Fraport tests the deployment of driverless vehicles

More than six million passengers, over two million tons of freight and almost half a million flights per year: Frankfurt Airport is one of the most significant aviation hubs in the world. The airport has a total of more than 14,800 meters of takeoff and landing strips which must be kept in top condition and free from snow and ice in winter. In an innovative pilot project conducted in cooperation with Daimler AG, Fraport is now testing how automated snow-removal equipment can be implemented in practice.
On the site of the former air base Pferdsfeld, four Mercedes-Benz Aroc tractors will be used within the automated operation of the airfield and integrated into a remote-controlled network for cleaning purposes as part of a project entitled “Automated Airfield Ground Maintenance” (AAGM). This technology may be implemented at Frankfurt Airport in future, which is operated by Fraport, the company which formulated the test requirements. At the airport, up to 13 snow-removal vehicles are currently operated side by side or in a staggered manner in order to clear the runways, which are 60 to 70 meters wide. The drivers belong to a team of around 900 employees who are ready to get to work around the clock at Frankfurt Airport as part of the winter service. The significant outlay required for this in terms of staffing and logistics could be vastly reduced using an automated snow-removal operation.

Driverless snow-removal vehicles stand up to inclement weather conditions

While drivers of conventional clearing vehicles are often faced with unfavorable visibility conditions as a result of snow being whirled up by the driver in front and must constantly ensure that they maintain the precise required distance from the other vehicles in the convoy, driverless snow-removal vehicles get the job done quickly, with precision and without any problems, whatever the weather. The routes to be cleared are pre-mapped and are adhered to both by the lead vehicle and the following convoy members using a differential GPS with a tolerance of only three centimeters and through constant target/actual comparisons.
Using an eight-meter snowplow attached to the front of the vehicle, the main mass of the snow is displaced to one side at speed. The more dexterous tasks involved with cleaning the route are carried out using a sweeper and an air jet, referred to as a jet sweeper. It is transported along as an articulated trailer.
“We are delighted to be one of the first airports in the world to be able to use our expertise to make a contribution to this innovative project,” said Mathias Dudek, Head of Infrastructural Facility Management at Fraport AG. “We are hoping that this will help us to obtain knowledge which will assist us in planning future use of the equipment with greater precision and efficiency if wintry weather descends unexpectedly. Our commitment once again highlights the role of Fraport AG as an innovation driver in the most diverse of areas.”

Testing driverless minibuses in real traffic

Whereas the automated snow-removal equipment is being tested out in non-public areas, Fraport has also tested the use of highly automated vehicles in mixed traffic on a popular road within the airport for the first time as part of an additional pilot project. In October 2017, driverless minibuses operated using electric engines were deployed on the company grounds in collaboration with R+V Versicherung AG. Employees of the airport operator were able to use the shuttles to go to the canteen at lunchtime, for example. In the long-term, it is also possible that automated passenger buses may be operated.

The first test field was a route of 1.5 kilometers in length which runs between Terminal 1 and 2. Around 2,600 vehicles use this road on a daily basis – of which almost half are trucks. In-house vehicles and transportation also use the road, for example, almost 1,000 freight tugs that pass a lock on the route to and from the apron each day. In order to test the driverless vehicles in as widely diverse traffic situations as possible, R+V intends to try out the shuttle buses at different locations following the successful test at Frankfurt Airport. After the approval procedure has been completed, they are to be used on public roads.

Research project on autonomous driving at Frankfurt Airport: At 4.75 meters long and 2.11 meters in width, these minibuses are not much larger than the average transporter but their height exceeds that of most of these vehicles at 2.75 meters.
Anke Giesen, Executive Director Operations, Fraport AG
“As part of our research project, we want to obtain precise insights into the opportunities and risks involved with autonomous vehicles – based on our own data,” said Norbert Rollinger, CEO of R+V Versicherung AG. “We are expecting this technology to enhance the planning of our processes, improving them and making them more flexible,” added Anke Giesen, Executive Director Operations, Fraport AG. “In conjunction with R+V, the opportunity has arisen to test a vehicle which has previously been put through its paces by all of the authorities in the highly complex real traffic situation of our company site.”

