Boeing is opening the Digital Aviation & Analytics Lab Frankfurt

The US aircraft manufacturer, Boeing, has opened the Digital Aviation & Analytics Lab Frankfurt in a large hall, in which navigation charts for aviation were once printed. Here in Neu-Isenburg near Frankfurt, approximately 60 experts are now researching how flight operations can be further digitized, testing new control systems for drones, or are considering how a completely digitized cabin can be brought to the market.

Looking at aeronautical charts printed on paper is a thing of the past for most cockpit crews. The result: The printing shop of the very first aeronautical charts publisher, Jeppesen, was no longer needed and was shut down. Today, Jeppesen, who in the meantime had become a subsidiary of Boeing, is entirely focused on digital navigation and the development of electronic cockpit assistance systems. Jeppesen has been active in Germany for 60 years and with 450 employees, the navigation specialist has remained loyal to the Neu-Isenburg location near the Frankfurt Airport. The airy printing and distribution hall, since emptied, is the only space, for which the company has no use. Boeing quickly realized the potential of the space. And thus, Neu-Isenburg became the newest research and development facility in Boeing’s Digital Aviation & Analytics network with locations in Göteborg, Danzig, Denver and Vancouver.

The aviation company is rapidly transitioning from an aircraft manufacturer to a comprehensive service company in the aviation industry. It was only in July of 2017 that the US company founded the business unit, Boeing Global Services, which aims to bring together the widely diversified service divisions and facilitate exchanges with other research centers.

Together, they opened the new Digital Aviation & Analytics Lab Frankfurt while operations were already ongoing (from left): Jürgen Otte (Managing Director Boeing CAS Holding GmbH), Sir Michael Arthur (President Boeing Europe), Dr. Michael Haidinger (President Boeing Deutschland), Marc Allen (President Boeing International and member of the Boeing Executive Council), Dr. Jens Schiefele (Director Research & Rapid Development) and Bernd Bührmann-Montigny (Managing Director Jeppesen GmbH)

“Aviation is poised on the threshold of a radical change that is being driven by digitization, unmanned aircraft and reduced crew requirements”, Dr. Jens Schiefele explained to guests at the opening ceremony. He is the Director of Research & Rapid Development at Boeing. With this new facility, Boeing wants to offer its customers from the aerospace industry cost-effective and efficient services, as well as support them with digitization, networking and optimization, thus helping to shape the future of the aerospace industry.

The meaning of the term “Rapid Development” in Schiefele’s job title is immediately clear when you look at the converted hall and the working methods of the specialists: As the move into the hall had to go fast, meeting rooms, for example, were only built during ongoing operations, so improvisation was the watchword of the day. Instead of elaborate, professional flight simulators, PC joysticks and Microsoft’s Flight Simulator X can be found on the desks. Even when it comes to implementing projects, speed is at the top of the agenda for the engineers, computer and database experts, interface designers and all of the other employees: The time required for the development of new products is to be dramatically reduced, since this is a lengthy and expensive process for large corporations like Boeing, stressed Schiefele: “After all, it is not the developments themselves that consume so much time, but the rigid processes that slow us down. And that is what we want to change here.”

The current research projects at the “Digital Aviation & Analytics Lab Frankfurt”

  • Analytics: Existing data from flight operations is to be better evaluated and linked.
  • Drones: In order to optimize the control of drones, a test flight operation is set up for the in-house mail.
  • Reduced crew operations: The development of a cockpit with reduced crew or only one active pilot, while the second pilot sleeps in the resting berth.
  • Smart aircraft cabin: A Boeing 787 is being tested in a mock-up to determine how individual components in the cabin can be detected and monitored using the RFID chip. This includes whether all of the life vests are present, and equipped with compressed air cartridges, for example.

Text by Behrend Oldenburg
Photos: Boeing/Patrick Rodwell

Boeing eröffnet Digital Aviation & Analytics Lab Frankfurt

In einer großen Halle, in der früher Navigationskarten für die Luftfahrt gedruckt wurden, hat der US-Flugzeugbauer Boeing das Digital Aviation & Analytics Lab Frankfurt eröffnet. Hier, in Neu-Isenburg bei Frankfurt, erforschen jetzt bis zu 60 Experten, wie sich der Flugbetrieb weiter digitalisieren lässt, testen neue Steuersysteme für Drohnen oder machen sich Gedanken, wie eine komplett digitalisierte Kabine zur Marktreife geführt werden kann.

