The countdown has begun for the German Aviation Innovation Award 2018

The next round of the German Aviation Innovation Award (IDL) has begun, and this year already marks the third time it will be awarded. Individuals, start-ups and companies who are carrying out innovative work in the sector of civil aviation are still able to submit an application for the German Aviation Innovation Award 2018 until February 25. In addition to the time-honored categories “Digitisation in aviation”, “Reduction of emissions” and “Customer Journey”, this year, for the first time, it is possible to submit applications based on innovations which are not aviation-based but which are used within aviation or vice versa in the new category “Cross-Innovation”.

“The aviation industry is a highly innovative sector. Differentiated customer requirements and international competition challenge us on a day-to-day basis” said Dr. Stefan Schulte, CEO of Fraport AG, with regard to the German Aviation Innovation Award 2017. The Frankfurt-based airport operator positions itself as innovation leader in the air freight industry and is one of the partners behind the prize. According to Schulte “innovation is more important for the sustainable growth of a company than ever before. The German Aviation Innovation Award will provide the industry with a valuable stimulus and promote new approaches – this will strengthen German aviation.”

In 2016, Lufthansa received the accolade of the German Aviation Innovation Award in the “Reduction of emissions” category. Lufthansa Cargo has been using the OMEGA (Ops Monitor and Efficiency Gap Analyzer) analysis tool for two years now, which helps pilots to fly more efficiently.
The 2017 prize winner in the “Customer Journey” category was the Hamburg-based start-up jetlite, which developed an algorithm to manage cabin lighting on long-distance flights in order to prevent jet lag. “Not only does winning the prize mean an important confirmation to us that jetlite is viewed as innovative by significant industry representatives, the German Aviation Innovation Award (IDL) has drawn the attention of the entire industry to us”, reports Managing Director Dr. Achim Leder. “We view IDL as a seal of approval which will play an important role for us in customer acquisition.” Other IDL prize winners in 2017 were Premium AEROTEC (“Reduction of emissions” category), Wingcopter (“Flying outside of the box” category) und Airbus Operations (“Digitisation in aviation” category).

The German Aviation Innovation Award will be presented at ILA Berlin

This year too, a jury of experts will determine the winner of the German Aviation Innovation Award and present the award on April 25 at the ILA 2018 under the leadership of Prof. Rolf Henke, Member of the Executive Board for Aviation Research and Technology at the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt – DLR) in Berlin. The sponsor is Brigitte Zypries, Federal Minister for Economics and Energy, the Federal Government’s coordinator for aviation in Germany. The IDL is organized by the German Aerospace Industries Association (BDLI), the German Aviation Association (BDL), the Digital Association Bitkom and the P3 group, which provides consultancy and engineering services.
Text by Benjamin Klare
Photos: Fraport/Frank Seifert

Countdown für den Innovationspreis der Deutschen Luftfahrt 2018 läuft

Der Innovationspreis der Deutschen Luftfahrt (IDL) geht in die nächste Runde und wird in diesem Jahr bereits zum dritten Mal verliehen. Noch bis zum 25. Februar können sich Einzelpersonen, Start-ups und Unternehmen, die Innovationen für die zivile Luftfahrt hervorbringen, mit ihren Ideen und Konzepten um den Innovationspreis der Deutschen Luftfahrt 2018 bewerben. Neben den bewährten Kategorien „Industrie 4.0“, „Emissionsreduktion“ und „Customer Journey“ können in diesem Jahr erstmals auch Innovationen aus luftfahrtfremden Branchen, die in der Luftfahrt Anwendung finden oder umgekehrt, in der neuen Kategorie „Cross-Innovation“ eingereicht werden.

„Der Luftverkehr ist eine hoch innovative Branche. Differenzierte Kundenanforderungen und internationaler Wettbewerb sind unsere tägliche Herausforderung“, sagte Dr. Stefan Schulte, Vorstandsvorsitzender Fraport AG, anlässlich der Vergabe des Innovationspreises der Deutschen Luftfahrt 2017. Der Frankfurter Flughafenbetreiber versteht sich als Innovationsführer im Bereich Luftfracht und ist einer der Partner des Preises. „Mehr denn je sind Innovationen für das nachhaltige Wachstum eines Unternehmens von Bedeutung. Der Innovationspreis der Deutschen Luftfahrt wird hier wertvolle Impulse geben, neue Ansätze fördern – und damit die Zukunftsfähigkeit des deutschen Luftverkehrsstandorts stärken“, so Schulte.

Lufthansa ist 2016 mit dem Innovationspreis der Deutschen Luftfahrt in der Kategorie „Emissionsreduktion“ ausgezeichnet worden. Prämiert wurde die Airline für das Analysetool OMEGA (Ops Monitor and Efficiency Gap Analyzer), das Piloten dabei hilft, ökologisch effizient zu fliegen.

Preisträger 2017 in der Kategorie „Customer Journey“ war das Hamburger Start-up jetlite, das einen Algorithmus zur Steuerung der Kabinenbeleuchtung auf Langstreckenflügen entwickelt hat, um Jetlags vorzubeugen. „Neben der für uns wichtigen Bestätigung, dass jetlite von relevanten Repräsentanten der Branche als Innovation betrachtet wird, hat der IDL für uns in der ganzen Branche eine entsprechende Aufmerksamkeit gebracht“, berichtet Geschäftsführer Dr. Achim Leder. „Wir betrachten den IDL als Gütesiegel, das für uns im Rahmen der Kundenakquise eine wichtige Rolle spielen wird.“ Weitere IDL-Preisträger 2017 waren Premium AEROTEC (Kategorie „Emissionsreduktion“), Wingcopter (Kategorie „Fliegen neu Denken“) und Airbus Operations (Kategorie „Industrie 4.0“).

Innovationspreis der Deutschen Luftfahrt wird auf der ILA Berlin verliehen

Auch in diesem Jahr wird eine Expertenjury unter Vorsitz von Prof. Rolf Henke, Vorstand für Luftfahrtforschung und -technologie beim Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), die Sieger des Innovationspreises der Deutschen Luftfahrt ermitteln und diese am 25. April auf der ILA 2018 in Berlin auszeichnen. Schirmherrin ist Bundeswirtschaftsministerin Brigitte Zypries, Koordinatorin der Bundesregierung für die Deutsche Luft- und Raumfahrt. Ausgerichtet wird der IDL vom Bundesverband der Deutschen Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie (BDLI), Bundesverband der Deutschen Luftverkehrswirtschaft (BDL), Digitalverband Bitkom sowie von der P3 group, einem Anbieter von Beratungs- und Ingenieurdienstleistungen.

Text von Benjamin Klare
Fotos: Fraport/Frank Seifert

Share This