E-Commerce-Boom:

Chances and challenges for the airfreight industry

‘Order today, get it tomorrow’: Today’s consumers are more demanding than ever before. They expect highest-quality products at the best price. Delivered in the quickest time possible. This trend has been triggered by rapidly growing online platforms such as Amazon, which will in the years to come continue to radically transform the entire landscape of international trade – and, with it, the logistics industry.
In the US alone, e-commerce has grown by an average of 15 percent per annum over the past 15 years. The total volume already amounted to 342 billion US dollars back in 2015. With sales of 590 billion US dollars and global players such as Alibaba, China is the strongest market for online trade.

E-commerce giants are gearing up

And there’s no doubt that the logistics sector is being driven forward with a dazzling display of innovations by Amazon in the west and Alibaba in the east: With the launch of Prime Air and some very promising deals with the Air Transport Services Group (ATSG) and Atlas Air, Amazon is simultaneously improving both its market position and its logistical performance: ATSG and Atlas Air have twenty B767 cargo airplanes each on standby for the e-commerce giant.

Amazon is also dead-set on the idea of having drones carry out last-mile package deliveries. The company has now patented a technology for mobile drone stations that will serve as warehouses and service points for charging, repairing and replacing drone batteries.

Mobile drone stations as warehouses are one of Amazon’s visions for the future of e-commerce.
The Chinese e-commerce market leader Alibaba is also investing heavily in expanding its logistics structure – with a minority stake in YTO Express, one of China’s major logistics companies. YTO Express is one of 14 companies working closely with Alibaba’s logistics subsidiary Cainiao to enable the e-commerce giant to keep up with the global growth of the e-commerce trade and develop the right logistics solutions.

IATA recognizes the need for action

E-commerce and omnichannel trade also offer airlines enormous opportunities, but they require old structures to be abandoned and new answers to be found to meet the needs of all stakeholders along the value chain.

In a strategy paper published in July 2017, the International Air Transport Association (IATA) stresses the need for a paradigm shift in the airfreight sector in order to benefit from the changed market environment – for instance, with fast and punctual delivery across all national borders and end-to-end track & trace technologies.

KLM Cargo has already responded with an innovative sorting solution to handle the high increases in package volume due to the e-commerce boom. The system used at Schiphol Airport processes more than 2,000 shipments per hour, allowing faster handling of all postal, express and pharmaceutical transports.
According to IATA, Kenya Airways and Flydubai already process all their air waybills electronically, thereby expediting the handling process. Cathay Pacific (80.5%) and Delta Air Lines (74.7%) are also on the right track (as of April 2017).

China’s best-selling e-commerce provider, JD.com, has signed a strategic partnership with China Eastern Airlines to optimize the efficiency of its logistics services, both domestically and internationally. Both companies share resources at their stations and combine their respective airfreight logistics networks.

End customers are considered too: CHAMP Cargosystems enables consumers to follow up on their order status using simple voice commands via Amazon’s Alexa service. The system integrates CHAMP’s TRAXON Track & Trace service, to which many airlines are already connected, including Lufthansa Cargo, American Airlines Cargo and Cathay Pacific Cargo.

Text by Bernd Maresch
Photos: Rbarta24 (Wikimedia Commons), Amazon, Paul Ridderhof
Share This

E-Commerce-Boom:

Chancen und Herausforderungen für die Luftfrachtbranche

„Heute bestellt, morgen da“: Die Konsumenten von heute sind anspruchsvoller denn je. Sie erwarten Produkte in höchster Qualität zum Bestpreis. Bei möglichst kurzen Lieferzeiten. Ausgelöst haben diesen Trend rasant wachsende Online-Plattformen wie Amazon, die den gesamten Welthandel – und damit auch die Logistik-Branche – in den kommenden Jahren weiterhin kräftig umkrempeln werden.

Allein in den USA erzielte der E-Commerce-Handel in den letzten 15 Jahren einen durchschnittlichen Zuwachs von 15 Prozent per annum. Das Gesamtvolumen betrug 2015 bereits 342 Milliarden US-Dollar. China ist mit einem Umsatz von 590 Milliarden US-Dollar und Global Playern wie Alibaba der stärkste Markt für den Handel über das Internet.