Der Blick auf die Luftfahrtkarte aus Papier gehört für die meisten Cockpit-Crews der Vergangenheit an. Die Folge: Die Druckerei des weltweit ersten Luftfahrtkartenverlages Jeppesen wurde nicht mehr gebraucht und stillgelegt. Jeppesen, mittlerweile eine Boeing-Tochter, konzentriert sich heute ganz auf die digitale Navigation und die Entwicklung elektronischer Cockpit-Assistenzsysteme. Seit mittlerweile 60 Jahren ist Jeppesen in Deutschland aktiv, mit seinen 450 Mitarbeitern ist der Navigationsspezialist dem Standort Neu-Isenburg in der Nähe des Frankfurter Flughafens treu geblieben. Nur für die mittlerweile leergeräumte, luftige Druck- und Distributionshalle hatte das Unternehmen keine Verwendung mehr. Boeing hat das räumliche Potenzial jedoch schnell erkannt. Und so wurde Neu-Isenburg zur jüngsten Forschungs- und Entwicklungseinrichtung im Digital Aviation & Analytics-Netzwerk von Boeing mit Standorten in Göteborg, Danzig, Denver und Vancouver.

Der Luftfahrtkonzern befindet sich im rasanten Wandel vom Flugzeugbauer zu einem umfassenden Service-Unternehmen in der Luftfahrt. Erst im Juli 2017 gründete der US-Konzern den Geschäftsbereich Boeing Global Services, der die weit verzweigten Dienstleistungssparten zusammenführen und den Austausch mit anderen Forschungszentren ermöglichen soll.

Sie eröffneten gemeinsam das neue Digital Aviation & Analytics Lab Frankfurt bei schon laufendem Betrieb (von links): Jürgen Otte (Managing Director Boeing CAS Holding GmbH), Sir Michael Arthur (President Boeing Europe), Dr. Michael Haidinger (President Boeing Deutschland), Marc Allen (President Boeing International und Mitglied des Boeing Executive Council), Dr. Jens Schiefele (Director Research & Rapid Development) und Bernd Bührmann-Montigny (Managing Director Jeppesen GmbH)

„Die Luftfahrt steht an der Schwelle zu einer radikalen Veränderung, die durch Digitalisierung, unbemannte Flugsysteme und Reduced Crew Requirements getrieben wird“, erklärte Dr. Jens Schiefele den Gästen auf der Einweihungsfeier. Er ist Director Research & Rapid Development bei Boeing. Mit der neuen Einrichtung wolle Boeing seinen Kunden aus der Luft- und Raumfahrt kostengünstige und effiziente Services anbieten, sie bei der Digitalisierung, Vernetzung und Optimierung unterstützen und so die Zukunft der Luftfahrtindustrie mitgestalten.

Welche Bedeutung der Begriff „Rapid Development“ im Jobtitel von Schiefele hat, wird bei einem Blick in die umgewandelte Halle und auf die Arbeitsweise der Spezialisten sofort deutlich: Beim Bezug der Halle musste es schnell gehen, Besprechungsräume beispielsweise wurden erst nachträglich und bei laufendem Betrieb eingebaut, Improvisation steht hoch im Kurs. Statt aufwändiger, professioneller Flugsimulatoren finden sich PC-Joysticks und Microsofts Flight Simulator X auf den Schreibtischen. Auch bei der Umsetzung der Projekte steht Schnelligkeit für die Ingenieure, Computer- und Datenbankexperten, Schnittstellen-Designer und alle anderen Mitarbeiter ganz oben auf der Tagesordnung: Der Zeitaufwand für die Entwicklung neuer Produkte soll drastisch reduziert werden, ist er doch gerade bei Großkonzernen wie Boeing ein langwieriger und teurer Prozess, betont Schiefele: „Es sind nämlich nicht die Entwicklungen selbst, die viel Zeit verschlingen, sondern die starren Verfahren, die uns aufhalten. Und das wollen wir hier ändern.“

Die aktuellen Forschungsprojekte im „Digital Aviation & Analytics Lab Frankfurt“

  • Analytik: Vorhandene Daten aus dem Flugbetrieb sollen besser ausgewertet und verknüpft werden.
  • Drohnen: Um die Steuerung von Drohnen zu optimieren, wird ein Testflugbetrieb für die Hauspost eingerichtet.
  • Reduced Crew Operations: Entwicklung eines Cockpits mit reduzierter Besatzung bzw. nur einem aktiven Piloten, während der zweite Pilot in der Ruhekoje schläft.
  • Smarte Flugzeugkabine: Im Mock-Up einer Boeing 787 wird untersucht, wie viele Einzelteile in der Kabine per RFID-Chip erfasst und überwacht werden können. Dazu gehören beispielsweise die Vollzähligkeit von Schwimmwesten und deren Ausstattung mit funktionsfähigen Druckluftkartuschen.

Text von Behrend Oldenburg
Fotos: Boeing/Patrick Rodwell

Share This