Cargo sous terrain wants to move freight transport underground

Switzerland now has the world’s longest tunnel thanks to the completion of the 57-kilometer-long Gotthard Base Tunnel in 2016. Freight trains travelling on two lines running side by side transport around 40 million tons of goods through the rocky mountain on a yearly basis. The Swiss wish to use Cargo sous terrain (CST) to once again become a logistical trailblazer and take the country’s freight traffic underground on a large scale – from Geneva to St. Gallen and from Basel to Lucerne, an underground tunnel system measuring a total of 450 kilometers in length is to be built. The first section of the railway is expected to start operating in 2030.

People aboveground, freight underground: That’s the concept behind the innovative freight transport system, which is supposed to expand Switzerland’s transport infrastructure in the short term and then transform the world of logistics beyond national borders in the medium term. Cargo sous terrain will enable Switzerland to have more than just a completely new transport route used exclusively for transporting goods; it will open up the limited space available aboveground for rail and roads by up to 40 percent. Based on the freight traffic forecasts that expect Switzerland’s transport volume to increase by up to 45 percent by 2030, solutions are urgently needed to compensate the increasing flows of traffic.

Cargo sous terrain: fully automatic transport of goods on three-lane tunnels

Cargo sous terrain’s logistics system is based on two main elements: For one, the underground transport tunnel, and secondly the efficient, environmentally friendly distribution of goods to urban centers. CST vehicles running on wheels are to travel in the three-lane tunnels at a constant speed of 30 km/h. At a total of around 80 different access points (so-called “hubs”), goods such as packages, piece goods and bulk materials are automatically fed into or removed from the system on pallets and in containers. The consolidated delivery of goods finally takes place above the ground in cities using environmentally friendly, quiet vehicles. The CST system enables particularly efficient transport because goods can already be organized in the order that they are to be delivered inside the tunnel.

Cargo sous terrain’s purpose is to connect industrial and logistics centers throughout Switzerland to major cities by providing a six-meter-wide and six-meter-high underground tunnel. The upper tunnel in the figure shows a cross-section; the lower tunnel provides a top view of the identical section. Goods to be transported are picked up at the source (top left) and then transported through the tunnel system to so-called city hubs located on the edges of metropolitan areas (top right). A lift transports transport vehicles in and out of the tunnel. On the last mile, the consolidated delivery of goods is carried out aboveground.

“Cargo sous terrain is an innovative overall logistics system that connects industrial and logistics areas with large agglomerations and vice versa – fully automatic and paired with intelligent, future-oriented control systems,” says Peter Sutterlüti, Chairman of the Board of Cargo sous terrain AG, in which key market players such as Migros, Coop, Swiss Post, SBB Cargo and Rhenus Logistics have stakes. Cargo sous terrain’s latest partner is SAP: The market leader in business software is contributing to the project with its knowledge of the Internet of Things and digital platforms. “We are very pleased to be supporting this groundbreaking project with our IoT solutions. In collaboration with project partners, we will also work on innovation topics such as machine learning and blockchains,” explains Dr. Tanja Rückert, President of IoT & Digital Supply Chain at SAP.

Construction work on the first CST railway section measuring almost 70 kilometers in length and connecting Härkingen-Niederbipp to Zurich is slated to begin in 2023. Cargo sous terrain is to be gradually expanded in the years to come. The project is estimated to cost approx. 33 billion Swiss francs (around 29 billion euros).

Text by Benjamin Klare
Figures: Cargo sous terrain

Cargo sous terrain will Gütertransport unter die Erde verlegen

Mit dem 2016 fertiggestellten und 57 Kilometer langen Gotthard-Basistunnel verfügt die Schweiz schon heute über den längsten Tunnel der Welt. In zwei parallel verlaufenden Röhren verkehren hauptsächlich Güterzüge, die jährlich etwa 40 Millionen Tonnen Waren durch das Felsmassiv transportieren. Mit Cargo sous terrain (CST) wollen die Eidgenossen nun erneut logistischer Vorreiter sein und den Güterverkehr des Landes in großem Maßstab unter die Erde verlegen – von Genf bis St. Gallen und von Basel bis Luzern soll ein unterirdisches Tunnelsystem mit einer Gesamtlänge von 450 Kilometern entstehen. 2030 soll das erste Teilstück in Betrieb genommen werden.

