E-fuels in Aviation: Less CO2 Emissions Thanks to Synthetic Kerosene?

Ten percent of German fuel consumption should be covered by renewable, alternative aviation fuels by 2025. That’s the ambitious goal of the “Aviation Initiative for Renewable Energy in Germany” (Aireg) that wants to propel the production and use of such e-fuels in aviation. While it’s possible for other alternative drive systems, such as electric, solar and hydrogen engines, to be used in road transport or shipping, it’s unlikely that they would be used in aviation.

Important sectors of the economy will also require liquid fuels in the future: According to a recent study by Prognos “Status und Perspektive flüssiger Energieträger in der Energiewende” (Status and prospects of liquid fuels in the energy transition), such motor fuels and heating fuels currently account for around 98 percent of the operating energy in the German transport sector. As a result, liquid fuels and raw materials are either hard or impossible to replace, especially in the air traffic and chemical industry. “If Germany wants to reach the climate policy target of reducing greenhouse gases by 80 to 95 percent, it is crucial to increasingly produce liquid fuels such as kerosene, gasoline or diesel with reduced greenhouse gas emissions,” says Jens Hobohm, Head of Energy Management and Director of Studies at Prognos AG.

Pipelines supply kerosene to airports such as the Frankfurt Airport. The fuel is delivered from the tank storage facility on the airport grounds to the respective aircraft parking positions using an extensive underground pipeline system.

Furthermore, a study by the German Energy Agency (dena) conducted on behalf of the German Association of the Automotive Industry (VDA) recently revealed that e-fuels produced from renewable resources are needed to meet the EU’s climate protection targets in the transport sector: Even in a scenario with a lot of traffic electrically powered by batteries, e-fuels will account for more than 70 percent of the final energy demand for all modes of transport in the EU by 2050. Hobohm forecasts that “Germany’s international air traffic and shipping traffic alone will require around 550 petajoules of energy by 2050”. By the way, 3.6 petajoules is equal to one terawatt hour (TWh) or one billion kilowatt hours (kWh).

Climate-friendly E-fuels: Production Process and Areas of Application

E-fuels are virtually carbon-neutral, synthetic motor fuels and heating fuels that can be produced from renewable electrical energy: Renewable electricity is converted into liquid fuel by using carbon and hydrogen produced via electrolysis in what is known as the power-to-liquid process (PtL). When carbon is taken from the atmosphere or biomass, however, this procedure is called the power-and-biomass-to-liquid (PBtL) process.

According to the Prognos study, e-fuels can be processed, stored, transported and used in exactly the same way as current liquid fuels. Existing infrastructures such as pipelines or gas stations could be used as well as existing vehicle fleets. In addition, it is only possible to significantly reduce greenhouse gases by 95 percent using e-fuels. There would also be favorable effects on climate protection and trade on an international scale. “PtL production would take place mainly in very sunny and windy countries and open up positive economic perspectives in those places,” said Hobohm. The imports would also offset Germany’s trade balance. The current view estimates that PtL could be produced in 2050 at a cost between 0.70 and 1.30 euros per liter, assuming a large-scale industrial entry into PtL technology.

Lufthansa now wants to get out of the climate protection initiative Aireg: As the magazine Airliners reported on June 15, 2018, the Group terminated its membership at the end of the year. Nevertheless, the airline’s interest in alternative fuels remains high, according to a spokeswoman. According to Lufthansa itself, it was the first airline in the world to test bio-kerosene in regular flight operations in 2011. The final report of the “BurnFAIR project” states that the bio-kerosene performed very well overall during the 1188 trial flights. Further need for action, however, is still required in many places before bio-kerosene can become economically competitive and produced in an environmentally sustainable manner.

CO2-neutral Expansion of International Air Traffic from 2020 Onwards

At the International Civil Aviation Organization’s (ICAO) 39th triennial session held in Montreal in autumn 2016, the 191 ICAO member states agreed upon an instrument for the global protection of the climate for international air traffic. ICAO’s adoption of Resolution A39-3 will see the international introduction of the global market-based climate protection instrument through the offsetting system CORSIA (Carbon Offsetting and Reduction Scheme for International Aviation) starting in 2020. The international aviation industry is, therefore, the world’s first industry with a global climate protection instrument in place. CORSIA is designed to enable the carbon-neutral expansion of international air traffic from 2020 onwards. From 2020, growth-related CO2 emissions in air traffic between the participating countries will be offset by specially implemented climate protection projects supervised by the UN.

(Source: BDL)

Text by Benjamin Klare
Photos: Fraport
Graphic: IWO

E-Fuels in der Luftfahrt: Weniger CO2-Emissionen dank synthetischem Kerosin?

 

Bis zum Jahr 2025 sollen zehn Prozent des deutschen Kerosinbedarfs mit erneuerbaren, alternativen Flugkraftstoffen gedeckt werden. Dieses ambitionierte Ziel hat die „Aviation Initiative for Renewable Energy in Germany“ (Aireg) formuliert, die die Herstellung und Nutzung solcher E-Fuels in der Luftfahrt forcieren will. Denn andere alternative Antriebe wie Elektro-, Solar- oder Wasserstoffmotoren könnten zwar für den Straßengüterverkehr oder die Schifffahrt eine Option sein, für die Nutzung in der Luftfahrt wären sie jedoch kaum geeignet.