E-Commerce-Giganten rüsten auf

Tatsächlich treiben Amazon im Westen und Alibaba im Osten die Logistikbranche derzeit mit einem rasanten Innovationsfeuerwerk vor sich her: Mit der Gründung von Prime Air sowie zukunftsträchtigen Deals mit der Air Transport Services Group (ATSG) und Atlas Air verbessert Amazon zugleich seine Marktposition und seine logistische Leistungskraft: Sowohl ATSG als auch Atlas Air stellen dem E-Commerce-Riesen jeweils 20 B767-Frachtflugzeuge bereit.

Zudem hält Amazon in den USA weiter an der Idee der Last-Mile-Paketauslieferung durch Drohnen fest. Das Unternehmen hat sich nun eine Technologie für mobile Drohnenstationen als Warenlager und Service-Points zum Aufladen, Reparieren und Austauschen der Drohnenakkus patentieren lassen.

Mobile Drohnenstationen als Warenlager sind eine von Amazons Visionen für die Zukunft des E-Commerce.

Auch der chinesische E-Commerce-Marktführer Alibaba investiert kräftig in den Ausbau seiner Logistikstruktur – mit einer Minderheitsbeteiligung an YTO Express, einem der wichtigsten Logistik-Unternehmen Chinas. YTO Express ist dabei eines von insgesamt 14 Unternehmen, die eng mit Alibabas Logistik-Tochter Cainiao zusammenarbeiten, um mit dem globalen Wachstum des E-Commerce-Handels Schritt halten und die passenden Logistik-Lösungen entwickeln zu können.

IATA erkennt Handlungsbedarf

E-Commerce und Omnichannel-Handel bieten auch für Airlines enorme Chancen, erfordern aber, alte Strukturen über Bord zu werfen und neue Antworten auf die Bedürfnisse aller Stakeholder entlang der Wertschöpfungskette zu finden.

In einem Strategiepapier vom Juli 2017 konstatiert die International Air Transport Association (IATA) die Notwendigkeit eines Paradigmenwechsels in der Luftfrachtbranche, um selbst vom veränderten Marktumfeld profitieren zu können – etwa mit schnellen, pünktlichen Lieferungen über alle Ländergrenzen hinweg und End-to-End-Track & Trace-Technologien.

KLM Cargo hat bereits mit einer innovativen Sortierlösung reagiert, um das durch den E-Commerce-Boom stark erhöhte Paketaufkommen zu meistern. Das am Flughafen Schiphol eingesetzte System bewältigt pro Stunde mehr als 2.000 Sendungen und erlaubt so die schnellere Abwicklung aller Post-, Express- und Pharma-Transporte.

Laut IATA bearbeiten Kenya Airways und Flydubai heute schon 100 Prozent aller Luftfrachtbriefe elektronisch und beschleunigen so die Abfertigung. Cathay Pacific (80,5 %) und Delta Air Lines (74,7 %) sind hier ebenfalls auf einem guten Weg (Stand: April 2017).

JD.com, der umsatzstärkste E-Commerce-Anbieter Chinas, hat eine strategische Partnerschaft mit China Eastern Airlines geschlossen, um die Effizienz seiner Logistikdienste im eigenen Land und international zu optimieren. Beide Unternehmen teilen sich hierfür Ressourcen an ihren Stationen und beziehen ihre jeweiligen Luftfracht-Logistiknetzwerke mit ein.

Auch an die Endkunden wird gedacht: CHAMP Cargosystems ermöglicht es Verbrauchern, mit einfachen Sprachbefehlen über Amazons Dienst Alexa den Status ihrer Bestellung abzurufen. Das System integriert CHAMPs TRAXON Track & Trace-Service, an den heute bereits zahlreiche Airlines wie Lufthansa Cargo, American Airlines Cargo und Cathay Pacific Cargo angeschlossen sind.

Text von Bernd Maresch
Fotos: Rbarta24 (Wikimedia Commons), Amazon, Paul Ridderhof

Share This