AVIATAR: Innovative MRO Management via App

AVIATAR’s digital world map puts Lufthansa Technik’s aircraft repair events on the screen in real-time. Almost two years after its market launch, ten partners and customers and more than 1000 aircraft are registered on the integrated internet platform for digital maintenance, repair and overhaul products and services (MRO). Nearly 20 apps are now available for users.
Created in 2017, the “Digital Fleet Solutions” business unit of Lufthansa Technik AG was set up to drive forward the company’s digital transformation, create synergies and increase efficiency. The aim is to be prepared for the rapidly growing data volume in aviation. The company expects the number of aircraft to double by 2025. At the MRO Americas in Orlando in April 2017, the unit presented its first development – AVIATAR, an open internet platform for digital MRO products and services for the aviation industry. AVIATAR customers can keep an overview of their fleet on a digital world map. If a plane flashes red, this means a repair, maintenance or overhaul event is imminent. A click on the plane brings all the requested data up on the screen.
Covering all manufacturers and independent of Lufthansa Technik and MRO service provider contracts, AVIATAR started with seven apps. Since then, the number of applications has almost tripled. Airlines, component manufacturers, maintenance providers and leasing companies can manage their fleet operations via the platform. It enables them to analyze and forecast possible aircraft or individual components failures. Moreover they can exchange relevant information across interfaces. AVIATAR offers applications and products both individually, and in the desired app combinations. “Today’s digitized aircraft and their infrastructure are so complex that we have decided to take an integrated approach to digital collaboration across the whole aviation industry,” says Dr Johannes Bussmann, CEO of Lufthansa Technik.

AVIATAR Apps and Their Functions

AVIATAR apps deliver basic information for fleet management and performance monitoring of aircraft – this includes faulty components, notices about necessary partial replacements or imminent maintenance events, amongst other things. Customers can monitor their fleet, gather and analyze data and create maintenance forecasts via the apps. AVIATAR supports customers with the search for testing, repair and overhaul services for specific aircraft component numbers and helps with comparisons. It also simplifies material stock management. Further apps make the tendering process for aircraft overhauls easier and more harmonious, or improve the communication between MRO and the contracting airline during the overhaul. According to Lufthansa Technik, the “ToolNOW” app is the first online platform for tool hire. “APU Health Management” analyzes the auxiliary power unit, while the newest app “Engine Health Management” monitors the engines.
Lufthansa Technik engineers use a “digital twin” – a computer model of a physical engine – to ascertain the cause of specific discrepancies and recommend maintenance and troubleshooting measures.

Platform Model for Networked Collaboration

The more customers work with AVIATAR, the more powerful the “Reliability Benchmarking” app becomes. Airlines can use this app to compare their technical stability – it analyzes their data stored in AVIATAR anonymously and creates a summarized overview of how they compare with other airlines in detail. “We have developed a platform model that offers all participants added value through collaboration,” says Frank Martens, Senior Director Sales, Digital Fleet Solutions. “The applications, some of which are developed in a co-creation process with airline customers, open up new ways to collaborate.”

Text by Marion Frahm
Photos: Lufthansa Technik

AVIATAR: Innovatives MRO-Management per App

Auf einer digitalen Weltkarte bringt AVIATAR von Lufthansa Technik Reparaturereignisse bei Flugzeugen in Echtzeit auf den Schirm. Fast zwei Jahren nach der Markteinführung sind zehn Partner und Kunden sowie mehr als 1000 Flugzeuge auf der integrierten Internet-Plattform für digitale Maintenance-, Repair- und Overhaul-Produkte sowie -Dienstleistungen (MRO) registriert. Den Nutzern stehen inzwischen fast 20 Apps zur Verfügung.
Die digitale Transformation im Unternehmen vorantreiben, Synergien schaffen und die Effizienz steigern – das ist die Vorgabe für den 2017 neu geschaffenen Geschäftsbereich „Digital Fleet Solutions“ der Lufthansa Technik AG. Das Ziel: Für die rasant wachsende Datenmenge im Luftverkehr gewappnet sein. Bis 2025 rechnet das Unternehmen mit einer Verdoppelung der Flugzeuganzahl. Noch im April des Jahres 2017 stellte der Bereich auf der MRO Americas in Orlando die erste Entwicklung vor: AVIATAR, eine offene Internet-Plattform für digitale MRO-Produkte sowie -Dienstleistungen für die Luftfahrtindustrie. AVIATAR-Kunden haben ihre Flotte auf einer digitalen Weltkarte in Echtzeit im Blick. Leuchtet eine Maschine rot, steht ein Ereignis bevor – eine Reparatur, eine Wartung oder Überholung. Ein Klick auf die Maschine bringt alle gewünschten Daten ins Bild.

