Cybercrime threatens international transport chains

The transport and logistics sector is increasingly becoming the target of cybercriminals. The risks of data abuse and theft are increasing alongside the ever-expanding digitization of processes by shippers, forwarders, transport companies and infrastructure operators.

Cybercrime threatens international transport chains

The transport and logistics sector is increasingly becoming the target of cybercriminals. The risks of data abuse and theft are increasing alongside the ever-expanding digitization of processes by shippers, forwarders, transport companies and infrastructure operators. In a recent analysis, consultants from Oliver Wyman already warn that damage amounting to around €6 billion through cybercrime will threaten the global logistics industry as early as 2020. In Germany alone, the damage could amount to €450 million.

In a recent analysis, consultants from Oliver Wyman already warn that damage amounting to around €6 billion through cybercrime will threaten the global logistics industry as early as 2020. In Germany alone, the damage could amount to €450 million.
Direct costs of cyber attacks worldwide and in Germany in 2017 vs 2020, in billions of euros.
Worldwide
  • 3.0 billion euros in 2017
  • 6.0 billion euros in 2017
Germany
  • 0.2 billion euros in 2017
  • 0.45 billion euros in 2020

%

growth per year

Does not include indirect costs, such reputational damage and IP loss. Includes freight transport, infrastructure and the ‘last mile’ (no passenger transport). Source: Oliver Wyman analysis
Numerous interfaces with a wide variety of participating companies: Logistic transport chains offer various weak points that can be exploited to gain illegal access and thereby allow customer and employee data to be hacked, warehouse security and control installations to be breached or delivery drones to be hijacked. “Targeted attacks are a much greater threat to transport and logistics providers than the blackmail-based WannaCry attack executed in May this year,” says Max-Alexander Borreck, principal at Oliver Wyman. Threats are not only posed by expert hackers but also by the darknet: On the darknet, criminals – even those who do not possess any in-depth programming knowledge – are potentially able to obtain complete software packages with malicious software or request a cyberattack as a service.
The Internet is not the only risk factor for companies – employees can also be bribed or their ignorance can be misused to gain access to company networks. In addition to technical precautions, special training sessions must be used to promote awareness for security among the workforce and specific plans for emergencies must be developed.

Cybersecurity: Turn risk into opportunity

Industry leaders in logistics have now begun to adapt to cyber threat scenarios. According to the consultants at Oliver Wyman, businesses that make cybersecurity part of their portfolio of goods/services can rise above the competition and turn risk into opportunity. A survey by the aviation IT and telecommunication service provider SITA (Société Internationale de Télécommunication Aéronautique) revealed that 91 percent of airlines also want to invest in cybersecurity programs in the near future.

Text by Benjamin Klare
Sample photo: Pixabay

Cyberkriminalität bedroht internationale Transportketten

Der Transport- und Logistiksektor gerät immer stärker ins Visier von Cyberkriminellen. Mit der zunehmenden Digitalisierung der Prozesse bei Verladern, Spediteuren, Transportunternehmen und Infrastrukturbetreibern wachsen die Gefahren von Datenmissbrauch und -diebstahl.

Cyberkriminalität bedroht internationale Transportketten

Der Transport- und Logistiksektor gerät immer stärker ins Visier von Cyberkriminellen. Mit der zunehmenden Digitalisierung der Prozesse bei Verladern, Spediteuren, Transportunternehmen und Infrastrukturbetreibern wachsen die Gefahren von Datenmissbrauch und -diebstahl. Der weltweiten Logistikbranche drohen bereits 2020 rund sechs Milliarden Euro an Schäden durch Cyberkriminalität, warnen die Berater von Oliver Wyman jetzt in einer aktuellen Analyse. Allein in Deutschland könne sich der Schaden auf 450 Millionen Euro belaufen.

Der weltweiten Logistikbranche drohen bereits 2020 rund sechs Milliarden Euro an Schäden durch Cyberkriminalität, warnen die Berater von Oliver Wyman jetzt in einer aktuellen Analyse. Allein in Deutschland könne sich der Schaden auf 450 Millionen Euro belaufen.
Direkte Kosten von Cyberangriffen weltweit und in Deutschland 2017 vs 2020, in Milliarden Euro.
Weltweit
  • 3,0 Milliarden Euro in 2017
  • 6,0 Milliarden Euro in 2020
Deutschland
  • 0,2 Milliarden Euro in 2017
  • 0,45 Milliarden Euro in 2020

%

Wachstum pro Jahr

Berücksichtigt keine Indirekten Kosten wie Reputationsschäden und IP-Verlust. Umfasst Frachttransport, Infrastruktur und letzte Meile (kein Personentransport) Quelle: Oliver Wyman-Analyse
Viele Schnittstellen, zahlreiche beteiligte Unternehmen: Die Transportketten der Logistik bieten vielfältige Angriffspunkte für illegale Zugriffe. So können beispielsweise Kunden- und Mitarbeiterdaten gehackt, Sicherheits- und Kontrolleinrichtungen von Lagern überwunden oder Lieferdrohnen „entführt“ werden. „Gezielte Attacken sind eine deutlich größere Gefahr für Transport- und Logistikanbieter als etwa die auf Erpressungssoftware basierende Wannacry-Attacke im Mai diesen Jahres“, sagt Max-Alexander Borreck, Principal bei Oliver Wyman. Gefahr drohe nicht nur durch spezialisierte Hacker, sondern auch durch das Darknet: Dort könnten Kriminelle, die selbst über keine tiefer gehenden Programmierkenntnisse verfügen, komplette Softwarepakete mit Schadsoftware erwerben oder eine Cyberattacke als Dienstleistung buchen.
Doch nicht nur das Internet stellt für Unternehmen einen Risikofaktor dar – auch Mitarbeiter können bestochen oder ihre Unwissenheit ausgenutzt werden, um Zugang zu Firmennetzwerken zu erhalten. Zusätzlich zu technischen Vorkehrungen müsse durch spezielle Trainings ein Sicherheitsbewusstsein in der Belegschaft geschaffen und konkrete Pläne für den Notfall ausgearbeitet werden.

Cybersicherheit: Das Risiko zu einer Chance machen

Branchenführer der Logistik haben inzwischen damit begonnen, sich auf Cyber-Bedrohungsszenarien einzustellen. Wer Cybersicherheit zu einem Teil seines Angebotsportfolios mache, könne sich vom Wettbewerb abheben und das Risiko zu einer Chance machen, so die Berater von Oliver Wyman. Eine Umfrage des Luftfahrt-IT- und Telekommunikationsdienstleister SITA (Société Internationale de Télécommunication Aéronautique) ergab, dass auch 91 Prozent der Fluggesellschaften kurzfristig in Cybersicherheitsprogramme investieren wollen.

Text von Benjamin Klare
Symbolfoto: Pixabay
Share This