Use of Digital Technologies Determines Economic Success

In 2025, machines will complete more work stages than people. This is the prediction made by the World Economic Forum in its new report “Future of Jobs 2018”. According to the report, the rapid development of machines and algorithms could create 133 million new tasks in the workplace. At the same time, a redistribution of work between people, machines and algorithms will displace 75 million functions by 2022.

“Companies will need to invest in their human capital to ensure they remain dynamic, differentiated and competitive in the age of machines. Without proactive approaches, businesses and employees could allow the economic potential of the fourth industrial revolution to pass them by,” says Saadia Zahidi, Head of the Centre for the New Economy and Society at the World Economic Forum. The report shows that all industries will have to grapple with their employees’ considerable skills gaps in the course of the digital transformation. According to the report, the aviation, travel and tourism industries will have the greatest need for professional development and training between 2018 and 2022, as new technologies are implemented on a significant scale. These include the internet of things, app and web-based marketplaces, big data analyses, machine learning and cloud computing in particular.

“First movers” in the Field of Robotization

Adoption among companies by 2022

%

Humanoid Robots

%

Stationary Robots

%

Aerial and Underwater Robots

%

Non-humanoid Land Robots

First movers

%

Financial Services and Investors

%

Automotive, Aerospace, Supply Chain

%

Oil and Gas

%

Automotive, Aerospace, Supply Chain

In the near future, the economic success of a company will therefore depend on how quickly it can successfully implement new technologies. Management consultants PwC have come to this conclusion, too. They reported that the German economy could grow by more than eleven percent by 2030 thanks to artificial intelligence (AI) alone. In total, this would amount to around 430 billion euros. This is the result of a detailed analysis of the situation in German as part of the PwC study “Sizing the prize. What‘s the real value of AI for your business and how can you capitalise?”. According to this study, new, innovative and more user-oriented products will stimulate demand and thereby constitute up to 60 percent of the AI-related economic growth. Improvements in efficiency achieved using AI technologies will also have an effect, albeit somewhat weaker.

Artificial Intelligence has the Potential to be a Game Changer

To analyze the effects of artificial intelligence on the products and services of different industries, PwC worked with market representatives and the Fraunhofer Society to create the “Artificial Intelligence Impact Index”. This was based on an analysis of credible examples of potential AI applications in a variety of industries, which were evaluated qualitatively by market and technology experts. According to this analysis, the car industry and healthcare sector will be the most severely affected, with 3.7 points each on a scale of 1 to 5. Next in line are the finance industry (3.3) and the transport and logistics sector (3.2). “Artificial intelligence will have a disruptive effect on numerous industries,” says Christian Kirschniak, Head of Data & Analytics Advisory PwC Europe. Companies which do not adjust quickly enough and adapt to new technologies run the risk of being overtaken by more agile and innovative competitors.”

What’s the potential impact for your sector?

PwC’s Impact Index (5 = biggest Impact, 1 = smallest Impact)

Healthcare 3.7

  • Adoption maturity – Near term (0-3 yr) 38% 38%
  • Adoption maturity – Mid term (3-7 yr) 23% 23%
  • Adoption maturity – Long term (7+ yr) 40% 40%

Automotive 3.7

  • Adoption maturity – Near term (0-3 yr) 35% 35%
  • Adoption maturity – Mid term (3-7 yr) 47% 47%
  • Adoption maturity – Long term (7+ yr) 18% 18%

Financial Services 3.3

  • Adoption maturity – Near term (0-3 yr) 41% 41%
  • Adoption maturity – Mid term (3-7 yr) 59% 59%
  • Adoption maturity – Long term (7+ yr) 0% 0%

Transportation and Logistics 3.2

  • Adoption maturity – Near term (0-3 yr) 42% 42%
  • Adoption maturity – Mid term (3-7 yr) 42% 42%
  • Adoption maturity – Long term (7+ yr) 17% 17%

Technology, Communications and Entertainment 3.1

  • Adoption maturity – Near term (0-3 yr) 48% 48%
  • Adoption maturity – Mid term (3-7 yr) 36% 36%
  • Adoption maturity – Long term (7+ yr) 17% 17%

Retail 3.0

  • Adoption maturity – Near term (0-3 yr) 54% 54%
  • Adoption maturity – Mid term (3-7 yr) 38% 38%
  • Adoption maturity – Long term (7+ yr) 8% 8%

Energy 2.2

  • Adoption maturity – Near term (0-3 yr) 39% 39%
  • Adoption maturity – Mid term (3-7 yr) 44% 44%
  • Adoption maturity – Long term (7+ yr) 17% 17%

Manufacturing 2.2

  • Adoption maturity – Near term (0-3 yr) 14% 14%
  • Adoption maturity – Mid term (3-7 yr) 83% 83%
  • Adoption maturity – Long term (7+ yr) 3% 3%
Having recognized that artificial intelligence is not only a key technology, but also a driver for economic development, the German government has decided on the main points of a national strategy. This strategy should raise the research, development and application of artificial intelligence in Germany to a world-leading level. “Artificial intelligence is not just any new technology – it is a basic innovation which will completely transform and improve our economy and our lives overall,” explains Federal Minister of Economics and Technology, Peter Altmaier. “This is why we want artificial intelligence applications to be developed and implemented here in Germany and Europe, not just anywhere in the world.”