Herstellerübergreifend sowie unabhängig vom eigenen Unternehmen und MRO-Dienstleistungsverträgen startete AVIATAR mit sieben Apps. Inzwischen haben sich die Anwendungen fast verdreifacht. Fluggesellschaften, Komponentenhersteller, Wartungsbetriebe und Leasing-Unternehmen können über die Plattform ihren Flottenbetrieb managen, Fehler im Flugzeug und einzelner Komponenten analysieren und ggf. prognostizieren sowie Informationen schnittstellenübergreifend austauschen. Auf AVIATAR stehen ihnen dafür einzelne Applikationen und Produkte oder die gewünschte App-Kombination zur Verfügung. „Die Komplexität der heutigen digitalisierten Flugzeuge und ihrer Umgebung ist so hoch, dass wir uns für einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz zur digitalen Zusammenarbeit innerhalb der gesamten Luftfahrtindustrie entschieden haben“, sagt Dr. Johannes Bußmann, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Lufthansa Technik.

AVIATAR Apps und ihre Anwendungen

AVIATAR Apps liefern Basisinformationen für das Flottenmanagement und die Leistungsüberwachung der Flugzeuge – dazu zählen unter anderem fehlerhafte Komponenten, Hinweise auf einen notwendigen Teiletausch oder bevorstehende Wartungsereignisse. Per App können Kunden ihre Flotte überwachen, Daten erfassen und analysieren sowie Wartungsprognosen erstellen. AVIATAR unterstützt bei der Suche nach Angeboten von Test-, Reparatur- und Überholungsdiensten für spezifische Flugzeugteile-Nummern und hilft, sie zu vergleichen. Auch der Materialbestand lässt sich damit einfacher verwalten. Weitere Apps erleichtern und harmonisieren Ausschreibungsprozesse für Flugzeugüberholungen oder verbessern die Kommunikation zwischen MRO und der beauftragenden Airline während der Überholung. Die App „ToolNOW“ ist laut Lufthansa Technik die erste Online-Vermittlungsplattform für den Verleih von Werkzeugen. „APU Health Management“ analysiert die Auxiliary Power Unit, die jüngste App „Engine Health Management“ die Triebwerke.
Über einen „digitalen Zwilling“, ein Computermodell eines physischen Triebwerks, ermitteln Lufthansa Technik-Ingenieure die Ursache für spezifische Abweichungen und empfehlen Maßnahmen zur Wartung und Fehlerbehebung.

Plattformmodell für vernetzte Zusammenarbeit

Je mehr Kunden mit AVIATAR arbeiten, desto höher ist die Aussagekraft der „Reliability Benchmarking“-App. Über sie haben Flugzeugbetreiber die Möglichkeit, ihre technische Zuverlässigkeit abzugleichen. Dafür wertet die App ihre bei AVIATAR hinterlegten Daten anonym aus und erstellt einen zusammengefassten Überblick im detaillierten Vergleich mit anderen Airlines. „Wir haben ein Plattformmodell entwickelt, das durch das Zusammenspiel aller Beteiligten einen Mehrwert schafft“, sagt Frank Martens, Senior Director Sales, Digital Fleet Solutions. „Die Anwendungen, von denen einige in einem Co-Creation-Prozess mit Airline-Kunden entwickelt werden, eröffnen neue Wege der Zusammenarbeit.“
Text von Marion Frahm Fotos: Lufthansa Technik