Blockchains: a new technology with immense potential for trade and logistics

“Blockchains are distributed, forgery-proof data structures in which transactions are logged in their time sequence, transparent, unchangeable and mapped without a central instance. With blockchain technology, ownership structures can be secured and regulated more directly and more efficiently than in the past, as a complete, unchangeable data recording process creates the basis for this.”

SOURCE: GERMAN FEDERAL FINANCIAL SUPERVISORY AUTHORITY (BUNDESANSTALT FÜR FINANZDIENSTLEISTUNGSAUFSICHT, BaFin)

Today blockchains are perhaps the biggest current piece of hype in the digital world. Few industries have not already discovered this new buzzword for themselves – and attempted to define it in ways that are often enigmatic. Yet the fact that the German Federal Supervisory Authority, of all bodies, has been able to produce a clear explanation is not without good reason, as this form of data technology can revolutionize the world of finance above all. It is possible that in a few years it will not only make payments, the issuing of credit, and securities trading faster and cheaper but may also may make banks themselves unnecessary.

A blockchain is constructed like a gigantic database that is not tied to a specific piece of hardware; instead its network protocols are distributed in a decentralized manner to a large number of different computers. According to experts, this makes hacking impossible. As a neutral documentation system for sensitive information in particular, the application potential of blockchains in many economic sectors is immense. “This has given us, for example, increased transparency in our aircraft maintenance activities,” says Patrick Götze, Director of Sales New Business at Lufthansa Industry Solutions. “Within a blockchain, a piece of information can be traced at any time. This is particularly advantageous where different companies are working together and using the same data, such as when fitting replacement parts during aircraft maintenance.”

Verification of original parts for aircraft maintenance is one of the many applications for the new technology. It enables replacement parts to be registered in a blockchain immediately after manufacture, together with all relevant information. When a particular component is installed on an aircraft, its data is then stored in another blockchain. Similarly, all subsequent repairs to this component are again stored in a separate blockchain. The result is a complete documentation, that can no longer be manipulated, and that extends over multiple companies.

Bernhard Kube,
Vice President Technology Consulting,
Lufthansa Industry Solutions

Just how large the potential for blockchain technology really is, is a question that Lufthansa Industry Solutions now aims to determine using one of its own laboratories. Since September 2017 the IT provider from Norderstedt, near Hamburg, has been operating a ‘blockchain lab’. Here the company, in collaboration with external experts and institutions, tests out the new technology and its many potential uses. “Our ‘blockchain lab’ is where we develop, trial and test new processes and potential applications based on blockchain technology,” explains Bernhard Kube. And the Vice President Technology Consulting at Lufthansa Industry Solutions is confident: “For such complex topics, a lab of this kind is the key to success – because companies can focus on completely specific questions, with the aid of our experts, and can test out the potential of blockchains for their own business success.”

In addition to the verification of original parts in aircraft maintenance, another possible application for blockchains in the air cargo business is secure tracking for high-value goods, such as fresh food. This has also been recognized by IT services provider IBM, which has recently set up cooperation on blockchains with a number of international companies in the food industry. Members are Dole, Driscoll’s, Golden State Foods, Kroger, McCormick and Company, Nestlé, McLane Company, Tyson Foods, Unilever and Walmart. The joint objective here is to substantially increase the safety of food products throughout the entire supply chain. According to data provided by IBM, many problems relating to food safety, such as contamination, were compounded by lack of access to information and poor traceability. Today, it can thus take weeks to trace the exact causes of a case of contamination.

“Blockchain technology is changing the way like-minded organizations can work together,” believes Marie Wieck, IBM’s general manager for blockchains. “Mutual trust increases immensely since all parties see the situation in exactly the same perspective that there is a ‘single view of the truth’.”

The use of blockchain technology makes sense wherever transparency and traceability are necessary. Food safety is a particularly interesting field of application. The use of blockchains should encourage greater consumer confidence, for in future impartial, reliable information concerning the origin and the condition of food items should be accessible throughout the supply chain, from the farm through transport to the supermarket shelves.

Text by Behrend Oldenburg
Photos: Fotolia/Elnur, Lufthansa

Blockchain: Neue Technologie mit riesigem Potenzial für Handel und Logistik

„Blockchains sind fälschungssichere, verteilte Datenstrukturen, in denen Transaktionen in der Zeitfolge protokolliert, nachvollziehbar, unveränderlich und ohne zentrale Instanz abgebildet sind. Mit der Blockchain-Technologie lassen sich Eigentumsverhältnisse direkter und effizienter als bislang sichern und regeln, da eine lückenlose und unveränderliche Datenaufzeichnung hierfür die Grundlage schafft.“

QUELLE: BUNDESANSTALT FÜR FINANZDIENSTLEISTUNGSAUFSICHT (BaFin)

Die Blockchain ist der vielleicht größte, aktuelle Hype in der digitalen Welt. Kaum eine Branche, die das neue Buzzword nicht für sich entdeckt hat – und sich in oft rätselhaften Definitionen versucht. Dass ausgerechnet der deutschen Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht eine durchaus verständliche Erklärung gelingt, hat einen Grund: Die Datentechnologie kann vor allem die Finanzwelt revolutionieren. Möglicherweise macht sie schon in wenigen Jahren den Zahlungsverkehr, die Vergabe von Krediten oder den Wertpapierhandel nicht nur schneller und günstiger, sondern auch die Banken überflüssig.

