Freightos: The online freight marketplace

Booking a rental car? Takes only a few minutes online. Compare the prices of electrical appliances or buy fashion items? Everything goes smoothly and quickly on the Internet. Rate comparisons and bookings have only been a tedious and time-consuming task in the transport business – especially when it comes to the first and last mile of door-to-door deliveries. Founded in 2012, the start-up Freightos now wants to bring more speed and convenience into global logistics with its comparison portal.

“Freightos makes freight shipments as easy to book as a hotel room.”

Dr. Philip von Mecklenburg-Blumenthal

Israeli-British entrepreneur, Zvi Schreiber, who has already successfully launched several innovative start-ups, was apparently tired of the outdated and lengthy logistics processes involved in shipping goods between Europe, the US and China. It used to take several days to merely obtain price quotes for shipping. Based on this experience, Schreiber developed the concept of a platform that allows freight forwarders to offer their services and shippers to conveniently book and pay for these services online. This business idea laid the foundation for the company Freightos: “We aim to become something like Expedia for the freight business,” said Schreiber, outlining his objective at the time.

Price comparison even for door-to-door shipments

Today, Freightos provides more than two million current price points from over 80 logistics service providers on its “Marketplace”. Free of charge. It takes only a few seconds to calculate the best price and service offer for the desired route – including for door-to-door shipments involving several transport companies. For the customer, a single forwarding agent is the responsible contact person. The advantages for shippers are obvious: You get complete door-to-door rates with customs and insurance fees, and you can then compare them, book directly and upload the required documents. Booking thus takes only a few minutes instead of several days. Ratings and reviews help you decide on an offer.

Millennials prefer online orders

All freight companies that want to be listed on the Freightos Marketplace are subject to strict quality guidelines: “We carry out an audit with every logistics service provider that checks both quality and internal processes. Nobody benefits if the shipper obtains a rate in seconds, but it then takes several days to book with the carrier,” explained Philip von Mecklenburg-Blumenthal, Senior Director Marketplace at Freightos and Speaker at the Frankfurt Air Cargo Innovation Lab 2017. “We want to ensure that shippers can immediately receive the confirmation from the carrier and pick up the freight documents on site. It should also be possible to closely track all shipments. This is usually only guaranteed today while the cargo is underway.”

Even though many logistics companies continue to rely on Excel spreadsheets when calculating offers and send paper freight documents, the eventual triumph of online freight booking appears to be unstoppable. “50 percent of the decision-makers will be millennials by 2020,” predicts Mecklenburg-Blumenthal. “This group is used to placing orders online. Some freight forwarders have already realized that they are not reaching this customer group with their current approach of selling transport capacity. Participating in the Freightos Marketplace is an easy way to offer rates without your own online portal.”

Text by Bernd Maresch
Screenshot and photo: Freightos

Freightos: The online freight marketplace

Einen Mietwagen buchen? In ein paar Minuten online erledigt. Die Preise von Elektrogeräten vergleichen oder Modeartikel kaufen? Geht alles problemlos und schnell im Internet. Nur im Transportgeschäft waren Raten-Vergleiche und Buchungen bislang eine mühsame und zeitaufwendige Angelegenheit – insbesondere wenn es um die erste und letzte Meile bei Door-to-Door-Lieferungen geht. Das 2012 gegründete Start-up Freightos will nun mit seinem Vergleichsportal mehr Schwung und Komfort in die weltweite Logistik bringen.
„Mit Freightos lässt sich eine Frachtsendung so einfach wie ein Hotelzimmer buchen.“
Dr. Philip von Mecklenburg-Blumenthal
Der israelisch-britische Unternehmer Zvi Schreiber, der bereits mehrere innovative Start-ups erfolgreich auf den Weg gebracht hat, ärgerte sich nach eigenem Bekunden über veraltete und langwierige Logistik-Prozesse beim Warenversand zwischen Europa, den USA und China. So dauerte es allein schon mehrere Tage, Preisangebote für den Transport einzuholen. Aus dieser Erfahrung entwickelte Schreiber das Konzept einer Plattform, auf der Spediteure ihre Dienste anbieten und Verlader diese Leistungen komfortabel online buchen und bezahlen können. Mit dieser Geschäftsidee war der Grundstein für das Unternehmen Freightos gelegt: „Wir wollen so etwas wie Expedia für das Frachtgeschäft werden“, umriss Schreiber damals sein Ziel.

Preisvergleich auch für Door-to-Door-Shipments

Heute stellt Freightos über seinen sogenannten Marketplace mehr als zwei Millionen aktuelle Preispunkte von über 80 Logistikdienstleistern bereit. Kostenlos. Binnen weniger Sekunden ist es möglich, für die gewünschte Route das optimale Preis- und Leistungsangebot zu kalkulieren – auch für Door-to-Door-Shipments, bei denen mehrere Transportunternehmen involviert sind. Für den Kunden bleibt ein einziger Spediteur der verantwortliche Ansprechpartner. Die Vorteile für Verlader liegen auf der Hand: Sie erhalten komplette Door-to-Door-Raten mit Zoll- und Versicherungsgebühren, können diese vergleichen, direkt buchen und die erforderlichen Dokumente hochladen. Statt mehrerer Tage nimmt eine Buchung so nur noch wenige Minuten in Anspruch. Ratings und Reviews helfen bei der Entscheidung für ein Angebot.

„Millennials“ bevorzugen Online-Bestellungen

Für alle Frachtunternehmen, die im Freightos Marketplace gelistet werden wollen, gelten strenge Qualitätsrichtlinien: „Wir führen mit jedem Logistikdienstleister ein Audit durch, das nicht nur auf die Qualität, sondern auch auf die internen Prozesse achtet. Es hilft niemandem, wenn der Verlader in Sekunden eine Rate erhält, dann aber die Buchung beim Carrier mehrere Tage dauert“, erläutert Dr. Philip von Mecklenburg-Blumenthal, Senior Director Marketplace bei Freightos und Speaker beim Frankfurt Air Cargo Innovation Lab 2017. „Wir wollen erreichen, dass Verlader zukünftig auch umgehend die Bestätigung vom Carrier bekommen und vor Ort die Frachtpapiere abholen können. Darüber hinaus soll es möglich sein, alle Sendungen genau zu verfolgen. Dies ist heutzutage meist nur gewährleistet, während die Fracht bewegt wird.“
Auch wenn viele Logistikunternehmen bei der Kalkulation von Angeboten nach wie vor auf Excel-Tabellen setzen und die Frachtdokumente in Papierform verschicken, scheint der Siegeszug der Online-Frachtbuchung dennoch kaum aufzuhalten. „Im Jahr 2020 werden 50 Prozent der Entscheidungsträger Millennials sein“, prognostiziert von Mecklenburg-Blumenthal. „Diese Gruppe ist es gewohnt, online Bestellungen aufzugeben. Einige Spediteure haben erkannt, dass sie diese Kundengruppe mit ihrem Flächenverkauf nicht erreichen. Die Teilnahme am Freightos Marketplace ist ein einfacher Schritt, Raten ohne eigenes Online-Portal anzubieten.“
Text von Bernd Maresch
Screenshot und Foto: Freightos
Share This