Menschen oberirdisch, Güter unterirdisch. So lautet das Konzept hinter dem innovativen Gütertransportsystem, das zunächst die Verkehrsinfrastruktur der Schweiz erweitern und mittelfristig die Logistikwelt auch über die Landesgrenzen hinaus verändern soll. Denn mit Cargo sous terrain soll in der Schweiz nicht weniger als ein völlig neuer Verkehrsweg entstehen, der ausschließlich dem Gütertransport vorbehalten ist und den knappen oberirdischen Straßen- und Schienenraum um bis zu 40 Prozent entlasten soll. Angesichts der Güterverkehrsprognosen, nach denen das Transportaufkommen in der Schweiz bis 2030 um bis zu 45 Prozent wächst, werden dringend Lösungen zum Auffangen der zunehmenden Verkehrsströme benötigt.

Cargo sous terrain: Vollautomatischer Gütertransport in dreispurigen Tunneln

Das Logistiksystem von Cargo sous terrain umfasst zwei Bestandteile: Zum einen den unterirdischen Transporttunnel, zum anderen eine effiziente, umweltfreundliche Feinverteilung von Gütern in den städtischen Zentren. Der Gütertransport soll folgendermaßen ablaufen: In dreispurigen Tunneln verkehren die mit Rädern ausgestatteten CST-Fahrzeuge im konstanten Tempo von 30 km/h. An insgesamt rund 80 verschiedenen Zugangspunkten, den sogenannten Hubs, werden Güter auf Paletten und in Behältern vollautomatisch in das System eingespeist oder diesem entnommen – beispielsweise Pakete, Stück- oder Schüttgüter. In den städtischen Zentren erfolgt die konsolidierte Zustellung der Waren schließlich oberirdisch mit umweltfreundlichen, leisen Fahrzeugen. Das CST-System ermöglicht besonders effiziente Touren, da die Waren bereits im Tunnel in die Reihenfolge der Auslieferung gebracht werden können.

Cargo sous terrain soll Industrie- und Logistikzentren in der Schweiz durch einen unterirdischen, sechs Meter breiten und sechs Meter hohen Tunnel mit den großen Städten verbinden. Der obere Tunnel in der Abbildung zeigt einen Querschnitt, der untere eine Draufsicht des identischen Streckenabschnitts. Zu transportierende Waren werden an der Quelle abgeholt (links oben im Bild) und durch das Tunnelsystem zu sogenannten City-Hubs an die Ränder von Ballungsgebieten gebracht (rechts oben). Ein Lift befördert die Transportfahrzeuge in den Tunnel und wieder hinaus. Auf der letzten Meile erfolgt die konsolidierte Auslieferung der Waren oberirdisch.

„Cargo sous terrain ist ein innovatives Gesamtlogistiksystem, welches die Industrie- und Logistikräume mit den großen Agglomerationen verbindet und umgekehrt – vollautomatisch und mit intelligenten, zukunftsorientierten Steuerungssystemen gekoppelt“, sagt Peter Sutterlüti, Verwaltungsratspräsident der Cargo sous terrain AG, an der zentrale Marktakteure wie Migros, Coop, Schweizerische Post, SBB Cargo und Rhenus Logistics beteiligt sind. Neuester Partner von Cargo sous terrain ist SAP: Der Marktführer für Unternehmenssoftware bringt sein Know-how in den Bereichen Internet of Things und digitale Plattformen in das Projekt ein. „Wir unterstützen dieses zukunftsweisende Projekt sehr gerne mit unseren IoT-Lösungen. Gemeinsam mit den Projektpartnern werden wir darüber hinaus an Innovationsthemen wie Machine Learning und Blockchain im Kontext der Logistik der Zukunft arbeiten“, erläutert Dr. Tanja Rückert, President IoT & Digital Supply Chain bei SAP.

Die Bauarbeiten für die erste, knapp 70 Kilometer lange CST-Teilstrecke von Härkingen-Niederbipp bis Zürich sollen 2023 beginnen. In den folgenden Jahren soll Cargo sous terrain stufenweise ausgebaut werden. Die Kosten für das Projekt werden auf 33 Milliarden Schweizer Franken (umgerechnet rund 29 Milliarden Euro) geschätzt.

Text von Benjamin Klare
Abbildungen: Cargo sous terrain

Share This