Eine Blockchain ist aufgebaut wie eine riesige Datenbank, die nicht an eine konkrete Hardware gebunden ist, sondern deren Netzwerkprotokolle dezentral auf vielen verschiedenen Computern verteilt sind und dadurch nach Ansicht von Experten nicht mehr gehackt werden können. Als neutrales Dokumentationssystem für überwiegend sensible Informationen ist das Einsatzpotenzial der Blockchain in vielen Feldern der Wirtschaft immens: „So könnte sie etwa die Transparenz in der Flugzeugwartung erhöhen“, sagt Patrick Götze, Director Sales New Business bei Lufthansa Industry Solutions. „Innerhalb einer Blockchain kann eine Information jederzeit nachvollzogen werden. Das bringt besonders dann Vorteile, wenn verschiedene Unternehmen zusammenarbeiten und die gleichen Daten nutzen, wie beispielsweise beim Einbau von Ersatzteilen in der Flugzeugwartung.“

Die Verifizierung von Originalteilen für die Flugzeugwartung ist eines der vielfältigen Einsatzfelder der neuen Technologie. So könnten Ersatzteile nach ihrer Herstellung mit allen relevanten Informationen in einer Blockchain registriert werden. Wird das Teil in ein Flugzeug eingebaut, werden diese Daten in einer weiteren Blockchain gespeichert. Ebenso werden alle späteren Reparaturen an diesem Bauteil wiederum in einer separaten Blockchain gespeichert. So entsteht eine lückenlose und nicht mehr manipulierbare Dokumentation über verschiedene Unternehmen hinweg.

Bernhard Kube,
Vice President Technology Consulting,
Lufthansa Industry Solutions

Wie groß das Potenzial der Blockchain-Technologie wirklich ist, will Lufthansa Industry Solutions jetzt mit einem eigenen Labor herausfinden. Seit September 2017 verfügt der IT-Dienstleister aus Norderstedt bei Hamburg über ein „Blockchain Lab“. Hier erprobt das Unternehmen zusammen mit anderen Experten und Institutionen die neue Technologie und ihre vielfältigen Einsatzmöglichkeiten. „Unser ‚Blockchain Lab‘ ist der Ort zum Entwickeln, Ausprobieren und Testen von neuen Prozessen und Einsatzmöglichkeiten rund um die Blockchain-Technologie“, erläutert Bernhard Kube. Der Vice President Technology Consulting bei Lufthansa Industry Solutions ist sich sicher: „Ein derartiges Labor ist bei solchen komplexen Themen der Schlüssel zum Erfolg, denn hier können sich Unternehmen mithilfe unserer Experten ganz konkreten Fragestellungen widmen und das Potenzial der Blockchain für den eigenen Geschäftserfolg ausloten.“

Neben der Verifizierung von Originalteilen für die Flugzeugwartung ist das sichere Tracken wertvoller Güter, wie beispielsweise frischer Lebensmittel, eine weitere denkbare Anwendungsmöglichkeit der Blockchain im Air Cargo-Business. Das hat auch der IT-Dienstleister IBM erkannt und jüngst mit einer Vielzahl internationaler Unternehmen aus der Lebensmittelbranche eine Blockchain-Kooperation gegründet. Mitglieder sind Dole, Driscoll’s, Golden State Foods, Kroger, McCormick and Company, Nestlé, McLane Company, Tyson Foods, Unilever und Walmart. Das gemeinsame Ziel lautet, die Sicherheit von Lebensmitteln über die gesamte Supply Chain hinweg deutlich zu erhöhen. Nach Angaben von IBM würden viele Probleme rund um die Lebensmittelsicherheit, wie beispielsweise durch Verunreinigung, durch den fehlenden Zugang zu Informationen und schlechte Rückverfolgbarkeit verstärkt. So könne es heute Wochen dauern, etwa die genauen Ursachen einer Verunreinigung ausfindig zu machen.

„Die Blockchain-Technologie verändert die Art und Weise, wie gleichgesinnte Organisationen zusammenarbeiten können“, ist Marie Wieck, IBM General Manager Blockchain, überzeugt: „Weil dann alle Beteiligten die exakt gleiche Sicht auf die Dinge erhalten, also eine ‚single View of the Truth‘, steigt das gegenseitige Vertrauen enorm.“

Die Anwendung der Blockchain-Technologie ergibt überall dort Sinn, wo Transparenz und Nachvollziehbarkeit erforderlich sind. Ein besonders interessantes Einsatzfeld ist die Lebensmittelsicherheit. Mit Hilfe der Blockchain soll das Vertrauen der Verbraucher gestärkt werden, denn vom Anbau über den Transport bis in die Supermarktregale werden künftig neutrale, verlässliche Informationen über die Herkunft und den Zustand von Lebensmitteln durchgängig abrufbar sein.

Text von Behrend Oldenburg
Fotos: Fotolia/Elnur, Lufthansa

Share This