Drone flight paths opened for humanitarian aid in Africa

Malawi has established the first permanent drone flight paths for humanitarian aid in Africa. The flight corridor around the airfield of Kasungu, located in the heart of the country in Southeast Africa, has a 40-kilometer radius and the drones can fly a maximum of 400 meters above ground.

According to the United Nations Children’s Fund, UNICEF, the flight corridors will make it possible for universities and NGOs to test drones for the purpose of humanitarian aid – for example, to make it more efficient to bring medication to remote regions or transport vaccines and blood samples. The drones could also be used, for example, in natural catastrophes in order to enable helpers to gain access to the Internet or mobile phones, as well as provide them with a quick and cost-effective overview of damage.

Using drones to transport medication “could change lives in secluded rural communities,” says Malawi’s Minister of Transport Jappie Mhango. Even in the dry season, the country’s roads only allow limited access to rural areas. During the rainy season, many municipalities are completely isolated by flooding. “This humanitarian flight corridor for drones can significantly improve our efficiency and ability to help the world’s most vulnerable children,” says UNICEF’s head of global innovation Christopher Fabian. In 2016, the UN Children’s Fund had already successfully tested the use of drones in Malawi to carry samples for the HIV diagnosis of children. The drone flight corridor in Malawi will be used by UNICEF for at least one year. Twelve organizations and companies have already signed up to use it.
Text by Jürgen Bätz
Photos: UNICEF/Chisiza (article photo), UNICEF/Khonje

Drohnenkorridor für humanitäre Hilfe in Afrika eröffnet

Malawi hat den ersten permanenten Drohnenkorridor für humanitäre Hilfe in Afrika eingerichtet. Der Korridor um das Flugfeld von Kasungu im Zentrum des südostafrikanischen Landes hat einen Radius von 40 Kilometern, die Drohnen dürfen maximal 400 Meter über der Erde fliegen.

Wie das UN-Kinderhilfswerk Unicef mitteilt, soll der Drohnenkorridor unter anderem Universitäten und NGO’s ermöglichen, Drohnen als humanitäre Hilfsmittel zu testen – beispielsweise, um Medikamente effizienter in abgelegene Regionen zu bringen oder Impfstoffe und Blutproben zu transportieren. Darüber hinaus könnten die Drohnen etwa bei Naturkatastrophen genutzt werden, um Helfern Internetzugang oder Handyempfang zu ermöglichen sowie ihnen einen schnellen und kostengünstigen Schadensüberblick zu geben.

Drohnen zum Transport von Medikamenten einzusetzen, „könnte das Leben in abgeschiedenen ländlichen Gemeinden verändern“, sagt Malawis Verkehrsminister Jappie Mhango. Die Straßen des Landes würden selbst in der Trockenzeit nur begrenzten Zugang zu ländlichen Gebieten ermöglichen, in der Regenzeit würden Überschwemmungen viele Gemeinden vollständig isolieren. „Dieser humanitäre Drohnenkorridor kann unsere Effizienz und Fähigkeit, den bedürftigsten Kindern der Welt zu helfen, deutlich verbessern“, betont Christopher Fabian, Unicefs weltweiter Innovationschef. 2016 hatte das UN-Kinderhilfswerk den Einsatz von Drohnen in Malawi bereits zur Beförderung von Proben zur HIV-Diagnose bei Kindern erfolgreich getestet. Der Drohnenkorridor in Malawi soll Unicef zufolge mindestens ein Jahr bestehen. Eine Nutzung hätten bereits zwölf Organisationen und Unternehmen beantragt.
Text von Jürgen Bätz
Fotos: UNICEF/Chisiza
Share This