Digitization of the Air Cargo Industry is Slowly Taking Off

Digital platforms are also gaining importance in the air cargo industry. This became clear at the Frankfurt Air Cargo Innovation Lab at Frankfurt Airport on 8 November 2018. Airport operators Fraport organized the event for the third time in collaboration with the DVV Media Group and Air Cargo News.

Europe’s leading air cargo hub actively promotes the digitization of airfreight processes itself. Together with DAKOSY, Fraport has developed the new shipping portal INFr8 for all parties involved in the air cargo chain, enabling the first digital dangerous goods declaration (eDGD). Simplifying and streamlining processes is also the aim of Berlin-based start-up cargo.one, with its air cargo booking platform of the same name: a web-based spot market service covering all airlines. According to Oliver Neumann, one of the founders of cargo.one, more than 70 forwarders are already using the platform for bookings. The whole booking process, including instant confirmation, only takes two minutes.

Fresh Impetus for Investment Decisions in Digitization

“Innovation is not a technology problem – it is more of a mindset problem,” said Neumann. There is no lack of digital tools that can be implemented – the question is only which ones can actually improve certain business processes or services. Logistics companies in particular are often unsure about the investment decisions involved: “For most people, digitization is like a toolbox – there are so many things inside, but no one knows exactly what to do with them,” says Professor Christian Kille from the Institute of Applied Logistics at Würzburg-Schweinfurt University. The results of the study “Digitization tools in logistics: Deployment potential, maturity level and value contribution,” which describes the status quo, should help to remedy this situation and provide impetus for investment decisions in digitization. “Not every business can become a digital business, but every business can use digital tools,” explained Kille, who is one of the authors of the study. There is a suitable digitization tool for every company.
Forty-five percent of all Air Waybills (AWB) are not digital, but still paper-based. Boris Hueske, Head of Digital Transformation at Lufthansa Cargo expressed regret that, despite “decades of discussion”, consignment data is still not sufficiently available in digital forms (Electronic Air Waybill, e-AWB), meaning that there is a lack of transparency. At Frankfurt Air Cargo Innovation Lab, Fraport manager Felix Kreutel was also campaigning for a shift from paper to data to improve the efficiency and transparency of processes in the air cargo industry. However, industry giants are likely to develop their own concepts rather than adopt the collaborative approaches that are needed. “We have to do better. Together,” said Cargonaut CEO Nanne Onland, who wants to drive forward the integration and exchange of data in the logistics industry.

“America First” Jeopardizes Global Supply Chains

The keynote speech by Folker Hellmeyer, Chief Analyst at SOLVECON INVEST, was on the topic of collaboration and competition at a global level. Under the title “Changes and risks for worldwide business – Competition of cultures”, the finance expert talked about geopolitical risks like the “America first” policy, which threatens global supply chains, and China’s New Silk Road Initiative, which Europe cannot afford to ignore any longer. The international community must itself try harder to take advantage of the new trade corridors.

Innovative propulsion systems that do not emit any greenhouse gases can contribute to achieving the aim of reducing CO2 emissions in aviation. Aircraft manufacturer Airbus was awarded this year’s IDL Award (Innovation Award of German Aviation) prize for its innovative, hydrogen-powered fuel cell demonstrator H2T (Hydrogen to Torque). Barnaby Law, Program Director Hydrogen and Fuel Cell at Airbus, presented the functionality of the system that received the award in the “Emission Reduction” category. In future, it could replace the auxiliary power unit at the tail of the aircraft, which has so far been powered with kerosene.

To combat climate change, the IATA has set a series of ambitious targets to reduce CO2 emissions. Growth in aviation is to be climate-neutral from 2020, and CO2 emissions should be reduced by 50 percent by 2050. This is a considerable challenge for the air cargo industry, said Professor Alan McKinnon from Kühne Logistics University, as it will only be possible to replace kerosene with biofuels by 2040 at the earliest. The exponential growth in air cargo, driven in part since 2010 by the e-commerce boom and increasing transnational trade, is set to continue.

JD.com Cooperates with Chinese Airline

Global online retailers are also having an ever more disruptive effect on the air cargo market. While Alibaba recently announced its intention to establish no less than the world’s most efficient logistics network, JD.com is now following in the footsteps of US competitor Amazon. The Chinese online retailer has entered into a cooperation with the cargo division of Tianjin Airlines. The first Boeing 737 freighter with a JD Logistics logo was sighted on 6 November 2018.

Text by Benjamin Klare
Photos: Andreas Henn

Share This

Digitalisierung der Luftfrachtbranche nimmt langsam Fahrt auf

Auch in der Luftfrachtbranche gewinnen digitale Plattformen zunehmend an Bedeutung. Das wurde am 8. November 2018 beim Frankfurt Air Cargo Innovation Lab am Frankfurter Flughafen deutlich. Die Veranstaltung wurde bereits zum dritten Mal vom Flughafenbetreiber Fraport in Zusammenarbeit mit der DVV Media Group und Air Cargo News organisiert.

Europas führender Air Cargo Hub treibt die Digitalisierung von Luftfrachtprozessen selbst aktiv voran: Gemeinsam mit DAKOSY hat Fraport das neue Versenderportal INFr8 für alle Beteiligten der Luftfrachtkette entwickelt, das erstmals die digitale Gefahrgutdeklaration (eDGD) ermöglicht. Prozesse zu vereinfachen und zu beschleunigen ist auch das Ziel des Berliner Start-ups cargo.one mit seiner gleichnamigen Buchungsplattform für Luftfracht. Über das Web-basierte und Airline-übergreifende Spotmarkt-Angebot buchen bereits mehr als 70 Spediteure, berichtete Oliver Neumann, einer der Gründer von cargo.one. Der gesamte Buchungsprozess inklusive sofortiger Auftragsbestätigung dauere lediglich zwei Minuten.

