AutoTruck: From the logistics center to the road

In the joint AutoTruck project, the Fraunhofer Institute for Transportation and Infrastructure Systems is working with key industry players to develop autonomous trucks that will initially be deployed in logistics centers. The trucks will be controlled by a driver when outside the so-called automation zones.
The first autonomous truck is set to be operational in the premises of Emons Spedition in Dresden by the end of 2019. Once the driver gets out of the truck at the gate and heads home after his shift, the truck should drive itself to the loading ramp, dock itself automatically, and then park itself after unloading. Autonomous accomplishment of these tasks, which so far had to be completed by the truck driver, is the aim of the joint AutoTruck project – fully automated distribution trucks for automation zones. The Fraunhofer Institute for Transportation and Infrastructure Systems in Dresden is working closely with key industry players to make this a reality. The project is funded by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy as part of the “New Vehicle and System Technologies” specialist program.

Orten Electric-Trucks, based in Bernkastel-Kues, will be converting an 18-ton Mercedes diesel truck into an all-electric vehicle. Götting KG in Lehrte fits the truck with safety laser scanners in the front and at the rear bumpers for immediate emergency braking to prevent collisions. In addition, the company is also developing a technology for precise positioning via GPS and map-matching to make it possible to compare the truck’s location with a digital map.

HelyOS enables the AutoTruck to autonomously dock at the loading ramp. The truck then moves to the next predefined position once loading has been completed
The Fraunhofer Institute’s research team for Transportation and Infrastructure Systems is in charge of implementing the autonomous driving features and is working on an online control station, the HelyOS web application (highly efficient online yard operating system), allowing an operator to control autonomous trucks from any location via an internet browser on a smartphone, tablet, or PC. The vehicles can be displayed on a digital map and on custom maps in the logistics area. In addition to the location, HelyOS also displays status information such as battery charging levels.
Another essential research project component is the live maneuver planning, TruckTrix, which is an algorithm for heavy transport planning, developed by the Fraunhofer Institute. It plans and calculates the route for an order as well as compares this route to that of other autonomous vehicles while accounting for fixed obstacles and time limits.

Autonomous driving requires a zone in which the vehicle is continuously connected to the controlling computer. “For the digital map to be sufficiently distinct, it must have well-known landmarks such as signs, lamps, or buildings’ corners”, explains Dr. Sebastian Wagner, team leader at the Fraunhofer IVI. WABCO Development, Hannover, is responsible for wireless communication between the vehicle and the infrastructure.

AutoTruck has enormous application potential

AutoTruck is intended for use within a secure area. “The project has enormous application potential”, says Wagner: truck depots, mines, ports, company premises, agriculture and air freight – autonomous trucks could be deployed in enclosed areas in the future, “as long as no human interaction is required”. The scope of automation will also continue to expand over time and, for example, be coupled with a merchandise management system.

The exclusive deployment of autonomous trucks in depots only requires certification of the machines. However, the aim of the project is to ensure that all installations are structured in a way that AutoTruck can also be certified for use on public roads. The autonomous features will be deactivated when the truck is being driven on public roads and the driver takes control again.

“Most of the technologies we have developed can be transferred to public roads in the medium and long term,” explains Wagner as he outlines the development potential, “examples include control algorithms, obstacle detection, positioning, and even communication between truck and other infrastructure.”

Text by Marion Frahm
Photo, illustration and video: Fraunhofer IVI
Share This

AutoTruck: Vom Logistikzentrum auf die Straße

Im Verbundprojekt AutoTruck entwickelt das Fraunhofer IVI gemeinsam mit der Industrie Technologien für autonom fahrende Lkw, die ihre ersten Einsätze in Logistikzentren haben. Außerhalb sogenannter Automatisierungszonen erfolgt die Führung durch einen Fahrer.

Ende 2019 soll es so weit sein und der erste Lkw autonom auf dem Betriebsgelände der Emons Spedition in Dresden fahren. Nachdem ihn ein Fahrer am Tor abgestellt und sich in den Feierabend verabschiedet hat, soll sich der Truck kollisionsfrei zur Laderampe bewegen, selbsttätig andocken und nach der Entladung auf dem Stellplatz parken. Diese Aufgaben, die bisher auch der Lkw-Fahrer hatte, fahrerlos zu bewerkstelligen, ist Ziel des Verbundprojekts AutoTruck – Vollautomatische Verteiler-Lkw für Automatisierungszonen, an dem das Fraunhofer-Institut für Verkehrs- und Infrastruktursysteme IVI in Dresden und Partner aus der Wirtschaft arbeiten. Gefördert wird das Projekt durch das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie im Rahmen des Fachprogramms „Neue Fahrzeug- und Systemtechnologien“.

