Project Loon by Google: Internet Balloons Ensure Broadband Coverage

They fly way up high at an altitude of 20 kilometers and have already travelled more than 30 million kilometers around the globe. We are talking about Internet balloons from Loon, a subsidiary of Google’s parent company Alphabet. Loon is working together with the telecommunications provider Telkom Kenya and wants to use the balloons commercially for the first time in Africa in 2019. The goal is to provide Internet access to people living in the mountainous and difficult-to-access regions in Kenya where it would take too much effort to establish a terrestrial network. The Loon service is designed to close the gap in supply by providing the state-of-the-art 4G/LTE mobile communication standard in these regions.

According to the International Telecommunication Union, one in six people around the world lives out of reach of mobile broadband services and only one in two people has access to the Internet. According to a recent report by the United Nations Broadband Commission (UN), being connected to the digital world, for example, being able to use broadband services and high-speed Internet, plays an important role in improving people’s living conditions and promoting economic growth, especially in less developed countries. The Loon balloons act as “flying cell phone towers” and are an innovative concept that’s now being put to use in real life. They are filled with gas, powered by solar energy, and serve as floating broadcast stations, offering a whole host of ways they can be used: Not only can they extend Internet connectivity to rural areas, but they can also improve grid stability in the event of a disaster.

The technology was developed in the Alphabet Innovation Lab X, and initial test flights took place in 2013 in Nevada and New Zealand. The balloons proved their worth in practical application at the beginning of 2017 during a disastrous flood in Peru: Loon worked with the government and telecommunications provider Telefonica to improve grid stability in areas hit by the flood.

Loon Launcher: A new balloon can be launched from earth into the stratosphere every 30 minutes. The ramp’s high side walls protect the balloon against wind when it is being filled and brought into the launch position.

Loon: How Internet Balloons Work and Why They Are Beneficial

The 12 x 15 meter Loon balloons are sent up into the stratosphere so that they aren’t affected by the weather and can stay out of the way of air traffic. 20 kilometers above the ground, an algorithm developed by Google ensures that the balloon can act autonomously, meaning it can go up and down on its own as well as adjust its position. The balloons are able to communicate with each other and thereby form a complete communication network.

While a cell tower’s broadcasting area is limited by the height of its antennae, the balloons floating above the clouds can provide Internet connectivity at connection speeds of up to 10 Mbit/s over a much larger area. 40 kilometers is the current range in which a balloon can provide Internet via LTE. According to the company, the balloon can stay in the air for more than 100 days.

Each balloon’s position is tracked using GPS and coordinated by the Loon team in consultation with local air traffic control. If a balloon is taken out of service, the gas that keeps it up in the air is then released and a parachute is automatically deployed. The balloon is brought down in a controlled manner in sparsely populated areas and then recycled or reused.

Text by Benjamin Klare
Photos: iLite (Flickr/CC BY 2.0), X, Loon

Google-Projekt Loon: Internet-Ballons stellen Breitbandversorgung sicher

Sie fliegen in 20 Kilometern Höhe und sind bis heute bereits mehr als 30 Millionen Kilometer um die Welt gereist. Die Rede ist von Internet-Ballons der Firma Loon, einer Tochtergesellschaft der Google-Mutter Alphabet. Zusammen mit dem Telekommunikationsanbieter Telkom Kenia will Loon die Ballons 2019 erstmals kommerziell in Afrika einsetzen. Ziel ist es, den Menschen in bergigen und unzugänglichen Regionen Kenias Zugang zum Internet zu ermöglichen, in denen der Aufwand für ein terrestrisches Netz zu groß wäre. Der Loon-Dienst soll diese Versorgungslücke schließen und dort den aktuellen 4G/LTE-Mobilfunkstandard bereitstellen.

Nach Angaben der Internationalen Fernmeldeunion lebt weltweit jeder sechste Mensch außerhalb der Reichweite von mobilen Breitbanddiensten und nur jeder zweite Mensch verfügt über Zugang zum Internet. Der Anschluss an die digitale Welt, also die Möglichkeit, Breitbanddienste und  schnelles Internet zu nutzen, spielt jedoch für die Verbesserung der Lebensgrundlagen der Menschen und das Wirtschaftswachstums gerade in wenig entwickelten Ländern eine wichtige Rolle, wie ein aktueller Bericht der Breitbandkommission der Vereinten Nationen (UNO) zeigt. Die als „fliegende Mobilfunkmasten“ fungierenden Loon-Ballons sind ein innovativer Ansatz, diese Erkenntnis nun in der Praxis umzusetzen. Mit Gas gefüllt und solarbetrieben, dienen sie als schwebende Relaisstationen und bieten vielfältige Einsatzmöglichkeiten: Sie können nicht nur die Internet-Konnektivität auf ländliche Gebiete ausdehnen, sondern auch die Netzstabilität im Katastrophenfall verbessern.

Entwickelt wurde die Technologie im Alphabet-Innovationslabor X. Erste Probeflüge fanden 2013 in Nevada und in Neuseeland statt. Im Praxiseinsatz bewährt haben sich die Ballons Anfang 2017 bei einer Flutkatastrophe in Peru: In Kooperation mit der Regierung und dem Telekommunikationsanbieter Telefonica verbesserte Loon die Netzstabilität in den betroffenen Überschwemmungsgebieten.

Loon Launcher: Alle 30 Minuten kann ein neuer Ballon vom Boden aus in die Stratosphäre starten. Die hohen Seitenwände der Rampe schützen vor Wind, wenn der Ballon gefüllt und in die Startposition gehoben wird.

Loon: Vorteile und Funktionsweise der Internet-Ballons

Um unabhängig vom Wetter agieren zu können und keine Gefahr für den Flugverkehr darzustellen, steigen die 12 Meter hohen und 15 Meter breiten Loon-Ballons bis in die Stratosphäre auf. Dort, 20 Kilometer über dem Erdboden, sorgt ein von Google entwickelter Algorithmus dafür, dass der Ballon autonom agieren, also selbstständig auf- und absteigen und seine Position anpassen kann. Die Einheiten können untereinander kommunizieren und dadurch ein vollständiges Kommunikationsnetzwerk aufbauen.

Während der Sendebereich eines Mobilfunkmastes durch die Höhe seiner Antennen begrenzt wird, können die über den Wolken schwebenden Ballons Internet-Konnektivität mit Verbindungsgeschwindigkeiten von bis zu 10 Mbit/s über eine deutlich größere Fläche herstellen. Die aktuelle Reichweite, in der ein Ballon Internet über LTE bereitstellen kann, beträgt 40 Kilometer. In der Luft bleiben kann er Unternehmensangaben zufolge länger als 100 Tage.

Die Position jedes Ballons wird mithilfe von GPS getrackt und vom Loon-Team in Abstimmung mit der lokalen Flugsicherung koordiniert. Soll ein Ballon außer Betrieb genommen werden, wird das Gas freigesetzt, das ihn in der Luft hält, und automatisch ein Fallschirm entfaltet. Der kontrollierte Abstieg des Flugkörpers, der anschließend recycelt oder sogar wiederverwendet werden kann, erfolgt auf möglichst dünn besiedelten Gebieten.

Text von Benjamin Klare
Fotos: iLite (Flickr/CC BY 2.0), X, Loon

Share This