Autonomous Cargo Drone ALAADy Flies Using Artificial Intelligence

Automated Low Altitude Air Delivery (ALAADy)

Aviation experts from the European Commission predict that by 2050, more and more autonomous drones will transport cargo. With its Automated Low Altitude Air Delivery (ALAADy) project, the German Institute of Flight Guidance (DLR) is researching technologically feasible, reliable, safe and at the same time economical ways to make this possible.

With a load capacity of a ton and a tare weight of two and a half tons, the autonomous cargo drone being researched is comparatively large, and flies at a height of up to 150 meters. Since February 2016, seven institutes belonging to the DLR have been working on the concept of the ALAADy drone and the complex conditions under which it will fly. The cargo drone has to fly reliably, be perfectly suited to its task, economically viable and must not endanger anyone.

Due to the safety certification required by the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) for the use of drones, the implications for the project were clear early on. If certification comparable to manned aircraft was the aim, it would not be worth developing such a drone. “With the costs of safety verification for development, construction, manufacture and maintenance, the business case would not be economical,” summarizes ALAADy Project Lead Johann Dauer from the DLR Institute of Flight Systems. Rather than investing in making the flight device as reliable as manned aircraft, the project team decided to minimize the risk of operating the drone. The ALAADy drone should, for example, fly lower than normal air traffic and avoid densely populated areas. The scaled prototype, a gyroplane weighing 450 kilos and with a load capacity of around 20 kilos, is currently being developed as part of a sister project, in order to substantiate the concepts with practical test flights.

Algorithms Should Ensure the Cargo Drone Flies Safely

“We have developed algorithms which allow the drone to automatically avoid anything critical and monitor whether it is in a risky situation during flight,” Dauer explains. With the help of Artificial Intelligence (AI), it should, for example, independently avoid residential areas and continuously ensure that it does not violate any of the conditions of the safety certification. Otherwise, it should abort the mission automatically and end the flight safely.

Automated Low Altitude Air Delivery (ALAADy), drone, air cargo

Market studies have shown that the ALADDy cargo drone has a variety of potential applications. It can reach difficult to access or inaccessible disaster areas and transport spare parts and time-critical components between industrial sites, amongst other things.

Automated Low Altitude Air Delivery (ALAADy), drone, air cargo
Automated Low Altitude Air Delivery (ALAADy), drone, air cargo
Automated Low Altitude Air Delivery (ALAADy), drone, air cargo

The next steps for the research project are the first operational flight of the prototype, and the analysis of the AI algorithms developed. Currently, all components are integrated into a simulation environment; ultimately the drone should be operated by a pilot via the simulator. In addition, there are questions as to whether passenger airports should be integrated into the concept, whether cargo drones can take off from the existing runways or whether they need their own, or whether they should even have their own airports. “At the end of the project, we will know whether – or with which features – the cargo drone is safe and makes sense from a cost point of view,” says Dauer.

Text by Marion Frahm
Visualizations: DLR

Autonome Frachtdrohne ALAADy fliegt mit Künstlicher Intelligenz

Luftfahrtexperten der Europäischen Kommission prognostizieren, dass bis 2050 immer mehr autonome Drohnen Luftfracht transportieren werden. Was diese technisch realisierbar, zuverlässig, sicher und gleichzeitig wirtschaftlich werden lässt, erforscht das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) in seinem Projekt Automated Low Altitude Air Delivery (ALAADy).

Die zu erforschende autonome Frachtdrohne ist mit einer Tonne Nutzlast und zweieinhalb Tonnen Eigengewicht vergleichsweise groß und in einer Flughöhe von bis zu 150 Metern unterwegs. Sieben Institute des DLR beschäftigen sich seit Februar 2016 mit dem Konzept der ALAADy-Drohne und den Rahmenbedingungen, unter denen sie sich im Luftraum bewegt – und die sind komplex. Die Frachtdrohne muss zuverlässig fliegen, ihrem Auftrag optimal dienen, sich wirtschaftlich rechnen und sie darf niemanden gefährden.

Aufgrund der erforderlichen Sicherheitsnachweise der Europäischen Agentur für Flugsicherheit (European Aviation Safety Agency, EASA) für den Einsatz von Drohnen stand für das Projekt früh fest: Wird eine Zertifizierung vergleichbar mit der bemannten Luftfahrt angestrebt, lohnt sich eine solche Drohne nicht. „Mit den Kosten der Nachweisführung für Entwicklung, Konstruktion, Herstellung und Wartung würde sich der Business Case nicht rechnen“, fasst ALAADy-Projektleiter Johann Dauer vom DLR-Institut für Flugsystemtechnik zusammen. Statt in Zuverlässigkeit des Fluggeräts wie in der bemannten Luftfahrt zu investieren, entschieden die Projektverantwortlichen, das Risiko des Drohnenbetriebs zu minimieren. Die ALAADy-Drohne soll zum Beispiel auf geringer Höhe den üblichen Verkehr umfliegen und dicht besiedelte Gebiete meiden. Der skalierte Prototyp, ein Tragschrauber mit 450 Kilogramm Gewicht und rund 20 Kilogramm Nutzlast, wird im Augenblick in einem Schwesterprojekt aufgebaut, um die Konzepte mit praktischen Flugversuchen zu untermauern.

Algorithmen sollen sicheren Flug der Frachtdrohne ermöglichen

„Für den Flug haben wir Algorithmen entwickelt, mittels deren die Drohne automatisch alles Kritische meidet und überwacht, ob sie sich in eine riskante Situation begibt“, erklärt Projektleiter Dauer. Mit Hilfe von Künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) soll sie beispielsweise Siedlungen selbstständig ausweichen und ständig sicherstellen, dass sie gegen keine Betriebsannahmen der Nachweisführung verstößt. Andernfalls soll sie die Mission autonom stoppen und den Flug sicher beenden.

Automated Low Altitude Air Delivery (ALAADy), Drohne, Luftfracht
Automated Low Altitude Air Delivery (ALAADy), Drohne, Luftfracht
Automated Low Altitude Air Delivery (ALAADy), Drohne, Luftfracht

Marktanalysen haben der ALAADy-Frachtdrohne vielfältige Einsatzmöglichkeiten attestiert: Sie kann unter anderem Hilfsgüter in schwer oder gar nicht zugängliche Katastrophengebiete sowie Ersatzteile oder zeitkritische Komponenten zwischen Industriestandorten transportieren.

Automated Low Altitude Air Delivery (ALAADy), Drohne, Luftfracht
Automated Low Altitude Air Delivery (ALAADy), Drohne, Luftfracht
Automated Low Altitude Air Delivery (ALAADy), Drohne, Luftfracht

Neben dem ersten Flugbetrieb des Prototyps ist die Analyse der entwickelten Algorithmen der KI die nächste Forschungsaufgabe. Derzeit werden alle Komponenten in eine Simulationsumgebung integriert, am Ende soll die Drohne von einem Piloten am Simulator gesteuert werden. Zudem geht es um die Frage, ob sich Verkehrsflughäfen in das Konzept integrieren lassen, Frachtdrohnen auf den vorhandenen Runways starten können oder eigene benötigen, oder ob für sie grundsätzlich eigene Flughäfen notwendig sind. „Am Ende des Projekts werden wir wissen, ob – oder mit welchen Eigenschaften – die Frachtdrohne sicher und kostentechnisch sinnvoll ist“, sagt Dauer.

Text von Marion Frahm
Visualisierungen: DLR