Impulse für Investitionsentscheidungen in die Digitalisierung

„Innovation ist kein technologisches, sondern eher ein Mindset-Problem“, sagte Neumann. An digitalen Tools, die implementiert werden können, mangelt es nicht – die Frage ist nur, welche sich tatsächlich auch dafür eignen, bestimmte Unternehmensprozesse oder Dienstleistungen zu verbessern. Insbesondere Logistikunternehmen wären bei entsprechenden Investitionsentscheidungen oft unsicher: „Für die meisten Menschen ist die Digitalisierung wie ein Werkzeugkasten: Da sind viele Dinge drin, aber keiner weiß genau, was er damit anfangen soll“, sagte Prof. Christian Kille vom Institut für Angewandte Logistik an der Hochschule Würzburg-Schweinfurt. Abhilfe schaffen sollen die Ergebnisse der Studie „Digitalisierungswerkzeuge in der Logistik: Einsatzpotenziale, Reifegrad und Wertbeitrag“, die den Status Quo beschreibt und Impulse für Investitionsentscheidungen in die Digitalisierung liefern soll. „Nicht jedes Unternehmen kann zu einem digitalen Unternehmen werden, aber jedes Unternehmen kann digitale Tools nutzen“, erklärte Kille, der zu den Verfassern der Studie zählt. Für jedes Unternehmen gebe es ein geeignetes Digitalisierungswerkzeug.

Nicht digital, sondern immer noch in Papierform sind 45 Prozent aller Air Waybills (AWB). Boris Hueske, Head of Digital Transformation bei Lufthansa Cargo, beklagte, dass Sendungsdaten nach „jahrzehntelangen Diskussionen“ auch heute noch nicht in ausreichendem Maße in digitaler und somit transparenter Form (Electronic Air Waybill, e-AWB) verfügbar seien. Weg vom Papier, hin zu den Daten – für effizientere und transparentere Prozesse in der Luftfrachtindustrie machte sich auch Fraport-Manager Felix Kreutel beim Frankfurt Air Cargo Innovation Lab stark. Es sei allerdings wahrscheinlich, dass Branchengrößen eher eigene als die erforderlichen kollaborativen Ansätze verfolgen würden. „Wir müssen es besser machen. Zusammen“, sagte Cargonaut-CEO Nanne Onland, der die Vernetzung und den Austausch von Daten in der Logistik vorantreiben will.

„America First“ gefährdet globale Supply Chains

Um das Mit- und Gegeneinander auf globaler Ebene ging es in der Keynote von Folker Hellmeyer, Chief Analyst bei SOLVECON INVEST. Unter dem Titel „Changes and risks for worldwide business – Competition of cultures“ sprach der Finanzexperte über geopolitische Risiken wie die „America First“-Politik, die Lieferketten weltweit gefährde, sowie die Neue Seidenstraße-Initiative Chinas, die in Europa nicht länger ignoriert werden dürfte. Vielmehr müsse die Staatengemeinschaft versuchen, selbst von den neuen Handelskorridoren zu profitieren.

Zur angestrebten Reduktion von CO2-Emissionen in der Luftfahrt beitragen können innovative Antriebssysteme, die keine Treibhausgase ausstoßen. Der Flugzeugbauer Airbus ist für seinen neuartigen, mit Wasserstoff betriebenen Brennstoffzellen-Demonstrator H2T (Hydrogen to Torque) mit dem diesjährigen Innovationspreis der Deutschen Luftfahrt ausgezeichnet worden. Barnaby Law, Program Director Hydrogen and Fuel Cell von Airbus, stellte die Funktionsweise des in der Kategorie „Emissionsreduktion“ prämierten Systems vor. Künftig könnte es das bisher mit Kerosin betriebene Hilfstriebwerk im Flugzeugheck ersetzen.

Um dem Klimawandel entgegenzutreten, hat die IATA eine Reihe ehrgeiziger Ziele zur Minderung der CO2-Emissionen festgelegt. So soll der Luftverkehr vom Jahr 2020 an klimaneutral wachsen, CO2-Emissionen sollen bis 2050 um 50 Prozent reduziert werden. Dies sei eine ziemliche Herausforderung für die Air Cargo-Branche, sagte Prof. Alan McKinnon von der Kühne Logistics University, zumal Kerosin frühestens im Jahr 2040 durch Biofuels ersetzt werde könne. Fortsetzen dürfte sich auch das exponentielle Wachstum in der Luftfracht, das seit 2010 auch vom E-Commerce-Boom und anziehenden grenzüberschreitenden Handel getrieben wird.

JD.com kooperiert mit chinesischer Airline

Globale Onlinehändler würden auch im Luftfrachtmarkt zunehmend als Disruptoren auftreten. Während Alibaba unlängst angekündigt hatte, nicht weniger als das weltweit effizienteste Logistiknetz aufbauen zu wollen, wandelt JD.com nun auf den Spuren des US-Konkurrenten Amazon: Der chinesische Onlinehändler ist eine Kooperation mit der Cargosparte von Tianjin Airlines eingegangen. Am 6. November 2018 wurde der erste Boeing 737-Frachter mit JD-Logistics-Logo gesichtet.

Text von Benjamin Klare
Fotos: Andreas Henn

Share This