DHL eCommerce: Asia is particularly active when it comes to online business

“The worldwide e-commerce story is a logistical phenomenon of our time – and a huge opportunity,” says Charles Brewer, CEO for non-European markets at DHL eCommerce. His company has long seized this opportunity. The motto goes: “You sell. We deliver.” The market volume is huge; according to data from DHL eCommerce, one billion people will be ordering goods across borders via the internet as early as by 2020.

Logisticians also want to benefit from the growth of online retailers. DHL eCommerce, a Deutsche Post DHL Group subsidiary operating in 220 countries and regions worldwide with more than 20,000 employees is rapidly expanding its network, especially in key markets, in order to attract customers and retailers alike. Example of Malaysia: “Our country is at the forefront of e-commerce in the B2C sector in Southeast Asia,” says Gerard Sta Maria, Acting Managing Director of DHL eCommerce Malaysia. “In order to offer our customers even more options for picking up and placing their orders, we expanded our network to 350 ServicePoints in November 2017.”

ServicePoints in response to changed recipient behavior

“These ServicePoints benefit sellers and buyers alike,” explains Cheryl Han, Senior Director Marketing and Communications at DHL eCommerce: “We have specifically targeted small shops and kiosks with very long opening hours as places in which to set up the ServicePoints. Here, the sellers can drop off their shipping packages for onward transport and buyers can pick up their ordered goods.” The ServicePoints are a response to worldwide changes in recipient behavior; Han continues: “In 2016, 92 percent of the customers still ordered delivery of their goods to their doorstep. However, this figure dropped to 82 percent in 2017. 39 percent would be prepared to pick up their goods at fixed stations or in shops or are already making use of this option.” While packing stations have proved very useful for picking up goods in Europe, customers in markets such as Malaysia, Thailand or Vietnam have opted for the “communicative” version of the ServicePoints integrated into shops: “Our customers here simply enjoy talking to people when picking up or dropping off packages,” says Cheryl Han.

The Asia-Pacific region is the fastest growing e-commerce region in the world. Online business is also showing very dynamic growth in Malaysia: The market volume is expected to increase by 15.8 per cent to €1 billion per year by 2020.

DHL eCommerce is thus also implementing its strategy in Vietnam: the country already boasted 100 ServicePoints in the summer of 2017. This figure is expected to rise to over 1000 in the near future. For collectors and receivers alike, all transactions can be processed at the stations without paper in less than a minute, including via an app.

Vietnam’s largest digital marketplaces, with hundreds of thousands of connected online retailers, already boast up to 40 million visits per day. With the help of partnerships, DHL eCommerce wants to dock onto these marketplaces and take over the associated logistical services. The company has also announced plans to dramatically increase its fleet of delivery vehicles, cargo bikes and electric courier motorcycles.

Moreover, the logistics company is putting special priority on the approximately 900,000 micro, small and medium-sized enterprises in Malaysia, which account for around 97 percent of national trade. DHL eCommerce wants to offer them efficient solutions not only for shipping processes, but also to facilitate access to digital marketplaces.

DHL eCommerce wants to become a game changer in Chile too

Charles Brewer, CEO of DHL eCommerce, posts blogs on the subject:
www.future-of-ecommerce.com

There is a long list of countries in which DHL eCommerce is heavily investing: 1000 new ServicePoints in Thailand, a new distribution center in Delhi, India, as part of a €250 million investment strategy by 2020, another new distribution center in Narita, Japan, or recent activities in Chile are just a few examples of the logistics giant’s expansion plans. Charles Brewer finds the elongated country on the southwest coast of South America particularly interesting: “Chile’s economic prospects look bright. The country is already number one for online shopping in the southern part of the continent, and the volume is expected to double to 2.3 billion US dollars by 2020.” Country Manager Hugo Donoso adds: “72 percent of people in Chile have access to the internet, and 50 percent own a smartphone. This makes Chile the leader in Latin America. We want to leverage our services to become a game changer here, filling a gap in the market with high-quality logistics services.”

DHL eCommerce is however not focusing exclusively on the small or medium-sized companies in the future markets mentioned above: In addition to the high network coverage offered by the logistics provider, international online retailers such as Babyonline from China, Shiseido from Thailand or The Healthy Chef from Australia, rely primarily on additional services such as shipment tracking or fulfillment options, which range from order acceptance to warehousing and billing.

Text by Behrend Oldenburg
Photos: DPDHL

DHL eCommerce: Im Onlinehandel geht die Post vor allem in Asien ab

„Die weltweite Story des E-Commerce ist ein logistisches Phänomen unserer Zeit – und eine riesige Chance“, sagt Charles Brewer, CEO für die außereuropäischen Märkte bei DHL eCommerce. Diese Chance hat sein Unternehmen längst ergriffen. Das Motto lautet: „You sell. We deliver.“ Das Marktvolumen ist gigantisch, nach Angaben von DHL eCommerce werden schon im Jahr 2020 eine Milliarde Menschen Waren auch grenzüberschreitend im Internet bestellen.

