiner Arbeit entlastet und übernimmt zunehmend steuernde Aufgaben. Im Vordergrund steht eine kollaborative Mensch-Maschine-Zusammenarbeit, bei der beide als gleichberechtigte Partner interagieren. Vorbild für die Entwicklungen im industriellen Bereich sind die dynamischen Kommunikationswege, die Menschen in ihrem privaten Leben wie selbstverständlich nutzen. Soziale Netzwerke verbinden sie über Länder- und Kulturgrenzen hinweg, sind dezentral, intuitiv bedienbar, skalierbar, emotional – und fester Bestandteil des Alltags. Dieses Konzept wird nun auf die Zusammenarbeit von Menschen und Maschinen übertragen, um das Zielbild einer digitalen und vernetzten Industrie zu erreichen.

„Durch eine neue Form der Mensch-Maschine-Kommunikation wird es möglich, die positiven Alleinstellungsmerkmale von Menschen, ihre Flexibilität und Kreativität, mit der Effizienz von Maschinen zu kombinieren.“

Dr. Ralf-Maximilian Jungkunz, Abteilungsleiter Luftverkehrslogistik, Fraunhofer IML
Mit welchen Herausforderungen sehen sich Flughafenbetreiber im Zuge der Digitalisierung konfrontiert?
Ein schon heute sichtbarer Trend zur Verlagerung klassischer Wertschöpfungsprozesse weg vom Flughafen wird zunehmend dazu führen, dass Flächen und Wachstumspotenziale für höherwertige Infrastruktur an Flughäfen zur Verfügung stehen und vermarktet werden müssen. Der Flächenbedarf für klassische Wertschöpfungsprozesse außerhalb des Flughafens wie auch für dezentrale Sammel- und Verteilpunkte der Fracht für den Vor- und Nachlauf steigt und muss gegebenenfalls in das Geschäftsportfolio des Flughafenbetreibers integriert werden, wenn dieser zukünftig an diesem Markt partizipieren will. Alle Beteiligten der Luftverkehrs-Logistikkette bewegen sich in einem anspruchsvollen Wettbewerbsumfeld, das fortlaufend tragfähige Investitionen zur Sicherstellung der Zukunftssicherheit erfordert. Digitalisierung soll neue Dienstleistungen ermöglichen und dazu beitragen, bekannte Produkte günstiger anzubieten. Entscheidungen über Investitionen in die digitale Transformation sind aber für alle schwierig. Digitalisierung ist also kein Selbstläufer.
Fahrerlose Shuttle zum autonomen Transport von Gütern, IoT-Lösungen für smarte Luftfrachtcontainer, Tablets für die Steuerung logistischer Prozesse: Am Fraunhofer-Institut für Materialfluss und Logistik werden vielversprechende Technologien für den Luftfrachtflughafen der Zukunft erforscht und in innovative Anwendungen überführt.
Welche Technologien entwickelt das Fraunhofer IML für den Luftfrachtflughafen der Zukunft?
An unserem Institut entstehen zahlreiche innovative Anwendungen für den Luftfrachtflughafen der Zukunft, darunter etwa ein autonomer Shuttle zum Transport von Frachtstücken zwischen Spediteuren und Handling-Agenten. Weitere Beispiele sind elektronische Etiketten und ein Augmented Reality-Demonstrator, mit dem Handling-Agenten zukünftig dank Augmented Reality-Unterstützung auch mit geringem Vorwissen Luftfrachtpaletten sehr schnell aufbauen können. Darüber hinaus entwickeln wir mit DyCoNet eine Internet-der-Dinge-Lösung, die in klassische Luftfrachtcontainer integriert werden kann. Während des gesamten Transportweges sammelt und sendet dieses System Druck, Temperatur, Vibrationen und Position und liefert so Echtzeit-Informationen, um im Sinne eines Risk-Managements die erforderlichen Entscheidungsprozesse am Boden zu unterstützen. Ein weiteres Forschungsprojekt widmet sich Blockchain-Applikationen für den gesicherten Austausch von sensitiven Daten in hochkomplexen Kooperationsnetzwerken rechtlich unabhängiger Akteure.
Anfassen und Ausprobieren: Auf der Tech Stage beim Frankfurt Air Cargo Innovation Lab 2017 konnte der AR-Demonstrator vom Fraunhofer IML getestet werden.
Welche Anwendungsbeispiele und Best Practices gibt es bereits?
Bereits im Einsatz sind unter anderem intelligente Kleinbehälter, die Waren selbständig nachbestellen, Drohnen für die Inhouse-Inventur und Packmustergeneratoren zur Berechnung der optimalen Packungsdichte für die Handelslogistik. Darüber hinaus entwickelt und gestaltet das Fraunhofer IML in seinen zahlreichen Enterprise Labs die digitale Zukunft der Logistik in enger Kooperation mit namhaften Industriekunden, zu denen etwa DB Schenker, DACHSER, WÜRTH, die Deutsche Telekom und BMW zählen.

Die Fragen stellte Benjamin Klare
Fotos und Illustrationen: Tim Wegner, Fraunhofer IML

Share This