The pilot project should contribute to answering outstanding questions concerning mobility in the future. This includes whether driverless cars and conventional vehicles can drive safely and without encountering problems on the same road or how high the level of acceptance is, both for passengers and other road users. The cooperation partners also hope to gain insights concerning the infrastructural support required by autonomous electric vehicles to operate in an optimal manner and which interactive options are made available for the operators and for users of autonomous vehicles.

Text by Benjamin Klare
Photos: Daimler, Fraport

Fraport testet Einsatz fahrerloser Fahrzeuge

Mehr als sechs Millionen Passagiere, über zwei Millionen Tonnen Fracht und nahezu eine halbe Million Flugbewegungen pro Jahr: Der Frankfurter Flughafen ist eines der weltweit bedeutendsten Luftfahrtdrehkreuze. Der Airport verfügt über insgesamt 14.800 Meter Start- und Landebahnen, die instand und im Winter schnee- und eisfrei gehalten werden müssen. In einem innovativen Pilotprojekt testet Fraport in Kooperation mit der Daimler AG jetzt, wie ein automatisierter Schneeräumeinsatz auf Flughäfen in der Praxis umgesetzt werden kann.
Unter dem Projekttitel „Automated Airfield Ground Maintenance“ (AAGM) werden auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Fliegerhorsts Pferdsfeld vier Mercedes-Benz Arocs Sattelzugmaschinen eingesetzt, die das Flugfeld automatisiert und im ferngesteuerten Verbund reinigen. Am Frankfurter Flughafen, dessen Betreiber Fraport die Testanforderungen formuliert hat, könnte die Technologie in Zukunft eingesetzt werden. Dort fahren derzeit bis zu 13 Schneeräumfahrzeuge parallel beziehungsweise versetzt nebeneinander, um die 60 bis 70 Meter breiten Runways frei zu räumen. Die Fahrer gehören zu einem Team von rund 900 Mitarbeitern, die am Frankfurter Flughafen im Winterdienst rund um die Uhr einsatzfähig sind. Dieser große personelle und logistische Aufwand könnte mit einem automatisierten Schneeräumeinsatz erheblich erleichtert werden.

Fahrerlose Schneeräumfahrzeuge trotzen widrigen Wetterbedingungen

Während die Fahrer konventioneller Räumeinheiten im Winter häufig widrigen Sichtbedingungen durch Schnee-Aufwirbelungen der Vorausfahrer ausgesetzt sind und unentwegt darauf achten müssen, den Abstand zu den anderen Fahrzeugen im Konvoi exakt einzuhalten, erledigen die fahrerlosen Schneeräumfahrzeuge die Arbeit bei jeder Witterung problemlos, schnell und hochgenau. Die Räumstrecken sind kartographisch vorge­geben und werden durch ein Differenzial-GPS mit einer Toleranz von lediglich drei Zentimetern sowohl vom Führungsfahrzeug als auch von den folgenden Konvoi-Mitgliedern durch permanenten Soll-Ist-Abgleich eingehalten.
Mit einem Acht-Meter-Schneepflug an der Fahrzeugfront wird die Hauptschneemasse bei zügiger Fahrt zur Seite geschoben. Die Feinarbeit der Fahrbahnreinigung übernehmen ein Kehrbesen und ein Gebläse, ein sogenanntes Kehr-Blas-Gerät. Es wird als Sattelauflieger mitgeführt.
„Wir freuen uns, als einer der ersten Flughäfen weltweit mit unserem Know-how an diesem innovativen Projekt mitzuwirken“, sagt Mathias Dudek, Leiter Infrastrukturelles Facility Management der Fraport AG. „Wir erhoffen uns dabei Erkenntnisse, die uns helfen, den zukünftigen Einsatz der Geräte bei einem spontanen Wintereinbruch noch präziser und effizien­ter planen zu können. Unser Engagement unterstreicht einmal mehr die Rolle der Fraport AG als Innovationstreiber in den verschiedensten Berei­chen.“