Vom Wachstum der Onlinehändler wollen auch die Logistiker profitieren. DHL eCommerce, ein weltweit in 220 Ländern und Regionen aktives Tochterunternehmen der Deutsche Post DHL Group mit über 20.000 Mitarbeitern, baut vor allem in Schlüsselmärkten sein Netzwerk rasant aus, um Besteller und Händler gleichermaßen an sich zu binden. Beispiel Malaysia: „Unser Land liegt beim E-Commerce im B2C-Sektor in Südostasien ganz weit vorn“, sagt Gerard Sta Maria, Acting Managing Director bei DHL eCommerce Malaysia. „Um unseren Kunden noch mehr Möglichkeiten bei der Abholung und Aufgabe ihrer Bestellungen zu bieten, haben wir unser Netzwerk im November 2017 auf 350 ServicePoints ausgebaut.“

ServicePoints als Reaktion auf verändertes Empfängerverhalten

„Von diesen ServicePoints profitieren Verkäufer und Käufer gleichermaßen“, erklärt Cheryl Han, Senior Director Marketing and Communications bei DHL eCommerce: „Die ServicePoints haben wir vor allem in kleinen Läden und Kiosken eingerichtet, die sehr lange Öffnungszeiten haben. Hier können die Verkäufer ihre Versandpakete für den Weitertransport abgeben und Käufer ihre bestellten Waren abholen.“ Die ServicePoints seien eine Reaktion auf das sich weltweit wandelnde Empfängerverhalten, so Han weiter: „2016 haben noch 92 Prozent der Besteller ihre Waren zu sich nach Hause geordert. Dieser Anteil ist 2017 jedoch auf 82 Prozent zurückgegangen. Schon 39 Prozent wären bereit, ihre Waren auch an festen Stationen oder in Läden abzuholen bzw. nutzen diese Möglichkeit bereits.“ Während sich in Europa Packstationen zur Abholung sehr bewährt hätten, habe man sich in Märkten wie in Malaysia, Thailand oder Vietnam für die „kommunikative“ Variante der in Geschäfte integrierten ServicePoints entschieden: „Unsere Kunden hier lieben es einfach, bei der Paketabholung oder -abgabe mit Menschen zu sprechen“, berichtet Cheryl Han.

Der asiatisch-pazifische Raum ist die am schnellsten wachsende E-Commerce-Region weltweit. Auch in Malaysia entwickelt sich der Onlinehandel sehr dynamisch: Bis zum Jahr 2020 soll das Marktvolumen um jährlich 15,8 Prozent auf 1 Milliarde Euro steigen.

Entsprechend setzt DHL eCommerce seine Strategie auch in Vietnam um: Im Sommer 2017 gab es hier bereits 100 ServicePoints. Innerhalb kürzester Zeit soll diese Zahl auf über 1000 steigen. Für Abholer und Empfänger gleichermaßen gilt an den Stationen, dass alle Transaktionen papierlos in weniger als einer Minute, auch über eine App, abgewickelt werden können.

Schon heute haben die größten digitalen Marktplätze Vietnams mit hunderttausenden angebundenen Onlinehändlern bis zu 40 Millionen Visits am Tag. An sie will DHL eCommerce mit Hilfe von Partnerschaften andocken und die dazugehörigen logistischen Dienstleistungen übernehmen. Dazu hat das Unternehmen angekündigt, seine Flotte von Lieferwagen, Lastenfahrrädern und elektrischen Kurier-Motorrädern massiv aufzustocken.

Auch in Malaysia legt das Logistikunternehmen einen besonderen Fokus auf die rund 900.000 Kleinst-, Klein- und mittelständischen Unternehmen, die rund 97 Prozent des nationalen Handels ausmachen. Ihnen will DHL eCommerce effiziente Lösungen nicht nur für die Versandprozesse anbieten, sondern gleichzeitig den Zugang zu digitalen Marktplätzen erleichtern. Dazu gehört auch der Aufbau eigener Online-Plattformen.

DHL eCommerce will auch in Chile zum Game Changer werden

Charles Brewer, CEO von DHL eCommerce, bloggt zum Thema:
www.future-of-ecommerce.com

Die Liste der Länder, in denen DHL eCommerce massiv investiert, ist lang: 1000 neue ServicePoints in Thailand, ein neues Distribution Center im indischen Delhi im Rahmen einer 250-Millionen-Euro-Investitionsstrategie bis zum Jahr 2020, ein weiteres neues Distribution Center im japanischen Narita oder die jüngsten Aktivitäten in Chile sind nur einige Beispiele für den Expansionskurs des Logistikriesen. Das langgezogene Land an der Südwestküste Südamerikas ist für Charles Brewer besonders interessant: „Für Chile sind die wirtschaftlichen Zukunftsaussichten glänzend. Schon jetzt ist das Land beim Onlineshopping die Nummer eins auf dem südlichen Teil des Kontinents, das Volumen wird sich bis zum Jahr 2020 auf 2,3 Milliarden US-Dollar verdoppeln.“ Country Manager Hugo Donoso ergänzt: „In Chile haben 72 Prozent der Menschen Zugang zum Internet, 50 Prozent besitzen ein Smartphone. Damit ist Chile führend in Lateinamerika. Mit unseren Leistungen wollen wir hier zum Game Changer werden und mit hoch qualitativen Logistikleistungen eine Marktlücke füllen.“

Es sind jedoch nicht allein die kleinen oder mittelgroßen Unternehmen, auf die sich DHL eCommerce in den aufgezählten Zukunftsmärkten fokussiert: Internationale Onlinehändler wie Babyonline aus China, Shiseido aus Thailand oder The Healthy Chef aus Australien setzen neben der hohen Netzabdeckung des Logistikers vor allem auf Zusatzleistungen wie die Sendungsverfolgung oder Fulfillment-Möglichkeiten, die von der Bestellannahme über die Lagerhaltung bis hin zur Abrechnung reichen.

Text von Behrend Oldenburg
Fotos: DPDHL

Share This