Wichtige Wirtschaftsbereiche werden auch zukünftig flüssige Energieträger benötigen: Laut der aktuellen Prognos-Studie „Status und Perspektive flüssiger Energieträger in der Energiewende“ erzeugen derartige Kraft- und Brennstoffe im deutschen Verkehrssektor derzeit rund 98 Prozent der Antriebsenergie. Vor allem im Flugverkehr und in der chemischen Industrie sind flüssige Energieträger und Rohstoffe demnach nicht oder nur schwer zu ersetzen. „Will Deutschland das klimapolitische Ziel einer 80- bis 95-prozentigen Reduktion der Treibhausgase erreichen, ist es entscheidend, flüssige Energieträger wie Kerosin, Benzin oder Diesel zunehmend treibhausgasreduziert herzustellen“, so Jens Hobohm, Leiter Energiewirtschaft und Studienleiter bei der Prognos AG.

Pipelines versorgen Airports wie den Frankfurter Flughafen mit Kerosin. Über ein weitverzweigtes unterirdisches Rohrleitungssystem gelangt der Kraftstoff vom Tanklager auf dem Flughafengelände zu den jeweiligen Parkpositionen der Flugzeuge.

Dass E-Fuels aus erneuerbaren Quellen notwendig sind, um die EU-Klimaschutzziele des Verkehrssektors zu erreichen, hat kürzlich auch eine Studie der Deutschen Energie-Agentur (dena) im Auftrag des Verbands der Automobilindustrie (VDA) ergeben: Selbst in einem stark batterieelektrifizierten Verkehrsszenario werde der Endenergiebedarf aller Verkehrsträger der EU im Jahr 2050 zu mehr als 70 Prozent von E-Fuels gedeckt. „Im Jahr 2050 benötigt allein der internationale Luft- und Schiffsverkehr Deutschlands circa 550 Petajoule Energie“, prognostiziert Hobohm. Zur Einordnung: 3,6 Petajoule entsprechen einer Terawattstunde (TWh) oder einer Milliarde Kilowattstunden (kWh).

Klimafreundliche E-Fuels: Herstellungspfade und Einsatzbereiche

E-Fuels sind nahezu treibhausgasneutrale, synthetische Kraft- und Brennstoffe, die aus regenerativer elektrischer Energie gewonnen werden können: Beim sogenannten Power-to-Liquid-Verfahren (PtL) wird erneuerbarer Strom mit Hilfe von Elektrolyse-Wasserstoff und Kohlenstoff in einen flüssigen Energieträger umgewandelt. Wird der Kohlenstoff aus der Luft oder aus Biomasse gewonnen, spricht man von einem Power-and-Biomass-to-Liquid-Verfahren (PBtL).

E-Fuels können der Prognos-Studie zufolge genauso verarbeitet, gespeichert, transportiert und verwendet werden wie heutige flüssige Energieträger. Bereits vorhandene Infrastrukturen wie Pipelines oder Tankstellen könnten damit ebenso weiter genutzt werden wie bestehende Fahrzeugflotten. Darüber hinaus sei eine sehr weitgehende Treibhausgasreduktion von 95 Prozent nur mit E-Fuels möglich. Zudem würden sich dadurch auch im internationalen Rahmen günstige Effekte für Klimaschutz und Handel ergeben. „Die Produktion von PtL würde vor allem in besonders sonnen- und windreichen Ländern erfolgen und dort positive volkswirtschaftliche Perspektiven eröffnen“, so Hobohm. Die Importe wirkten zudem ausgleichend auf die deutsche Handelsbilanz. Aus heutiger Sicht könne PtL im Jahr 2050 zu Kosten zwischen 0,70 und 1,30 Euro je Liter erzeugt werden – ein groß-industrieller Einstieg in die PtL-Technologie vorausgesetzt.

Aussteigen will derweil die Lufthansa aus der Klimaschutz-Initiative Aireg: Wie Airliners am 15. Juni 2018 berichtete, hat der Konzern die Mitgliedschaft zum Jahresende gekündigt. Dennoch sei das Interesse der Airline an alternativen Kraftstoffen laut einer Sprecherin unverändert hoch. Nach eigenen Angaben hatte Lufthansa Bio-Kerosin im Jahr 2011 als weltweit erste Fluggesellschaft im regulären Flugbetrieb getestet. Insgesamt habe sich das Biokerosin während der 1188 Erprobungsflüge sehr gut bewährt, heißt es im Abschlussbericht des „BurnFAIR“ genannten Projekts. Allerdings bestünde noch an vielen Stellen Handlungsbedarf, bis Biokerosin wirtschaftlich konkurrenzfähigsei und ökologisch nachhaltig produziert werden könne.

Der internationale Flugverkehr soll ab 2020 CO2-neutral wachsen

Auf der 39. Vollversammlung der internationalen Luftfahrtorganisation ICAO (International Civil Aviation Organization), die im Herbst 2016 in Montreal stattgefunden hat, haben sich die 191 ICAO-Mitgliedsstaaten auf ein globales Klimaschutzinstrument für den internationalen Luftverkehr geeinigt. Mit der Verabschiedung der ICAO-Resolution A39-3 wird das globale marktbasierte Klimaschutzinstrument in Form des Offsetting-Systems CORSIA (Carbon Offsetting and Reduction Scheme for International Aviation) ab 2020 global eingeführt. Damit ist der internationale Luftverkehr die weltweit erste Branche, für die ein globales Klimaschutzinstrument gilt. CORSIA soll dem internationalen Flugverkehr ab 2020 ein CO2-neutrales Wachstum ermöglichen. Dafür werden ab 2020 die wachstumsbedingten CO2-Emissionen im Luftverkehr zwischen den teilnehmenden Ländern durch speziell aufgesetzte Klimaschutzprojekte, die unter der Aufsicht der UNO stehen, kompensiert.

Quelle: BDL

Text von Benjamin Klare
Fotos: Fraport
Grafik: IWO

Share This