Bitkom: Established Businesses Should Cooperate with Start-ups

“We welcome the German government’s plans to make artificial intelligence a main focus of its technological and economic policies. Now it is important that it happens quickly, that programs are developed rapidly and that policies are then put into practice immediately,” says Achim Berg, President of the Federal Association for Digital Technology Bitkom. Introducing revolutionary technologies like AI, however, is not easy for many established businesses. Structures developed over years and decades often stand in the way. In these cases, cooperating with start-ups could be helpful. Berg says: “They bring in innovative technologies and new ideas – and can help breathe new life into these businesses.” According to a current Bitkom survey, 4 out of 10 German start-ups are already using artificial intelligence. Without AI and data analysis, 96 percent of start-ups think the economic success of German companies is under threat. “Established businesses, as well as politicians, would also be well advised to take this estimate to heart,” says the Bitkom President.

Text by Benjamin Klare
Symbol photo: Pixabay
Infografics: World Economic Forum, PwC

Share This

Einsatz digitaler Technologien bestimmt über wirtschaftlichen Erfolg

Im Jahr 2025 werden Maschinen mehr Arbeitsschritte erledigen als Menschen. Das prognostiziert das Weltwirtschaftsforum in seinem neuen Report „Future of Jobs 2018“. Dem Bericht zufolge könnte die rasante Entwicklung von Maschinen und Algorithmen am Arbeitsplatz 133 Millionen neue Aufgaben entstehen lassen. Gleichzeitig werden bis 2022 durch eine Neuverteilung der Arbeit zwischen Mensch, Maschine und Algorithmen 75 Millionen Funktionen verdrängt.

„Damit Unternehmen im Zeitalter der Maschinen dynamisch, differenziert und wettbewerbsfähig bleiben, müssen sie in ihr Humankapital investieren. Ohne proaktive Ansätze könnten Unternehmen und Arbeitnehmer das wirtschaftliche Potenzial der Vierten Industriellen Revolution ungenutzt verstreichen lassen“, sagt Saadia Zahidi, die beim Weltwirtschaftsforum das Centre for the New Economy and Society leitet. Der Report zeigt, dass sich sämtliche Branchen im Zuge des digitalen Wandels mit erheblichen Qualifikationsdefiziten der Angestellten auseinandersetzen müssen. Die Luftfahrt-, Reise- und Tourismusindustrie haben dem Report zufolge zwischen 2018 und 2022 den größten Fortbildungs- und Schulungsbedarf. In diesem Zeitraum würden dort neue Technologien in großem Stil Einzug halten, darunter vor allem das Internet der Dinge, App- und webbasierte Marktplätze, Big Data-Analysen, maschinelles Lernen und Cloud Computing.   

„First movers“ im Bereich der Roboterisierung

Adoption among companies by 2022

%

Humanoid Robots

%

Stationary Robots

%

Aerial and Underwater Robots

%

Non-humanoid Land Robots

First movers

%

Financial Services and Investors

%

Automotive, Aerospace, Supply Chain

%

Oil and Gas

%

Automotive, Aerospace, Supply Chain

Der wirtschaftliche Erfolg eines Unternehmens wird also bereits in naher Zukunft davon abhängen, wie schnell es neue Technologien erfolgreich implementieren kann. Zu diesem Schluss kommt auch die Unternehmensberatung PwC, die ermittelt hat, dass die deutsche Wirtschaft allein dank Künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) bis zum Jahr 2030 um mehr als elf Prozent wachsen dürfte. In Summe entspräche das rund 430 Milliarden Euro. Das ist das Ergebnis einer detaillierten Deutschland-Auswertung der globalen PwC-Studie „Sizing the prize. What‘s the real value of AI for your business and how can you capitalise?“ (AI = Artificial Intelligence). Demnach würden neue, innovative und nutzerorientiertere Produkte die Nachfrage ankurbeln und somit nahezu 60 Prozent des KI-bedingten Wirtschaftswachstums ausmachen. Ein weiterer, etwas schwächerer Effekt sind die Effizienzgewinne, die durch KI-Technologien entstehen.