Test von selbstfahrenden Kleinbussen im Realverkehr

Während der automatisierte Schneeräumeinsatz auf nicht-öffentlichen Arealen erprobt wird, hat Fraport in einem weiteren Pilotprojekt erstmals auch den Einsatz hochautomatisierter Fahrzeuge im Mischverkehr auf einer belebten Straße am Flughafen getestet. Im Oktober 2017 wurden in Kooperation mit der R+V Versicherung AG selbstfahrende und von einem Elektromotor angetriebene Kleinbusse auf dem Betriebsgelände eingesetzt. Mitarbeiter des Flughafenbetreibers konnten die Shuttles beispielsweise dafür nutzen, um mittags in die Kantine zu fahren. Langfristig wäre auch ein Einsatz automatisierter Passagierbusse denkbar.

Das erste Testfeld war eine 1,5 Kilometer lange Strecke, die zwischen Terminal 1 und 2 verläuft. Täglich fahren dort rund 2600 Fahrzeuge – davon fast die Hälfte Lkw. Hinzu kommen innerbetriebliche Fahrzeuge und Transporte, beispielsweise knapp 1000 Frachtschlepper, die pro Tag eine an der Strecke gelegene Schleuse vom und zum Vorfeld passieren. Um die selbstfahrenden Fahrzeuge in möglichst unterschiedlichen Verkehrssituationen zu erproben, will R+V die Shuttlebusse nach dem erfolgreichen Test am Frankfurter Flughafen in den nächsten Monaten auch an anderen Orten erproben. Nach Abschluss des Zulassungsverfahrens sollen sie auf öffentlichen Straßen eingesetzt werden.

Forschungsprojekt zum autonomen Fahren am Flughafen Frankfurt: Mit 4,75 Metern Länge und 2,11 Metern Breite sind die Kleinbusse nicht viel größer als ein durchschnittlicher Transporter, überragen aber mit einer Höhe von 2,75 Metern die meisten dieser Fahrzeuge.
Anke Giesen, Vorstand Operations, Fraport AG
„Mit unserem Forschungsprojekt wollen wir präzise Erkenntnisse zu den Chancen und Risiken autonomer Fahrzeuge gewinnen – und zwar auf Basis eigener Daten“, sagt Norbert Rollinger, Vorstandsvorsitzender der R+V Versicherung AG. „Wir versprechen uns von dieser Technologie insbesondere eine bessere und flexiblere Planbarkeit unserer Prozesse“, ergänzt Anke Giesen, Fraport-Vorstand Operations. „Mit R+V hat sich die Möglichkeit ergeben, ein vorab durch alle Instanzen geschicktes Fahrzeug in dem hochkomplexen Realverkehr unseres Betriebsgeländes zu testen.“

Das Pilotprojekt soll dazu beitragen, offene Fragen auf dem Weg in die Mobilität der Zukunft zu beantworten. Darunter etwa, ob selbstfahrende Autos und konventionelle Fahrzeuge problemlos und sicher gemeinsam auf der gleichen Straße fahren können oder wie hoch die Akzeptanz sowohl bei Mitfahrern als auch bei anderen Verkehrsteilnehmern ist. Erkenntnisse erhoffen sich die Kooperationspartner auch darüber, welche infrastrukturelle Unterstützung autonome Elektrofahrzeuge für einen optimalen Betrieb benötigen und welche interaktiven Möglichkeiten sich für die Betreiber und Nutzer autonomer Fahrzeuge ergeben.

Text von Benjamin Klare
Fotos: Daimler, Fraport
Share This