Making airfreight safe with CairGoLution

Shipments are opened without permission, dangerous substances are illegally imported, and even entire transport containers are stolen: Unfortunately, situations like this happen over and over again in the aviation industry.

The Fraunhofer working group for Supply Chain Services SCS (Fraunhofer SCS) based in Nuremberg estimates that around 270 million euros in damages occur on an annual basis due to the loss or damage of unit load devices (ULDs). “If the goods carriers in the airfreight logistics chain could be monitored worldwide, a fundamental precondition to ensuring the safe transport from the consignor to the consignee would be ensured,” says Tobias Seidler, head of the CairGoLution project within the Fraunhofer SCS working group. The logistics service provider DHL Express as well as the telematics specialist Telic from Oberhaching near Munich were involved in this project, whose goal was to implement a control system that detects ULD integrity breaches and, if necessary, reports them to a control center. “Uniting our proven tracking systems with a networking technology developed by the Fraunhofer Institute has enabled us to ensure safe monitoring and localization of airfreight,” explains Andreas Kirst, Project Manager at Telic.

Successful test operation: An airfreight container equipped with CairGoLution components completed its first flight in January 2017. Now the system is ready for series production.

A monitoring system uses sensors to reliably detect unauthorized access to the contents of ULDs and then sends a real-time alarm message to the person responsible for the shipment as well as the respective authorities.

In January 2017, a first test flight flew roundtrip from the DHL hub in Leipzig, Germany, to Bergamo, Italy, carrying a CairGoLution ULD on board – demonstrating that the technology works reliably. Compared to monitoring containers sent by sea or land transport, the difficulty lies in the details, explains Kirst: “Airfreight doesn’t listen when the captain tells the passengers to turn off their cell phones before take-off. This means that we have to use intelligent technology to ensure that data is not automatically transferred during the flight.” A whole range of IATA regulations also had to be fulfilled; “it’s up to airlines, however, to make the final decision on whether CairGoLution can be brought on board,” Kirst emphasizes. Of course, a test flight is just meant to be the beginning: “If we pay five-digit sums for sensor technology, then the one-off costs for each system should be in the lower triple-digit euro range,” Kirst predicts. A reasonable amount for the long-term security of valuable loads in ULDs.

The CairGoLution transmitter module is also powered by low light sources and has all the necessary aeronautical certifications.

Text by Behrend Oldenburg
Photos: Frank Steinert/DHL Express

CairGoLution macht die Luftfracht sicher

Sendungen werden unautorisiert geöffnet, Gefahrstoffe unerlaubt eingebracht, ja sogar ganze Transportcontainer gestohlen: Leider kommt es auch in der Luftfahrt immer wieder zu Zwischenfällen dieser Art.

Die Fraunhofer-Arbeitsgruppe für Supply Chain Services SCS (Fraunhofer SCS) in Nürnberg schätzt, dass der Branche allein durch Verlust oder Beschädigungen von Unit Load Devices (ULDs) jährlich ein Schaden von rund 270 Millionen Euro entsteht. „Wenn die Waren- und Ladungsträger in der Luftfracht-Logistikkette weltweit durchgängig überwacht werden könnten, wäre eine wesentliche Voraussetzung für einen sicheren Transport vom Versender bis zum Empfänger gewährleistet“, sagt Tobias Seidler. Er ist innerhalb der Fraunhofer SCS-Arbeitsgruppe Leiter des Projekts CairGoLution, an dem sich neben anderen Unternehmen auch der Logistikdienstleister DHL Express und der Telematikspezialist Telic aus Oberhaching bei München beteiligt haben. Entsprechendes Ziel des Projektes war die Umsetzung eines Kontrollsystems, das Integritätsverletzungen von ULDs erkennt und im Bedarfsfall an eine Zentrale meldet. „Durch die Kombination unserer bewährten Tracking-Systeme mit einer vom Fraunhofer-Institut entwickelten Vernetzungstechnologie können wir jetzt eine sichere Überwachung und Lokalisierung der Luftfracht gewährleisten“, erklärt Andreas Kirst, Leiter Projektvertrieb bei Telic.

Erfolgreicher Probebetrieb: Ein mit CairGoLution-Komponenten bestückter Luftfrachtcontainer absolvierte im Januar 2017 seinen Jungfernflug. Jetzt ist das System serienreif.

Ein Monitoring-System erkennt mit Hilfe von Sensoren zuverlässig unautorisierte Zugriffe auf die Inhalte von ULDs und sendet dann in Echtzeit eine Alarmmeldung an die Verantwortlichen der Sendung und die jeweiligen Behörden.

Ein erster Testflug im Januar 2017 mit einem CairGoLution-ULD vom DHL-Hub in Leipzig nach Bergamo in Italien und zurück zeigte, dass die Technik zuverlässig funktioniert. Denn die Tücke liegt im Vergleich mit der Überwachung von Containern im See- oder Landverkehr im Detail, erläutert Kirst: „Die Luftfracht hört nicht zu, wenn der Flugkapitän die Passagiere vor dem Start um das Ausschalten der Handys bittet. Wir müssen also mit intelligenter Technik dafür sorgen, dass die Datenübertragung während des Fluges automatisch unterbleibt.“ Zudem waren eine ganze Reihe von Vorschriften der IATA zu erfüllen – „die letzte Entscheidung, ob CairGoLution an Bord darf, treffen jedoch die Airlines“, betont Kirst. Denn bei dem einen Probeflug soll es natürlich nicht bleiben: „Wenn wir auf fünfstellige Stückzahlen für die Sensortechnik kommen, werden die einmaligen Kosten pro System im unteren dreistelligen Eurobereich liegen“, rechnet Kirst vor. Ein überschaubarer Betrag für die langfristige Sicherheit der wertvollen Ladung in den ULDs.

Das CairGoLution-Sendemodul gewinnt Strom auch aus geringen Lichtquellen und verfügt über alle nötigen luftfahrttechnischen Zulassungen.

Text von Behrend Oldenburg
Fotos: Frank Steinert/DHL Express

Share This