Künstliche Intelligenz hat das Potenzial zum Game Changer

Um die Auswirkungen Künstlicher Intelligenz auf die Produkte und Services verschiedener Branchen zu analysieren, hat PwC in Zusammenarbeit mit Marktvertretern und der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft den „Artificial Intelligence Impact Index“ entworfen. Basis hierfür war eine Analyse überzeugender Beispiele potenzieller KI-Anwendungen in verschiedenen Branchen. Diese wurden qualitativ durch Markt- und Technologie-Experten bewertet. Mit jeweils 3,7 Punkten auf einer Skala von 1 bis 5 ist demnach der Einfluss auf die Automobilindustrie und die Healthcare-Branche am stärksten. Es folgen die Finanzbranche (3,3) und der Transport- und Logistiksektor (3,2). „Künstliche Intelligenz wird zahlreiche Branchen disruptiv verändern“, sagt Christian Kirschniak, Head of Data & Analytics Advisory PwC Europe. Unternehmen, die sich nicht schnell genug anpassen und die neuen Technologien rasch adaptieren würden, liefen Gefahr, von agileren und innovativeren Konkurrenten überrundet zu werden.

Potentieller Einfluss künstlicher Intelligenz in den folgenden Branchen

PwC’s Impact Index (5 = größter Impact, 1 = kleinster Impact)

Gesundheit 3,7

  • Kurzfristig (0–3 Jahre) 38% 38%
  • Mittelfristig (3–7 Jahre) 23% 23%
  • Langfristig (>7 Jahre) 40% 40%

Automotive 3,7

  • Kurzfristig (0–3 Jahre) 35% 35%
  • Mittelfristig (3–7 Jahre) 47% 47%
  • Langfristig (>7 Jahre) 18% 18%

Finanzdienst­leistungen 3,3

  • Kurzfristig (0–3 Jahre) 41% 41%
  • Mittelfristig (3–7 Jahre) 59% 59%
  • Langfristig (>7 Jahre) 0% 0%

Transport und Logistik 3,2

  • Kurzfristig (0–3 Jahre) 42% 42%
  • Mittelfristig (3–7 Jahre) 42% 42%
  • Langfristig (>7 Jahre) 17% 17%

Technologie, Tele­kommunikation und Unterhaltung 3,1

  • Kurzfristig (0–3 Jahre) 48% 48%
  • Mittelfristig (3–7 Jahre) 36% 36%
  • Langfristig (>7 Jahre) 17% 17%

Handel 3,0

  • Kurzfristig (0–3 Jahre) 54% 54%
  • Mittelfristig (3–7 Jahre) 38% 38%
  • Langfristig (>7 Jahre) 8% 8%

Energie 2,2

  • Kurzfristig (0–3 Jahre) 39% 39%
  • Mittelfristig (3–7 Jahre) 44% 44%
  • Langfristig (>7 Jahre) 17% 17%

Verarbeitendes Gewerbe 2,2

  • Kurzfristig (0–3 Jahre) 14% 14%
  • Mittelfristig (3–7 Jahre) 83% 83%
  • Langfristig (>7 Jahre) 3% 3%

Dass Künstliche Intelligenz nicht nur eine Schlüsseltechnologie, sondern ein Treiber für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung ist, hat auch die deutsche Bundesregierung erkannt und bereits Eckpunkte für eine nationale Strategie beschlossen. Damit sollen Erforschung, Entwicklung und Anwendung von Künstlicher Intelligenz in Deutschland auf ein weltweit führendes Niveau gehoben werden. „Künstliche Intelligenz ist nicht irgendeine Innovation – sie ist eine Basis-Innovation, die unsere Wirtschaft und unser Leben insgesamt verändern und verbessern wird“, erklärt Bundeswirtschaftsminister Peter Altmaier. „Deshalb wollen wir, dass Anwendungen von Künstlicher Intelligenz auch nicht irgendwo auf der Welt entwickelt und umgesetzt werden, sondern hier bei uns in Deutschland und Europa.“

Bitkom: Etablierte Unternehmen sollten mit Start-ups kooperieren

„Wir begrüßen sehr, dass die Bundesregierung bei Künstlicher Intelligenz einen Schwerpunkt ihrer Technologie- und Wirtschaftspolitik setzen will. Jetzt ist wichtig, dass es schnell geht, zügig Programme entwickelt und dann umgehend von der Politik in die Praxis umgesetzt werden“, sagt Achim Berg, Präsident des Digitalverbands Bitkom. Revolutionäre Technologien wie KI einzusetzen, sei jedoch für viele etablierte Unternehmen nicht einfach. Oft stünden dem über Jahre und Jahrzehnte gewachsene Strukturen entgegen. Kooperationen mit Start-ups könnten dann hilfreich sein. Berg: „Sie bringen innovative Technologien und neue Ideen mit – und können helfen, frischen Wind durch die Unternehmen zu blasen.“ Laut einer aktuellen Bitkom-Umfrage setzen 4 von 10 deutschen Start-ups bereits Künstliche Intelligenz ein. Ohne KI und Datenanalysen sehen 96 Prozent der Start-ups den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg deutscher Unternehmen bedroht. „Neben der Politik sind auch etablierte Unternehmen gut beraten, sich diese Einschätzung zu Herzen zu nehmen“, so der Appell des Bitkom-Präsidenten.

Text von Benjamin Klare
Symbolfoto: Pixabay
Infografiken: Weltwirtschaftsforum, PwC

Share This