Den Test-Lkw, ein 18-Tonnen-Diesel-Fahrzeug von Mercedes, rüstete die Firma Orten Electric-Trucks aus Bernkastel-Kues zum hundertprozentigen Elektrofahrzeug um. Die Götting KG in Lehrte stattet den Truck mit Sicherheitslaserscannern für den vorderen und hinteren Bodenbereich aus, um bei Kollisionsgefahr eine sofortige Notbremsung auszulösen. Darüber hinaus entwickeln sie die Technik für die präzise Ortung über Odometrie (Messung der Radumdrehungen), GPS und Map Matching zum Abgleich des Lkw-Standorts mit einer digitalen Karte.

Mittels HelyOS dockt der AutoTruck selbsttätig am Rolltor an. Ist die Beladung abgeschlossen, begibt er sich zur nächsten vorgesehenen Position
Das Wissenschaftler-Team von Fraunhofer IVI ist für die Umsetzung der autonomen Fahrfunktionen zuständig und arbeitet an einem Online-Leitstand, der Webanwendung HelyOS (Highly efficient online yard operating system), mit der ein Operator die autonomen Lkw von jedem Ort der Welt über Internet-Browser per Handy, Tablett oder PC steuern kann. Die Fahrzeuge können sowohl auf einer digitalen Landkarte als auch auf eigenen Karten der Logistikfläche dargestellt werden. HelyOS zeigt neben Standort auch Status-Infos wie Akku-Füllstand oder Beladestand an.
Eine weitere wesentliche Komponente des Forschungsvorhabens ist die Live-Manöverplanung TruckTrix, ein Algorithmus, den das IVI für die Schwertransportplanung entwickelte. Es übernimmt die Routenplanung für einen Arbeitsauftrag, berechnet den Weg, gleicht die eigene Strecke mit der anderer autonomer Fahrzeuge ab, berücksichtigt feste Hindernisses und Zeitvorgaben.

Voraussetzung für das autonome Fahren ist eine Zone, in der das Fahrzeug ununterbrochen mit dem Rechner der Leitzentrale verbunden ist. „Damit die digitale Karte ausreichend inhomogen ist, muss sie bekannte Landmarken wie Schilder, Lampen oder Häuserecken aufweisen“, erläutert Dr. Sebastian Wagner, Gruppenleiter am Fraunhofer IVI. Für die drahtlose Kommunikation zwischen Fahrzeug und Infrastruktur ist WABCO Development, Hannover, zuständig.

AutoTruck hat enorme Anwendungsbreite

AutoTruck ist auf den Einsatz im geschützten Raum ausgerichtet. „Das Projekt hat eine enorme Anwendungsbreite“, sagt Wagner: Lkw-Betriebshöfe, Minen, Häfen, Betriebsgelände von Firmen, in der Landwirtschaft und der Luftfracht – autonom fahrende Lkw könnten künftig bei Vorfeldverkehren zum Einsatz kommen, „solange keine menschlichen Interaktionen notwendig sind“. Auch die Automatisierungstiefen würden mit der Zeit zunehmen, beispielsweise durch die Kopplung an ein Warenwirtschaftssystem.

Für den ausschließlichen Einsatz des autonomen Lkw auf Betriebshöfen ist lediglich eine Maschinenzulassung notwendig. Sämtliche Einbauten, so das Ziel des Projekts, sollen jedoch so erfolgen, dass der AutoTruck auch straßenzulassungsfähig ist. Für die Fahrt auf der Straße werden dann die autonomen Funktionen deaktiviert und der Fahrer übernimmt wieder das Steuer.

„Viele der entwickelten Technologien lassen sich mittel- bis langfristig auf den öffentlichen Straßenverkehr übertragen“, skizziert Wagner die mögliche Weiterentwicklung, „so etwa die Regelalgorithmen, die Hinderniserkennung, die Ortungslösung oder auch die Kommunikation zwischen Lkw und Infrastruktur.“

Text von Marion Frahm
Foto, Abbildung und Video: Fraunhofer IVI
Share This